We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, very average food & service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fes Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fes Restaurant
SandikcI Sokak 3, Kars, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 Restaurants in Kars
Restaurant details
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, very average food & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had really enjoyed our meals at other restaurants in this street - and saw that Fes was always full so we decided to give it a try.

The view is fantastic - and we really enjoyed eating out on the terrace while the sun was setting.

The service was so-so. We took our time deciding and felt slight rushed. Bringing along a tray with all the mezes was a good idea - because we definitely bought more than usual. They were good. The main course was OK. The baklava for dessert could in no way match what we had had at other restaurants. After taking our orders and bringing the food, we got absolutely no attention - extremely surprising considering that the restaurant wasn't even half full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fes Restaurant in Kas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We noticed this restaurant when walking around Kas. It is in a courtyard with views over the marina. There is a man out front but he is not pushy and gave you time to look at the menu. Decided to give it a try even though it was very quiet. We were delighted with the service and the food was excellent too. The menu is not extensive but we found enough choice and really enjoyed our meal. We also has an excellent Turkish wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go to fes in kas for a day out, it was incredible we came to fes for lunch and th food was top quality and so were the views. We shared a seafood platter and it was incredible. Highly recommended great for a family day out

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Bottle of wine and a mezze plate while the sun sets. Charming. Incidentally the sun set disappears behind the hill at 626 at this exact time of year (8th october) so time your arrival accordingly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food at Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

During a day out at Kas from neighbouring Kalkan, we stumbled across Fes and decided that we'd eat there. Unlike restaurant owners in many of Kas' restaurants, there is no hassle to eat there and the prices are very reasonable, considerably better than most in the marina area. We decided to eat at around lunch time which was a good decision as the restaurant was almost empty and service was very prompt. We ordered to large platters, one of mezzes and one of seafood and both were simply exquisite. All the seafood was fresh and mezzes were delicious. The staff were attentive and friendly without being imposing. There was a lovely peaceful atmosphere perfect for relaxing and enjoying the meal. And as for the views... The view over Kas Marina and the Mediterranean sea were breath-taking. Including drinks, the meal came to about 30 -40tl per person (£10-15 pp) which represents excellent value for money.
If there was one thing I didn't like about Fes, it was that a restaurant below was playing loud music which could be heard from where you're seated. Thankfully, it wasn't loud enough to be a disturbance.
I'd definitely recommend Fes to you if you love traditional turkish cuisine. Even if you don't you'll certainly find something you like.
Afiyet olsun!!! (Enjoy your meal)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fes Restaurant also viewed

Kars, Kars Province
Kars, Kars Province
 

Been to Fes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.