We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir to your Saves list
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1, Izmir 35210, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
İstanbul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Swissotel Grand Efes İzmir in April 2012 and loved it.

The location is great. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Kordon area, which is right by the seaside and full of restaurants and cafes.

The rooms are very comfortable and peaceful. The open buffet breakfast offers a lot of delicious dishes. We also liked the fitness center.

I had first stayed at the hotel while on a business trip in 2010. I would recommend it to business travellers as well. I would love to go back the next time I am in Izmir.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    165
    36
    10
    16
See reviews for
167
254
48
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Of course we were happy as we were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite (with club room access)! The front desk staff are very friendly and welcoming and you get the feeling you are truly welcome! The rooms were modern and very complete with amenities (even a Nespresso machine in the room) and Molton Brown toiletries. I tried the Turkish Bath at the Hamam in their spa and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The sauna and steam rooms were free for everyone to use. Breakfast and cocktails at the Club room were adequate (breakfast at the main coffee shop was more exciting). Walked to the Plaza across the street for a nice stroll by the water (lots of nice seafood restaurants there too, all walking distance). All in all we were very, very happy we chose to stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the garden and pool or the water. Both are equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A pity that I could stay only one night at this lovely property close to the sea front in Izmir
Staff are very well trained ,extremely courteous and helpful and speak good English.
Rooms are large and well appointed . Buffet breakfast was a delight and good variety of food
on offer .
Check in / Check out was quick and efficient. Dinner at Aquarium was above average but good value .Better than getting ripped off at the seaside restaurants! All in all a superb hotel and a very relaxing stay.
Will go back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Large hotel in better area of waterfron in Izmir. Great pool and interior gardens for urban center hotel. Great spa area. Modern styled rooms.

The hotel has a restuarant and bar on the top floor with great view, however it isn't open every day. The hotel's size seems to be its detriment. Its floor plan is by towers, or blocs as they hotel labels them. Ask for a bloc nearer the front desk, or you'll spend several minutes hiking to/from your room.

Cons: our room had two single sized beds, with plastic liners for mattress pads. In the morning, we discoved neither us slept well..having woken several times at night in sweat from a non-breathing mattress. I think we were in a kids room, since we had adjoining room door, that would explain the plastic mattress pad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gefes, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
We are deeply sorry to hear that a guest who stayed with us felt uncomfortable. We search every possible way to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay. The equipment we use in our rooms are designed considering the environment. Bed linens, liners and covers that are used in Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir are made of hundred per cent cotton. The kids room that we offer in our property is designed entirely for the kids aged between 3 to 17 . It is full of toys and its difference from adult rooms is easily noticeable.
Our top roof restaurant Equinox which offers its guests modern style preperations of fish and meat dishes is open every day except sundays.
We hope to welcome you again in Swissotel Grand Efes and promise to do our best to make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Surprised with the parking fee request, complained and didn't pay.

Room Tip: Do not pay parking fee if they request. There is nothing they can do, it's not legal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

An absolutely stunning property, with any service or amenity you could possibly imagine needing. Though you certainly pay for what you get, the service and overall experience made the total bill worth while. The only thing that dissapointed us was the broken air-conditioner in the room. Service personel were sent to our room multiple times in an attempt to fix it, but we ended up not being able to enjoy any cool air during the entire duration of our stay. Good thing Izmir is such an amazing city, and we did not require spending too much time in the room. Despite this inconvenince, our stay was an overall great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabriz, Iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Swissotel Izmir; it is absolutely luxurious, located in heart of city neighboring the Kordonboyu (which is the walking street of Izmir at the seaside with many fish restaurants and pubs)
Rooms are well-designed and quite spacious for a city hotel, actually although it is a city hotel has large gardens which you forget you are in the heart of a crowded city.
Pool and saunas are very well.
It has a spacious breakfast lounge with a terrace sitting area also there are heat lamps in the terrace which enable you to have your breakfast in fresh morning air with the nice view of gardens.
Staffs are so professional.
We didn’t use executive lounge and aquarium restaurant.

Room Tip: Hotel consists of three blocks, we were in block C and our room had the view of gardens (labeled as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#2 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
402 Luxurous guestrooms including 55 specially designed suites. 3 Restaurants, 3 bars, tennis courts, indoor & outdoor pool, fitness centre, Purovel Spa&Sport (5,500 sqm.), Convention Centre (7,316 sqm.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.