We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Expensive and Dark” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balikcilar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balikcilar to your Saves list
Hotel Balikcilar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mevlana Karsisi No 2 | Karatay, Konya 42020, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Konya
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Dirty, Expensive and Dark”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I was in Turkey for 3 weeks and this was by FAR the worst place I stayed, including a couple of hostels that were 20% of the price and similarly rated/priced hotels (3 or 4 stars) in places like Cappadocia, Bodrum and Istanbul. The front desk staff was gruff with a forced formality that I found a bit condescending, the hall lighting is all on timers that illuminate 4-5 feet at a time, so you go up and down the stairs and halls in the dark unless you walk at a snail's pace. Some of the decor in the room looked new, but everywhere I looked there was dirt and dust accumulated. Who needs a phone outlet in the bathroom when the room is so depressingly dirty. In the dining room, the "white" tablecloths were stained from previous diners and I would have preferred to eat with plastic overlay. I didn't make a big deal because I was dining toward the end of the buffet and wondered if they had had a big bus tour, but the same table linens were there in the morning for breakfast. The food from the evening buffet was cold, greasy and not so appetizing but breakfast was a bit better.

Ok - I am trying to think of good things about my stay. The bedding was clean and looked new, there was plenty of hot water and as noted by others, the location is great.

Room Tip: Yes - chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
14
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here en route to Cappadocia. The location is great and the desk staff friendly but the hotel is like a concrete bunker. Our room smelt stale and it felt as though there was a layer of grime over everything. This was definately the worst place we stayed in during our three weeks in Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelnovo ne Monti
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The position of the hotel is great, exactly in front of Mevlana Türbesi, but the traffic of Konya is terrible! The room was very large, clean and elegant. The breakfast was very good and big, and the view from the terrace amazing. Unfortunately the Turkish bath was closed, but they did no tell me when I booked the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global citizen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Balikcilar Hotel is staffed by some very accomodating and friendly people. We arrived late at night after getting stuck in a road closure (resulting in a police escort to the hotel) but the chef was woken up and a delicious Turkish dinner was prepared. The rooms were cool and dark, very welcome after a hot day far from any sea air, and the underground parking was secure and manned 24 hours per day.

Right across the street from the Mevlana with its cool gardens and ascinating interios, the location can't be beat, and the insulation is sufficiently good to keep out all of the street noise even in this central part of town.

Not sure if every visitor would get the same treatment as one arriving preceded by a carload of policemen with a lights and a siren, but we had a very high quality stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain Expat
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is located across the street from the Mevlana Museum, it would be hard to get closer, that is the biggest selling point, and with kids not having to go far was worth it. that said that is really the only reason we would stay here again.

The hotel Lobby, is lovely, but the drinks where really really expensive.
The staff helpful....
the rooms have been updated, but still manage to be a bit grungy, and not as fresh as you might like.
the hallways where really old looking, but this was not too bad because the lights are set to save energy, so you can only see the part of the hallway you are walking in.
the view from the rooftop breakfast room was lovely, and the food was good.

all in all best only stay here, if you want to be close, and are only planing to use your room for sleeping.

for food, when you come out of the hotel on the left there is a small restaurant, they only sell Konya Kebab, and Turkish pizza, but it was delicious and the owner was charming. We did not enjoying eating in the restaurant on the right side.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Two companions and I recently stayed at this hotel for a two-day visit to Konya. The furnishings in our rooms were dark, but they were certainly new; the bathroom had been updated; the beds were comfortable. The whole hotel was generally well-maıntained and was definitely clean. The hotel is additionally ideally situated for seeing the Mevlana museum, and other sites are within walking distance of 20 minutes or less. Two of us had been to Konya about 20 years ago, and found that this hotel captured the atmosphere we remembered, while being updated to modern standards. Staff were friendly, and contrary to what another reviewer wrote, this is definitely not a terrible hotel!

  • Liked — Location and parking, staff, you can get wine and beer in the bar and restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for one night en route from Kas to Cappadocia and it was one night too many. Décor was revolting, the hotel was unclean, the staff unhelpful, the breakfasts disappointing. The most inspired thing about this hotel was the movement sensored lighting in the dark and dingy halls which, whilst hiding the dirty carpets in dire need of replacing or at the very least a hoover, were on a timer to stay on for no more than 3 footsteps - which was interesting given the sensors were about 30 feet apart – resulting in a 27 foot stumble around in the dark.
The only redeeming feature of this hotel was its location – but even that didn’t salvage it for us.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balikcilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balikcilar

Address: Mevlana Karsisi No 2 | Karatay, Konya 42020, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Konya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Konya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balikcilar 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Balikcilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balikcilar Hotel Konya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balikcilar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.