We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangal Restaurant

Mangal Restaurant
BarIs Manco Blv, Fethiye, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 301 Restaurants in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: I don't know the exact address information as the restaurant isn't listed on google maps. But it definitely exists!
Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent food, good service, reasonable prices. We will definitely return to this restaurant on our next visit to Turkey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“As good as they say...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our 3rd visit to Calis but our first time to Mangals, we ate here as it was recommended to us by someone staying at the same hotel as us, we found the food to be very good, service was friendly and efficient and the place has a really good atmosphere. You also get the complimentary bread here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buelach, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A complete letdown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Influenced by the unanimously positive reviews on tripadvisor my wife and me chose this place for tonight's dinner. To put it briefly, we found it very poor.

We ordered the starter plate for two and were quite put off by what we found on it: a selection of strangely coloured small piles which except for the chili salad all had the same taste of mayonnaise and entirely lacked the flavour of spice and herbs you are usually supposed to encounter with Turkish starters. We left half of the plate untouched and hoped for the main dish, mixed grill for both of us.

Unfortunately, things did not get better with the main course. We were served plates with miscellaneous pieces of lamb, chicken and beef which all tasted very much the same, i.e. not very much, all of them quite greasy and entirely lacking the crispness you would expect from grilled meat as well as the delicious flavour of Turkish spices. The whole was accompanied by a tomato and onion salad untouched by any seasoning, a small heap of rice and some greasy, squishy fries.

We both also left the main courses unfinished and asked for the bill. The whole plus two small bottles of soda water and a large bottle of still water accounted for TL 76, which was quite expensive for this type of treat.

We will certainly be extra careful about all types of enthusiastic reviews in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice takeaway lunch time kebabs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ate here once evening and also had take away kebabs on two occasions.
Evening meal was ok, slightly higher prices, quality ok.

Try the kebabs - 5-6 lira each!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellen value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lovely meal and exceptional value for money. Once ordered, service was a little slow but we reckon that was because everything seemed to be cooked from scratch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangal Restaurant also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Mangal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.