We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhellent family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ismet Kaptan Mahallesi 1373 Sok No. 5, Izmir 35210, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Λαρισα
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exhellent family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Double Tree Hotel by Hilton in Izmir Turkey is an exhellent hotel for families. It is very well situated in the center of Izmir and within walking distance of most sights. It is clean and wellcared for. Room service is very good and breakfast and meals are exhellent. The personnel is very friendly and the hotel manager is really friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable comment. We would like to see in our Hilton family again.


Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
16
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

CONS:
- Health club, 24/7
- rooftop swimming pool, is not big, but very pleasant and quiet.
- Shower water temperature, constante temperature
- Air conditioner in the bedroom, very efficient and silent
- Internet available, free and fair speed
- Location, just a short walk away to city center, the bazar, exhibition center and seaside, etc.
- Carpark available and free
- Restaurants and bars. Good quality food with a turkish touch. And the Rooftop bar is a very pleasant place to relax.
- Amenities available in the toilet
- Amenities in the room, despite the paid minibar, free water bottle available.
- Room size. I stayed on one of the biggest rooms on the floor,(check blueprint picture attached). So I can´t complain about the size of the room.
- Towels in the bathroom. I like big towels and the towels available, are not the biggest ever, but very decent size.
- Price value
- Breakfast is very reasonable with a wide sellection of cold and hot food.


PROS:
- The downside of my stay was the check-in. It was the coldest check-in I ever experienced. I asked for some information regarding the open hours of fitness center and swimming pool, and the information I got from the gentleman on the reception was totally wrong. I found that later. Also I didn´t get my welcome cookie as usual on Double Trees Hotels, and I saw other guest with that. And I´ma HHonors member, I wasn´t received as one, even after showed my member card.


TO BE IMPROVED:
- Tv channels available, not much english channels and the signal fails quite often.
- General cleanness. Reporting this can be tricky, I can´t say the hotel in general was not clean, but two small details forces me to put this as a improving issue. Both details were in my room, I fond when I enter to the room for the first time a little piece of plastic on the floor and a smashed bug close to the bed on the wall. The plastic piece disappear on the second day, the smashed bug stayed during all my stay (5 days) check pictures attached.
- During my stay at night Izmir were little windy. All night I could hear the whistling wind on the corridor and under the door of my room. I guess this can be improved.
- Staff don´t speak english very well. In fact some of them almost don´t speak. I had some situations where was difficult to communicate with the people of the restaurant and bar.


DO I WILL RETURN?
Yes, can happen!


TAXI COST FROM/TO AIRPORT:
- Between 50 and 60 Turkish liras, roughly 20€

EXTRA NOTE:
- All week the hotel hold some events, every night a different one. I understand the Hotel have to make money, but this can disturb the guests, such on car parks, is small with limited places to park cars, easily can be full with just a few persons from the events. Also the "traffic jam" on the elevators, despite the 3 elevators available, easily a guest can be waiting several minutes for a free elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Henrique ,

First of all, thank you for your kindly comment but also for the hotel explanations. We will cope with to be mentioned problems by informing relevant departments. We would like to see you in hilton family again.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After staying with the Hilton Group before, I was disappointed with this property, despite in being relatively new. Welcome on arrival was good, a nice warm cookie, rooms were small, and the low ceilings made it more so small.
Bed was comfortable, windows opened, which is great. Carpet was stained ad not much room for luggage.
Dinner and brekkie buffet was great but beverage service in the evening and morning was average.
We had a long day on the road, and we were tired. It would be beneficial to put them through a Peopleology style course.
Overall an ok hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comment is one of the most important aspect for our loyalty. We will deliver your complain to relevant departmants as soon as possible in order to gain your loyalty. Thus, for next time we ll be ready for your happiness.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

it has small rooms, old bathrooms (the door lock was broken and wc doesn't function smoothly). there was no clean carpet for praying. At the hotel there is just one seccade and if someone used it, you have to pray on a towel. the staff don't know the qıbla sign. You should ask it to reception and they guide you about the way on the phone. It was vey interesting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ecodiver,

Initially, thank you for your kind comments. Fortunately, we will deliver your basic problems to relevant departments. We hope to see you again in Hilton family.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir Hotel is close to the city center and the sea. It is a very nice hotel with clean and quite big rooms. Its personnel is very kind and helpful. Its restaurant offers quite good quality. Breakfast is also very good, combining both Turkish and Continental style. There is only one disadvantage: Quite high prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın Georgios,

Yazmış olduğunuz yorumlardan dolayı size teşekkür eder, en yakın zamanda sizleri yeniden otelimizde görmek isteriz.

Saygılarımla,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was the 3rd hotel of our tour. Decent location, about a 10 minute walk from the Kordon section of the harbor. The staff was friendly and attentive. The spa and sauna were nice. The room was clean but generic. We didn't get a wake-up call, one of the areas where the staff fell short along with dining. They clearly weren't used to several large groups coming in and there was a lot of chaos in the restaurant at dinner. The space is quite small for that many people, even taking into consideration the buffet was not large. The food was average, not as good as I'd experienced at other properties. The rooftop is a nice place to hang out and enjoy the view. And it was nice to have a safe in the closet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ecodiver,

Initially, thank you for your kind comments. Fortunately, we will deliver your basic problems to relevant departments. We hope to see you again in Hilton family.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak

Address: Ismet Kaptan Mahallesi 1373 Sok No. 5, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.