We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as it looks like” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aksan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aksan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aksan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gaziler Cad. D:214-216 Basmane, Izmir 35240, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 83 hotels in Izmir
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“not as good as it looks like”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

The hotel has a nice web site indeed. When I stayed here the airco did not work. They told me it would work after 6 pm however it was very warm in the room. A window could be opened, however this causes lots of noise.

On the site they told it is 1 km from the sea, however it is 3 km. The sauna is not open on Sunday. The breakfast was not good, cold egs and soup and was reused the next day.

Also the area is not very goodç

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
3monthsinTurkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

The hotels website makes it appear much more glamorous than it actually is. Rooms are in need of a serious makeover and a decent clean.

Staff were friendly enough though.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

I am a single female tourist who booked this on the internet after reading it was in old Izmir amid elegant shops, within easy walk of shops etc. The truth is it certainly is in very old, grubby IZMIR on a noisy street with nothing to see and no where to eat in the local vicinity although it is right next to a supermarket. The staff barely spoke English but tried to be helpful and there was only a street map available- not one brochure, tour guides, tourist information of any sort. I was given the name of a tour operator who offered only "personall" tours at $250 US as there "are no tours in Izmir at this time"!! I got in taxi to the Hliton hotel and made bookings from there for daily tours to Ephesus /Pergamonfor only 65 euro!!!The rooms were tidy and there was a table and 2 chairs but the single beds were vv hard. The fridge was barely cold and so bar lukewarm and no good for keeping own drinks in. The windows were double glazed and noise hardly discernible and the aircon was fine .There is a nice lobby and a hamman which I didn't try and a nice bar but v basic, expensive dining room which I used one night. Seemed to be lots of turkish people staying there, some tour groups but really very few tourists like me.
The breakfast was buffet style and very wide and good selection .Taxi to the Hilton and waterfront was only 3.5 lira but the walk from the elegant shops and waterfront was a good 40 min!!I was in a room next to the lift which was vv noisy though I always travel with earplugs to sleep. There was no shuttle bus from the airport though one can be taken from the EfesTaxi for 10 lira. It was an OK hotel and I felt safe but really in poorpart of town

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this basic hotel for a night. It was enough. The aircond was not working properly...we had to complain to the management a couple of times but there was not much that they could do. It is hotel that caters for group tourist. It is a good thing that our stay was only for one night. For the price we have to pay, I will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aksan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aksan Hotel

Address: Gaziler Cad. D:214-216 Basmane, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aksan Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Aksan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aksan Hotel Izmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aksan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.