We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Professional, Inexpensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guzel Izmir Oteli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Guzel Izmir Oteli to your Saves list
Guzel Izmir Oteli
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Fevzi Pasa Bulvari 1368 Sok No:8 Basmane, Izmir 35230, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 Izmir B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Professional, Inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on two occasions and can absolutely recommend it to travelers. The breakfast is fresh and delicious, my room was clean and had both a refrigerator (a pleasant surprise) and a television. Good a/c, good water pressure, quiet atmosphere. The cost was remarkable for a single room. Most often, single travelers have to pay a double room rate, but here I was able to take a single and this saved me a lot of money.

An important thing to note is that the staff is friendly but professional. Friendly in Turkey can often mean "too friendly"--such as hassling you for tours, or ceaseless flirting. This was not the case here, thank goodness! The staff at Guzel Oteli remained kind and helpful, but were respectful of professional boundaries and guest privacy.

Another reviewer mentioned the hotel wasn't a safe location, which is absurd. It's surrounded by hotels, restaurants, and shops. I'm a single woman and I never felt uncomfortable in this area. The hotel is close to a huge, beautiful park with a running trail. (Or, if you'd rather run indoors, the hotel has a fitness center.) The location is very convenient as it's in walking distance to the waterfront, and very close to the metro, train station, and bus service to the coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank very much for your taking the time to write a responce for Guzel Izmir Hotel. It means a lot for me and my team to read this. We try to do our best. We are not a luxury hotel so with th eminimum we try to offer the maximum. We hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Oteli.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
18
33
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very friendly staff and very clean! It was a great place to stay and very accommodating to our short stay. They even gave us exact directions to the shuttles we needed. Loved the receptionist, he was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you ver much for your nice thoughts and reviewing Guzel Izmir Hotel. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Hotel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions - once while travelling down from Istanbul to the area around Ephesus and once on the way back up. Both times we had the same room which was very good. The air conditioning was good and the staff were very friendly. We didn't spend a great deal of time in Izmir and so gained a limited idea as to where the main shopping/tourist areas were. However, the hotel appeared to be within walking distance of them. Free breakfast was provided, but unfortunately we left the hotel really early each time and so were unable to try it. There is gym equipment, which was very limited, and a darts board, which was very fun! The hotel is a minute away from Basmane train station. If you're getting the train from Bandirma and end up in Alsancak, it's about half an hour walk away from the hotel. Price was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It was pleasure to read your comments. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Otel. Have a great day. Regards.

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great value for money - very good location, clean with air-conditioning. We had a tour pick-up at 730 am so the fact that breakfast was only from 8am onwards was a bit disappointing - they could have accomodated us better by offering to provide breakfast at 715 at least. Otherwise, staff were very friendly and helpful. Free internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. With our staff we try to act as a great team to make our guests happy. Hope to host you againg @ Guzel Izmir Otel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Guzel Izmir Oteli was a good hotel for the price, so I'm not going to say it was horrible.

The staff were extremely helpful, and one of them even spoke fluent English, their breakfast in the mornings was okay, if a little basic, but then if you think about it your not paying that much so then the breakfast is okay.

The rooms were clean, which a little exception of the bathroom my wife had issues showering in there due to the mould that could be seen in the shower, but i'm sure it could be cleaned a little better, and it was annoying how the toilet was just under the shower so it was soaked every time you showered.

They had wifi in the rooms which was a big plus, and the location couldn't of been more perfect, they had a train station near by, and almost the bus booking offices are at the end of their small street which was perfect when it came to catch busses elsewhere.

And most of all they had a great lounge downstairs with sat tv in which we could watch the Euro 2012 games.

Room Tip: Their twin rooms facing the street are large, try getting one of those, or else their other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your responce. We try our best to keep our guests happy with fresh breakfast and clean rooms and warm, welcoming staff with fluent English. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Otel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel's photos you find in internet must have been taken by a professional photographer because when you arrive there and see the place for yourself it is different from what you were thinking. The building is shabby and the rooms are very small and unconfortable. Bathrooms are tiny with no windows. I was traveling with my mum and we got a double ensuite but I would not go there again. The only good point is location, close to the train station but around this hotel and even in the same road there are at least other 20 places. I would definitely go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Check few rooms before choosing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
I am very sorry here about your experience @ Guzel Izmir. We are a budget hotel our strenght is our LOCATION, BREAKFAST and FLUENT ENGLISH speaking STAFF. Some of my rooms are small . Our pictures reflect the truth I took them. I did not hire any photograher infact they are taken by my I phone.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It is great to arrive to a new city and be greeted by someone who not only can communicate in your own language very well, but gives you a map, circles all tourist attractions, orients you to the city, and basically can answer every question you have regarding transport around that city.
Guzel Izmir Oteli excels in this regard. In addition, our room was very clean (albeit tiny), offered a tv and air conditioning, and even offered amenties in the basement that we did not have time to take advantage of, such as a gym and computer. The hotel is also very close to many bus routes and the train station. Though it is lacking in decor or charm, I would definitely recommend this as an above-average budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
It is a pleasure to read your review. Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing Guzel Izmir. We try to to do our best with our team. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Hotel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guzel Izmir Oteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guzel Izmir Oteli

Address: Fevzi Pasa Bulvari 1368 Sok No:8 Basmane, Izmir 35230, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guzel Izmir Oteli 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Izmir City. Café, Fitness Room, Darts, Terrace garden, free open buffet breakfast, Free WI-FI, TV lounge. Free library in many languages. Across from Izmir International fair and Basmane Train station connected to airport. All rooms have mini fridge, hair dryer, wc, shower, satellite TV and air conditioner free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guzel Izmir Oteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guzel Izmir Oteli Hotel Izmir
Guzel Hotel Izmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guzel Izmir Oteli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.