We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and special food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gozlemecim

Gozlemecim
Kizlar Agasi Yani, 897 sokak no:19 Kemeralti, Izmir, Turkey
232 4452748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,192 Restaurants in Izmir
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Faro, Portugal
1 review
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice and special food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I and a friend of mine, looked for the advise of Tripadvisor for a restaurant in Izmir, Turkey, and Gozlemecim was in the first place. We went there and not regret .. Very nice and special food and very nice people. All must try...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    12
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing gozleme!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The reviews don't lie - the gozleme here is truly something to die for. I had spinach, cheese, garlic and onion - the freshest, most delectable gozleme I had ever tasted (will have to scratch it from the menu at music festivals in the future - the comparison would just sadden me). But as a warning - the portion sizes are incredibly generous! I am still digesting hours later as I write this review. And my dream of also getting a dessert version quickly faded - so if you are a dessert fan, just splash out for one upfront unless you have a hollow stomach. Definitely worth the visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great, Lovely and Simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Gozlemecim is a small store-restaurant at a narrow street, which is a bit hard to find. I went there after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor and knowing that it was the #1 restaurant in Izmir, and I didn't regret it at all. The owner/chef is a very nice and hard-working person and I had a long conversation with him in English which is really a rare thing to have in Izmir because very few people there know English. As for the food itself, it's excellent. I had 2 Gozleme's, one Chicken based and another sweet based with Kunefe and Chocolat. I promised the owner that I'll give him a 5 stars here on Trip Advsior and here I am keeping my promise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh Gozleme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Visited at lunchtime and was served lovely, fresh Gozleme cooked to perfection, it tasted great. The choice is amazing and you can order any combination of both sweet and savory fillings. We opted for a simple dishes of two fillings, my husband ordered sucuk (spicy sausage) and cheese which was just as good as the spinach and cheese dish I ordered. The owner is very friendly and speaks very good English and German as well as Turkish. I've just moved to Izmir and will certainly return for more. The restaurant is open 8am until 8pm 7 days a week so there must have been some confusion with a previous reviewer thinking it was closed at 7pm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Without comparison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having tried gozleme from all manner of places ranging from your side-of-the-road village market, to your high-end Istanbul breakfast eatery, I have to say that Gozlemecim was the best I've had. Huge portions, great prices and unbeatable variety (over 500 options!) If I had more time in Izmir, I would definitely come back (and may still try and squeeze one more visit in).

Cim, the owner, spoke good English (and other languages) and was a pleasure to talk to.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gozlemecim also viewed

Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 
Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Gozlemecim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gozlemecim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.