We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used hotel for the day for the pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir to your Saves list
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1, Izmir 35210, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Used hotel for the day for the pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Whilst staying in Izmir this hotel appears to be one of the only ones that has an outside pool so we used it for the day paying 80TRY each, I must admit i was a little taken back by the price for a day pass to use the pool and spa but I appreciate people pay alot of money to stay here so they dont want anyone and everyone hanging around the pool!! Yes the hotel is lovely and the pool is clean etc as you would expect for a hotel of this class but on closer inspection their is a little wear and tear and they refused to let me have the wifi password! seems a bit silly to me but hey ho, had the most gorgeous burger for lunch and the staff were lovely and very attentive, A little jealous that i wasnt staying here but we enjoyed the day for 80try....sunbathing around the pool being served our drinks! a temporary little bit of super luxury!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    139
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
153
231
46
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orgeval, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had a very short stay at the Swissotel Grand Efes so I could not experience all their facilities. I checked-in at around midnight and I appreciated to be welcomed with a smile and to be called by my family name. The front desk employee understood that my only desire was to take a rest and he went through my registration procedure quickly without any unnecessary explanations.
The room was nice and clean. The bed and the linens were perfect.
The morning after I took a very rich breakfast from the buffet, enjoying the morning sun in the terrace overlooking the pool.
Check-out was efficient and the same employee took care of me with in the same friendly way as the night before.
Too bad I could not stay longer but I can say I did not waist a minute. I will certainly book the Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir on my next business trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Rıza Elibol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potgietersrus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautiful room with a stunning bathroom as well as excellent service and amenities. Food was very good, especially the samon we ahd for dinner. Lovely to sit outside during dinner time and breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Swissôtel Grand Efes as your home during your visit to Izmir. Thank you vey much for taking time to share your comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed staying in our hotel . Looking forward to welcoming you back in Swissôtel Grand Efes for your recent visit to Izmir.

Kind Regards,
Rıza Elibol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at standard smoking room on 4th floor with garden view and it was wonderful. Room was large enough for two. Bathroom was amazing with both shower and bathtub. Bed and linens were wonderful. I didn't have such a deep sleep like that for a long time.
Outside pool was great but not enough seat and sun shelter especially on weekends. Changing and shower room were also great. Swimsuit dryer is a brilliant idea and should be a must for all hotels with pool and beach. The only unsatisfied thing for me is the distance between the room and pool side. If you don't like to pass the reception area with your swimsuit like me, you should take another elevator on your floor (probably the farthest one) and pass through a hot and looong corridor to spa center and go down one floor with stairs and find a way out to pool side, because the door doesn't have sign on it.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, but you may wait for a while for service at pool side. Room service and reception staff were great.
Swissotel Grand Efes is the best city hotel in Izmir with all amenities and its location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for spending your precious time to share your kind feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future and hope to host you again in Swissôtel Grand Efes, Izmir.

Kind Regards,
Rıza Elibol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

By far the best value among hotels that we stayed at in Turkey. Great service, great amenities, great location. Only odd thing is that each room has a balcony, but its not really a space that you can spend time on - it's very very tiny.

Room Tip: Lots of different views available. We had a view of the pool, which is the second best to a harbor v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Swissôtel Grand Efes as your home during your visit to Izmir. Thank you vey much for taking time to share your comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back in Swissôtel Grand Efes for your recent visit to Izmir.

Best Regards,
Rıza Elibol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Location - Excellent, very near all shops, sights and bazaar.
Room - High floor (8) very nice views to pool and town. Very high quality and comfy room.
Staff - Absolutely professional and very helpful.
Breakfast - Fabulous and rich.
Pool - Large and lot of sun beds.
Gym - Amazing, Technogym equipments, Bose audio system.
Spa . One of the best in Izmir
Comeback - Yes !

Room Tip: Main building (1) very high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Rıza Elibol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I didn't stay overnight, i just went there for a day pass to their pool on my last day in Izmir before my flight.
It's 75ltr. it's a little pricy for just using their pools, BUT if you are tried of walking around the town, you want some luxury, this is the place. the best service in town, beautiful outdoor and indoor pools!! there are 2 kinds of jaccuzi indoor. hanging out cool towel to guest. cocktails price from 20-24ltr, and comes with a small bowl of nuts :) .
I ordered a pina coladar (22 ltr) which was not on the menu, and the waiter served it, he would ask me to taste it first see if it's ok.

I should had brought my luggage with me to there, i bet i could had left it to the reception. cos there's a shuttle bus to the airport for 10ltr right outside the hotel!

i would love to stay in this hotel to try out their bed in my next stay in Izmir.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
#2 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
402 Luxurous guestrooms including 55 specially designed suites. 3 Restaurants, 3 bars, tennis courts, indoor & outdoor pool, fitness centre, Purovel Spa&Sport (5,500 sqm.), Convention Centre (7,316 sqm.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.