We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Izmir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Izmir to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Izmir
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Pitch your expectation for a cookie-cutter hotel with impersonal, yet efficient, service and you won't be disappointed. No complaints really, except that the carpet needs to be cleaned more regularly. Smooth and swift check in, check out, quick taxi call...
We didn't eat at the hotel - why would you when you're at the heart of a range of fantastic eateries? - so cannot comment on the restaurants. What the hotel has best is location. Izmir has a limited arc of interesting places and this hotel is bang in the middle of it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Foodie301,
Thank you for your stay at our Mövenpick Hotel Izmir and your nice feedback.
We recommend you to also try our 5-star restaurant on your next visit to Izmir. You won't regret trying it!
Thanks for all your kind comments and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    110
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
105
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our first bad experience was at check in after a 16 hour trip and the hotel had no record of a smoke free request. We later opted to keep the room for an extra $51 USD/night to avoid moving.

We were traveling on a budget to watch our son's volleyball tournament playing for the USA Under 21 Men's team and a belated 35th anniversary celebration. The two week schedule required us to make reservations in Izmir AND Ankara for the second week due to poor planning and info from the organizers of the FIVB tournamnent.

When FIVB changed the schedule mid stream we were forced to cancel our Ankara lodgings, (costing us $150 USD), and also our entire 6 day provisional extension at Movenpick Izmir at $150 USD PER NIGHT and rebook two additional nights at $250 USD per night, and $208 USD for any extra nights if we did not go to Ankara. When the tournament rules changed and required us to remain in Izmir for the duration, we had to rebook through hotels.com for $175 USD to get a lower rate for the remaining four nights, resulting in a total cost to us of several hundred dollars more than we had originally booked for.

It is not the fault of the hotel that the FIVB plans were so confusing, however when we were caught in this quandary, the hotel chose to force us to choose a higher rate or leave for other lodgings on a busy period or pay the additional $100 USD for two extra nights that we ALREADY HAD booked on a 6 nite stay. In fact, we had to release 6 nights that they then could resell at the higher rate AND charged us the highest possible rate to keep our current room.

Everything was blamed on the "system" not allowing any grace for our dilemma.

Although the staff is very friendly, the management basically stuck a knife in our back while they smiled politely with ZERO sympathy for our problem, knowing we had no other viable options with the town solidly booked.

The restaurant was very impressive the first 2-3 mornings we had breakfast, as was the Mistral lounge which we paid extra for each day (about $50 USD per day), however, it became apparent that they put the same thing out every day. For a 12 night stay it gets pretty boring, and we found ourselves needing to ask for special requests to break the monotony.

My wife has a gluten allergy and getting special accommodation is made more difficult by the language barrier, especially in the lounge, which was necessary since our budget took such a hit at the desk.

A one or two day stay would likely be fine with most trips, but I do not recommend longer and do not expect any sympathy if you have a problem. You will pay dearly for changes due to circumstances beyond your control.

By the way, we NEVER received our "complimentary fruit basket" even after repeated requests at the desk. The carpets in the room and hallways are in need of a good steam cleaning.

Pool and gym are excellent. View from lounge/roof are beautiful. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are average at best. Did not pay extra for meals, but not surprised by reports of overcharging by other reviewer. We are still here as I write this so checkout may be interesting!

Definitely took some of the sparkle out of our 35th anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: If your plans are "set in stone" book a value price online. If flexible, get ready to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Rod G,
First of all thank you for choosing Mövenpick Hotel Izmir and your detailed feedback.
We are very sorry to hear about that FIVB changed your schedule and you have to cancel your trip to Ankara.
We realized that you made your reservations online from one of the booking sites. You can be sure that you have booked the best rate available for your room during that period.

Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again.
Kind regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Greece
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great hotel is primarily people. The material things supplement the people experience. This is the case in Izmir's Moevenpick Hotel. Centrally located, ideal for long walks along the sea promenade, or visits to the beautiful suburbs, it offers the visitor all the comforts of a five star hotel plus the warmth and professionalism of its staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Panathinaeos,
Thank you very much for your stay in our Mövenpick Hotel and your feedback. It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable ,and we thank you very much .

Hope to see you again at your home in Izmir.
Kind Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

if you stay at 2-3 different hotels every month, one kinda gets desensitized to basic things. Movenpick in Izmir seemed like any other hotel without much of a wow factor, except maybe its location.

The room was smaller than what i excepted, the food in room dining was ordinary and service was normal. so overall an average place. Would suggest fellow travellers if you get a good deal here, or if you on business, stay here. if a tourist, then look for deals in Kusadasi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear The_road_house,
Thank you very much for your comment about Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. As you said we are a business hotel and our hotel is located in the heart of the city and within walking distance to the business and shopping districts as well as the trade-fair grounds. It is also an ideal starting point for visits to local attractions: world-famous Ephesus and popular destinations Kuşadası, Çeşme and Bodrum.
We also offer to our guests high-quality service.
But if you prefer to stay in a resort, as you said, you should look at the hotels in Kuşadası, Bodrum or Çeşme.
Thank you very much for your stay and comment. We hope to welcome you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun- Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the second time I stayed here. Now for 4 nights and the sevice is really very good. Friendly staff who rememeber your breakfast preferences the next morning. I want my egg boiled for 7 minutes:) Once I had some moldy parmesan cheese on my plate and they made a thousand apologies. The 11th floor has a very nice pool and sauna free of charge for the hotel guests. The quay of the bay is just a 2 minute walk away. Unfortunately, the doorstep was in repair which made the entrance to the hotel complex and a bit dangerous. However, hotel staff was very helpful to guests to overcome this problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Meeuwsenmj,
Thank you very much for taking your time to give your review about Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do apologize sincerely for the construction work in front of the hotel during your stay.
The sidewalk in front of the hotel was blocked last week because of the construction work in the city. The construction on the road is finished now. We are very sorry for this inconvenience.

Hope to see you again at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visited Izmir for business trip between 4 and 6 July 2013 ,I stay in the hotel or 2 nights and it was really great . the special thing which i didn't find in other hotel that there is a window between the bathroom and the room itself where you can watch TV while you are bathing, you can use the sound control in the bathroom to listen to the TV channel. the staff is absolutely helpful and the breakfast is fine but needs to be improved , location is just great the waterfront right in front of the hotel. its highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bassam76,
Thank you for your nice comment regarding your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 3 nights, from 24th to 27th may, and the hotel went beyond all my expectations. It has a perfect location, just one block from seaside and a good array of cafés and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and in room services worked in a very efficient way. The staff is highly comitted with the guest's satisfaction and made me feel almost at home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Schwarz-BH,
Thank you very much for taking time to fill in our guest survey and for your nice review! It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts!
We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Izmir

Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011 and 2014, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Izmir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.