We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and lovely carpets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konya Dervish Otel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Konya Dervish Otel to your Saves list
Konya Dervish Otel
Aziziye Mah Gungor Sk. No: 7, Konya 42030, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Konya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good service and lovely carpets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Mevlana Museum, so a good location. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, and provided excellent restaurant advice. When we arrived we were the only guests, so they upgraded us to a more spacious room. The hotel is full of lovely carpets - the owner runs a carpet business and was very happy to show us his extensive range and drink tea with us. The breakfast was really nice too. We had 2 nights, 1.5 days in Konya - it was nice to be somewhere much less touristy (apart from the Mevlana Museum, which was packed!) but one full day was plenty of time to see the sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
64
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Dervish Hotel in Konya is a treasure. The rooms of this converted mansion are spacious, the street is quiet, the hosts--Mehmet Ucar, his brother Muammer Ucar, and Muammer's wife, Gaby--are gracious and friendly, and speak English. The hotel is located not 10 minutes walk from the city's principal museum and mosque, and about 15 minutes walk from an elegant restaurant to which Muammer referred us for dinner. Cars may be parked in the back yard behind a locked gate, but be aware that it can be difficult for visitors who drive to thread their way through the streets of Konya to Dervish Hotel. (Engaging a taxi driver to lead you is a solution. A GPS may be another, but ours did not recognize small streets in some cities.) A large breakfast buffet--fruits, grains, yogurt, breads-- is set out in the Dervish's basement. Rooms are one and two floors above the lobby. There is no elevator. Visitors are asked to leave their shoes in the lobby and walk about in paper slippers. The price was reasonable, $78. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night , ownwers very friendly made me lemon and honey for my cold , very pleasant stay , nice breakfast if you stay here you can't go wrong Konya as a town or city did not seem as friendly as other places in turkey we got lots of stares maybe dress in the standered clothes for turkey ie jeans jacket shirt leather shoes . Seems to be the set uniform . If you whear shorts and t shirt be prepared for stairs ! Ok but after a while it becomes tedious

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This recently renovated hotel ensured that our visit to Konya was one of the highlights of our Turkey experience.
The rooms were large,clean and very comfortable.Our hosts were friendly and most obliging.
Located close to the centre of the city and to the Mevlana Museum ensured a stress free stay.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This Ottoman house had delightful rooms with furnishings in keeping with the hotel, but also modern facilities. Everything was spotlessly clean. Staff offered advice on places to eat authentic Turkish food which unfortunately we were unable to test as we were both ill. They then kindly offered to go to the pharmacy to obtain medications for us. Breakfast was delightful with a wide selection of foods. Tea, coffee, water & fruit are available at all times. It is close to the Mevlana Museum & within easy walking distance to the town centre. This is a special hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My first time visit to the city of Konya and the dream of being close to Rumi museum came true mainly because of the hospitality of the owners of Darvish hotel. Their wealth of knowledge about Rumi and the city filled our moments with joy and appreciation. Anything you asked for they are there to make it come true. The owners are respectful, helpful, and incredibly loving toward their guest.
The hotel is elegantly converted from an ottoman house with beautiful artistic touches of the owner who was in carpet business for years. The sitting porch facing the quiet street with small in front garden was our gathering place. It had an ancient feel to it. And in our first night which was a full-moon night, we spent hours pass mid-night feeling the aura of konya as it was in Rumi’s time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 weekend nights in early October in a spacious 2nd floor room. I would suggest arranging an airport taxi pickup as some drivers were not yet familiar with this recently renovated boutique hotel despite its proximity to the Mevlana Museum and Cultural Centre. There is no in room mini-fridge but tea, instant coffee and fruit were available anytime in the downstairs breakfast area which also has a TV. Muammer and Mehmet were helpful with recommendations and generous with their time. We obtained our bus tickets a day in advance in the nearby commercial area. On the morning of our departure Muammer telephoned the bus company and arranged for the bus to stop at the ring road much nearer the hotel than the bus station. He then drove us there and waited with us until the bus arrived. In summary, staying at the Dervish Otel enhanced our stay in Konya.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Konya Dervish Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konya Dervish Otel

Address: Aziziye Mah Gungor Sk. No: 7, Konya 42030, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Konya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Otel is 200-year-old renovated Ottoman house. This cosy hotel is located in the city centre of Konya and 3 minutes walk from the Mevlana museum and the Bazaars of Konya. It offers a large garden and comfortable rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. With matching curtains and bed linens, the rooms of Dervish Hotel are elegantly decorated with traditional furnishings. All rooms have private bathroom and LCD TV with satellite channels. Each morning, an open buffet breakfast is served in the dining room of the hotel. Konya Airport is 15 km from the hotel. We have 7 rooms, free parking and traditional Konya Garden. In the same spirit as in a traditional Turkish home, we kindly ask our guests to take off their shoes before entering. We provide slippers for the whole stay. This way, we can preserve the atmosphere of a traditional Konya home. Our hotel is the only hotel in Konya with a garden. Any questions about Dervish Otel are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Konya Dervish Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konya Dervish Otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.