We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting old friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rasitler Bag Evi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rasitler Bag Evi to your Saves list
Rasitler Bag Evi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Baglar Mah. Degirmenbasi Sok. No:65 Safranbolu Merkez, Safranbolu 78100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Safranbolu B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Like visiting old friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We pre-booked 2 nights here but after leaving our previous hotel earlier than expected we found ourselves very lucky to be able to get in at Rasitler 1 night early. As we arrived we were greeted by a man striding towards us with a big smile and his hand extended in greeting. "You have made it - welcome". This turned out to be Erhan & offering just what we were looking for - genuine hospitality. Umran met us inside with an equally warm greeting & freshly baked cake & tea. This is how our stay continued. Erhan & Umran made us feel so welcome & relaxed in their home - it was like visiting long time friends. It is a beautiful old home with equally beautiful gardens.

We had the small room & whilst it was a little tight it was extremely comfortable with what appeared to be a brand new bathroom - all very tastefully decorated.

Umran is a wonderful cook. The breakfasts were huge & tasty. We were also fortunate to have her cook dinner for us 1 night.

Erhan, Umram & their charming staff, Bahatin & Nerimen, made our stay the most pleasant possible. If you are looking for genuine hospitality in a wonderful setting, close to but out of the real touristy part of town, then this is perfect. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This 400 years old Ottoman house is warm, cozy, feels like home. The owners Irhan and Umran treat everyone like part of the family. Irhan had visited China while he was in Turkish Air Force, after that he developed special feeling for China. He showed us his album of photos taken in China, of him climbing the Great Wall, eating Peking duck and 50-course Mandarin banquet. With constant guests from China, he joked about his hotel becoming a China house. We had great time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Living in this konak, a traditional wooden house, was a very special and beautiful experience for my family!
It was not only the architecture, that is an example of ingenuity and taste, or the beautiful room or the garden, that forms an essential part of the spatial programme, that delighted us and made us feel sheltered. Owners Meriban and Erhan are very welcoming and caring hosts that pamper you and make you feel as you were family.

It's location uphill is an advantage because it was quiet and fresh. We were picked up at the busstation, no problem there.

The breakfasts in the garden (Meriban makes a jam of grape melasse and nuts which was super delicious.), the excellent dinners in the monumental dining area, everything was top quality!

The first day we walked downhill (lots of interesting houses on the way),and explored the old town, a gorgeous UNESCO World Heritage site situated in a deep ravine. We ended the afternoon with a coffee in the beautiful wooden pavilion overlooking the city and a good massage in the Hamam. The second day Erhan drove us to the cave (as we had little time left, but it's also a nice walk), followed by a visit to the Crystal Terrace, a transparent terrace hanging over a steep ravine; close by is a very fine aquaduct.

Had I booked more nights I would have added a donkeyride, a visit to the gypsievillage 15 km. further, and walks exploring the lush nature in woods and plateaus to our activities.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We found a wonderful haven of peace and tranquility at The Rasitler Bag Evi, Erhan. a retired air force officer, and his wife Umran made us feel immediately at home. They proudly showed around their beautifully restored inn concentrating on their wonderful gardens. They even had us tour their chicken coop from which all the eggs we served came.
The rooms were immaculate, the breakfasts were fabulous and they just couldn't do enough for us.
If you are looking for an escape in Turkey, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

For a short escape from city life, my husband and I visited Safranbolu in February with our couple friends with their 5-year old daughter. Rasitler Bag Evi could not be a better choice in Safranbolu. It is 10-minute drive away from the historical center so you need to get on a minibus to get to the city center. But for foreigners, Mr. Erhan & Mrs.Umran Gunhan would be ready to assist for transportation to city center and they would do whatever they can to make you feel at home. Our room was rather small but it was spotless. Breakfast was very nice in the garden. We would not think staying in another place if we visit Safranbolu again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Charming restored villa with beautiful gardens. The owners could not have been more accommodating, driving us places, baking a special local specialty, and even doing laundry. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfasts were delicious. We were so glad that we did not stay in the more touristy area and were able to get a real feel for a quieter neighborhood in a beautiful accommodation. We can not wait to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A lovely town and a beautiful place to stay. Though the hotel is a bit far from the old town, its located in a beautiful historic area and Erhan and Umran were so kind in providing transportation. The breakfast they served was truly fabulous; Erhan keeps a garden and green house and a few chickens. The eggs had been layed that morning. The rooms themselves are gorgeous- located in a 300 year old mansion that has been in Umran's family for 8 generations. The couple is passionate about providing a positive experience for their guests and go above and beyond to meet the needs of their guests. I've stayed in several hotels in Safranbolu; the over-all expereince of Rasitler Bag Evi made it by far the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rasitler Bag Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rasitler Bag Evi

Address: Baglar Mah. Degirmenbasi Sok. No:65 Safranbolu Merkez, Safranbolu 78100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Karabuk Province > Safranbolu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Safranbolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rasitler Bag Evi 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rasitler Bag Evi is located near old water mill in the vineyards of Safranbolu. It is about 280 years old Ottoman House with a huge garden. Breakfast includes a variety of tasty Turkish traditional food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rasitler Bag Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasitler Bag Evi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.