We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you make it past the first floor, the rest of this hotel is excellent.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Izmir Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Izmir Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akdeniz Mah., Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari, No: 16 Konak, Izmir 35210, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Once you make it past the first floor, the rest of this hotel is excellent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The first floor was below standard: check-in took too long; no one was tending the cafe; lounge too noisy. Everything past the first floor was excellent.

It literally took 20 minutes to check in, and that's AFTER we arrived at the reception desk; well below Rennaissance standards. In other words, we waited in a small line (not counted in the 20 minutes) and when it was finally our turn to check-in, it took 20 minutes to complete the check-in at the desk and obtain a room. They have very few efficiencies in their check-in procedures, and while this may be acceptable to people from other nations, it is poor showing for Americans who are always in a hurry. In other words, the amount of time and steps one must undertake to complete the check-in procedures will waste your time.

Location of their lounge is on the first floor, adjacent to the reception lobby with no wall or barrier between them, and was very noisy and too busy to relax. Too noisy and busy to enjoy the lounge, so we didn't stay in the lounge very long.

They have a cafe across from the reception desk on the first floor and when we arrived no one was working there, so us, along with other guests that arrived a few minutes after us, assumed it was a help-yourself cafe. So we made our own cups of tea or coffee. The next day, we saw someone tending the cafe, so our assumption (and that of the other guests) was that it was a help-yourself, when in fact, it is not. You'll need to relax at the cafe while one member of your party spends 20 minutes checking you in at the reception desk.

Very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant on top floor, with a great view and breakfast buffet. The restaurant service was exceptional; the wait- staff were most accommodating and extremely friendly. Room was nice/Renaissance quality.

15 min walk to the clock tower, shopping area, good restaurants, pier, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear C130driver,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and please accept my sincere apologies regarding the inconvenience that you experienced in our lobby.

I would like to inform you that that after reviewing your comments, I have met with my operations managers and discussed your issues to improve our processes and consistency of Check IN speed, and Lobby attendance. I fully understand your disapointment and please note that this inconvenience was an exception and not our standard.

I would like to also thank you for the nice comments you made about our staff and their hospitality skills; I am glad to learn that we have liked our rooms and the restaurant and will be glad to share your comments with the team.

Again my apologies for this inconvenience and thank you for choosing Renaissance and look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Izmir.

Yours sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    33
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
42
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I visited renaissance izmir hotel recently with my husband. The hotel was beyond our expectations, starting from our welcome drinks to the final check-out, everything for phenomenal. Highly courteous staff and excellent service. A must Recommended hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mrs. RamalAsadKhan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I love your note, It is such a pleasure to read and learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Marriott at Izmir and right from check-in to check-out, the staff was extremely helpful. The room was large and contemporary, in line with most designs of 2014. The spa/massage experience was amongst the best we have had.

The breakfast spread was exceptional. The chef was able to accommodate our children's needs with a smile and being vegetarians, dinner was also customized by the chef.

We even landed up extending our stay here just because of the hotel's experience.

Overall, I would recommend this property in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear "vshah3",

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I have enjoyed reading your description and appreciate your feedback about the hotel, SPA, Breakfast, staff and the services we provided.

Please note that your opinion is very important for us and your review is shared with our team. I am glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Izmir.

Many thanks again
Sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chios, Greece
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

New, modern hotel with big rooms and delicious bleakfast. The staff was very polite and the massage one of the best I ever had. I would likw more amentites in the room (shoe shine or a toothpaste). Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Corner rooms above 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear AlekaChios,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

One of the best hotels I have visited so far. Location is perfect if you want to visit the bylanes of Izmir. Staff helped us plan out all tours from ephesus to pamukkale with competitive rates. Breakfast is awesome and the general manager personally came to check on guests during one of the days. Although there was a language barrier with some staff they ensured to get our queries sorted. Would highly recommend this place to all. Cheers!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr. farhanc85,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay at the Renaissance Izmir Hotel.
We appreciate your nice comments about the hotel and services, your comments are very important for us and are shared with our team.

I am very delighted to see that we have lived up to your expectation.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Izmir

Sincerely yours

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived just for one night on our way to Ephesous. The hotel is a 5 star no doubt. Great location, excellent rooms with turkish bathroom and more than helpful staff. I recommend the spa , specially the female massagist from Bali, I do not remember her name.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear JoMarre,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is such a pleasure to read your note and I am so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback about our services, Della our therapist from Bali and the team, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with Della and the entire team.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Izmir.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gocek, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at the Izmir Renaissance, we checked out at the end of our stay feeling a little sad. For once I couldn't fault anything with services of this hotel, all the staff were polite and helpful. Gurol and the Navigator were extremely helpful, their assistance made our stay in Izmir memorable and enjoyable. The Renaissance to me was like a breach of fresh air. The room was very spacious and clean, the service was very impressive. We'll stay there again and we would recommend no other. So happy we made the right choice.

Room Tip: Corner Club Room is very spacious, in summer those with morning sun could be beneficial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear RoadBack,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write your review after your recent stay at the Renaissance Izmir Hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations. Your feedback about our team, Gurol and Üykü is highly appreciated and please note that your note is shared with them.

Thank you for choosing Renaissance Hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Izmir.

Yours sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Izmir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Izmir Hotel

Address: Akdeniz Mah., Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari, No: 16 Konak, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Izmir Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Izmir is a large metropolis in Anatolian part of Turkey and popular destination for its Mediterranean climate. Renaissance(R) Izmir Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Izmir's commercial district, steps from the water front, the Kordon Promenade. You cannot miss the charming outside facade of the hotel when you are in Gaziosmanpasa Boulevard. Renaissance Hotel is the signature lifestyle brand within the Marriott International family. The 110 large and sophisticated guestrooms boast luxury bedding and the latest technologies. Luxury bathrooms feature spacious shower with a traditional Bathing Basin, "Kurna". All-day dining restaurant serving Mediterranean delights is located on the rooftop and the terrace offering sweeping views of Izmir Bay. Leisure facilities include a fitness, spa, Turkish Hammam and plunge pool. This hotel in Izmir is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's travelers and meeting organizers with 2,130 square feet of meeting space and a dedicated business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Renaissance Izmir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Izmir Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.