We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gentle introduction to the delights of Turkish fish and seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reis Restaurant

Reis Restaurant
Hal ve Pazar | Yeri No 60, Fethiye, Turkey
5324725989
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 301 Restaurants in Fethiye
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A gentle introduction to the delights of Turkish fish and seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at Reis a number of times over the last 5 years. The premise is very simple. Buy your fish at the fish market, and they will cook it and provide it to you along with local bread and a salad. The current rate (@ May 2013) is 6TL per person.

There has never been any hard sell or additional costs added to our bill. We have typically chosen one or two of the local salads, a couple of soft drinks and a 1L bottle of water and the bill has come to less than 30TL.

The fish is generally grilled and things like calamari fried. You can ask for specific ways of cooking the fish - and when we've done this its been great.

Over time, we have taken my family to eat there - and they coped with a party of 10 of us with ease and good humour.

Reis is our favourite, but there are a number of places around the fish market doing an indenticial approach. However, the friendliness of the staff make the difference and the ease at which they switch from one language to another leaves me envious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    8
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

could not fault it arrived 4 of us arrived early evening wwen to butchers got 3 sirlion steaks on to fish market giant kings prawns 25no payed for meat and fish then back to table waiter took food to kitchen to cook had a meze drinks all round surf and turf was out of this world total bill £20 a head you can choose any fish you want cheers

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourist scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Fun setup where you choose and buy your own fish from the seafood stalls in the center, bring them to the restaurants, and they will cook them for you. Nice garden dining tables with good ambiance.

The quality of the seafood is just average though --- better than the frozen seafood from supermarkets but not exactly fresh from the sea either. The cooking is ok as long as you stick to the standard cooking methods such as grill or deep fry.

All the restaurants claimed that they charge only TL6 for a set menu that includes cooking the seafood for you. We picked Remi Restaurant as it seems reasonably popular with many diners sitting there already.

It’s a tourist SCAM though; as the restaurants will try to overcharge you in every way possible:
1) The waiter took us to a food display shelf and urged us to choose our appetizer from there; we aren’t familiar with Turkish appetizers and hesitated for 5 seconds, after which the waiter quickly interrupted and suggested that he’ll just get us a mixed plate. Turned out the appetizer is not included in the set menu; and we were charged TL20 for that small mixed plate. We would have declined if we knew it’s not included as we didn’t really like Turkish appetizers.
2) Some other tourists who didn’t fall into the appetizer trap were billed “special cooking charges” for prawns or calamari which they claimed require extra work peeling or battering. We brought in prawns and calamari too but weren’t charged any extras for the cooking; I supposed it’s because they’ve made enough from our appetizer already. I believe the restaurant has at least a dozen excuses to charge extras.
3) Our waiter opened a large 1 litre bottle of water for just the two of us as soon as we sat down, before we have time to stop him. In the end we only finished half the bottle and he took the remaining to the bar area before we noticed, mixed it up with other water bottles there, so that we can’t even take away the remaining. Water is not expensive but this is not about money, its principal.

The restaurant made no effort to inform us on the extra charges and I guarantee you it’s NOT because of language barrier. We are educated in the US and can speak fluent English; the waiter also demonstrated his English abilities when explaining the overcharged bill.

It’s not a lot of money but you’ll get a much more enjoyable experience for the same amount of money elsewhere. We had seafood dinner at one of the classier hotel restaurants along the marina another day and total cost is just about the same but the quality of the seafood and the service is MUCH better.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We were a party of four touring Turkey and stumbled upon the central fish market. We bought our fish and had the Reis Balik cook it for us. The service was fine and the fish cooked to perfection. We had salad and fresh bread with butter and beer. The price was right. The atmosphere was open-air around the fish market courtyard with many other restaurants close by.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, staff could be a bit more attentative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Nice restaurant at the fish market (you buy the fish at the stalls and they prepare it for you with bread, salad) with good mezzes. Fair prices. Have to buy some gambas (karides) and have them prepared with garlic sauce and tomato - to die for. Staff is all over the place - but not at your table. Service therefore a bit slow. Nevertheless - great, fresh food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reis Restaurant also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Reis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.