We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel but did have a problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leyla Hanim Konagi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Leyla Hanim Konagi to your Saves list
Leyla Hanim Konagi
Cesme Mah.,Hukumet Sokak | No:25 Kent Tarihi Muzesi Yani, Safranbolu 78600, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Safranbolu
Surrey
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“lovely hotel but did have a problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Location is up the hill from the main town so great panoramic views. Lovely rooms and as not busy when we stayed kindly offered us free upgrade. Also sent up complimentary fruit basket. Bathrooms small but adequate which tends to be the case with the majority of these type of converted houses. Plentiful and delicious turkish breakfast taken in the attractive garden terrace, weather permitting. Friendly service but little english spoken which can be bit of a hindrance. Don't feel able to give 5 star rsting though as both nights we stayed we had to go to reception to get them to do whatever they needed to do to provide us with hot water. First time you can accept as an error but not the second. Nevertheless, beautiful hotel at very reasonable rates in an extremely picturesque town

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This lovely old ottoman house has been beautifully restored with authentic details and modern comforts. The wood work in the cabinetry is fabulous. Super comfortable beds and linens and a great shower. We loved the space and view of room 13. Our breakfast was served on the garden terrace and was delicious and plentiful. The staff was professional and friendly, always there when we needed something. The hotel is located up the hill from the old town, an easy walk, and very close to the city museum in the restored administrative building. Don't misconstrue my five star rating, however, this is not the Four Seasons or the Mandarin Oriental. It is quirky and the restoration into a hotel from a private home means that there are stairs to climb and differences in room sizes, shapes and views. But this is exactly what you want in Safranbolu! My only two suggestions for improvement... First, .the toilet seemed too low and with too large an opening...perching on the rim was awkward. Second, use local products in the bathroom...the local olive oil and saffron soaps are wonderful! We will return to this great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel has been beautifully renovated. It has a lovely garden and is situated on a hill providing gorgeous views of Safranbolu. My husband and I felt the staff were professional and attentive. We were offered a welcome drink on arrival, which was a nice touch. Our room was just incredible. The woodwork on the walls and ceiling, along with beautiful hard wood floors and hand made carpets made this room outstanding. The bathroom was small but manageable (there were shower doors...some hotels in Turkey love to omit those). We felt the breakfast was above average in the sense that french toast, home fries, menemen, and sigara böreği were also served. We ate breakfast in a small windowless stone room that was nicely decorated, warm and pleasant, but if the weather was nicer hopefully they would have served it outside...
The only slightly negative point is that it is suggested to wear those blue plastic shoe coverings in the building which is annoying but they want to preserve their carpets and floors. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: 216 was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehmetCetin, Sahibi at Leyla Hanim Konagi, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your nice comments.
I hope see you again with your baby :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The place was awesome, as well as view, room and environment.
But in the contrary of many comments here, breakfast was quite poor. Maybe, what they need is consistent and reliable quality of service,
At the end it was a good place and plan to stay there at our next visit

Room Tip: ask the large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found the Layla Hanim by accident after visiting Safranbolu's museum. A deluxe double was available for 250 TL, including a lovely breakfast, and was well worth it. In addition to its architectural merits (it won an award in 2012 for Best Historical renovation), it is situated on a hill uphill from the center of the historic district in a very quiet location overlooking the town. Our host, Mehmet and his wife speak English and the staff is attentive. With prior arrangement, you can get dinner, with regional specialties, served at the hotel. We had great luck with the weather during our stay and ate in the terrace garden both evenings. It was wonderful to begin and end our day there.

Room Tip: Room 215 was luxurious and quiet, facing away from the garden. There were no rooms on either side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leyla Hanim Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leyla Hanim Konagi

Address: Cesme Mah.,Hukumet Sokak | No:25 Kent Tarihi Muzesi Yani, Safranbolu 78600, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Karabuk Province > Safranbolu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Safranbolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
mansion has 9 rooms with defgrent decorand structure. all of our rooms wc, hair dryer, television, 24 ours hot water, wi-fi ,city view are standart.there is a very special city view garden. the garden capacity is 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Leyla Hanim Konagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leyla Hanim Konagi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.