We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ephesus Deluxe Tours

Ephesus Deluxe Tours
Kusadasi port, Izmir, Turkey
+905326301714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Tours & Activities in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked this full day tour online and was pleased with it. Gizem our tour guide was very friendly and spoke English very well. We visited all the sites advertised. Had lunch at a carpet factory. Lunch was good and enjoyed the demo. Knew what coming next. We were shown the carpets and sales pitch started. We were not going to buy but sat as the owner unrolled what seemed like 100carpets. They were beautiful but I would have preferred skipping this part. Overall a great day and I would recommend this tour and Gizem as a guide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    13
    8
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Had a great day in Ephesus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We decided to book a private tour in Ephesus, Turkey, when our 12-day HAL cruise made its stop here in Sept. 2013. We thought the full day tour offered by Ephesus Deluxe would meet our needs, as they offered a full day tour to the Ephesus Ruins, House of the Virgin Mary, lunch in a small country house, all in a comfortable/roomy Mini-van for $70.00 US per person.

Our guide Gizem (aka Mystery), was waiting for us with sign in hand outside the Kusadasi cruise terminal prior to our arranged meeting time. She took us to our mini-van, and we met our driver Ugur. Right away we felt Gizem was passionate about her job as a young tour guide, as she excitedly told us about the Kusadasi port area and city. She provided us interesting information on the House of Mary as we drove out to it, and then took us through the entrance gates, and to the already forming line of visitors waiting their turn to pass through the house. After meeting up again, we then headed off to the Ephesus Ruins, and she accompanied us through them, describing the different points of interest, in good detail, and taking time to answer our questions. We were then off for lunch at Topkapi Weaving Center, which then led to a carpet demonstration. My wife spoke of interest in possibly stopping off at a place to look at leather coats, which our tour guide would recommend. We then did a quick stop at Efes Popular Leather factory, on the way back to Kusadasi. Yes, I have a happy wife with a new leather coat now. We were then dropped off back at the cruise port with plenty of time to get back on board. Very enjoyable day and we would highly recommend this tour company.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We knew what we wanted to see and Ephesus Delux Tours gave us everything and for a very good price e.g. 70 Euros some 40 euros cheaper than anywhere else.

We were on a cruise stopping at Kusadasi and we booked the tour in advance of going on our cruise. When the cruise started though we found out that due to strikes on Athens we would be going to Kusadasi a day earlier than we booked. As our internet access was limited to when we were on shore all we could do was send an email to Ephesus Delux Tours and hope that they would get the email and be able to meet us a day early.

Looking for us they did meet us a day early immediately outside of the port entrance and had the pleasure of being with Gizem for the day. We didn't know we were on a private tour until she introduced us to the car driver and his car after a short walk and realised it was just the 4 of us.

Off we went to Ephesus with Gizem giving us all kinds of information on the way. Be prepared for questions as Gizem often asked us questions about what we new already.

We visited the House of the Virgin Mary and Ephesus. All tickets were included in the cost for the tour. Gizem gave us lots of info at both sites and gave us time to ourselves at various points in the day. She was also very good and finding the shade so nearly everytime we stopped to talk we were in shade. Such a little thing most guides wouldn't think off but this made such a difference on a hot day

Being on a private tour also meant we could visit the Terrace Houses which Groups can't.

Then it was off to the Temple of Artimis. Even though one of the old seven wonders of the world I wouldn't bother with this stop as all it was, was a pillar in a field.

Then it was lunchtime at a local carpet making Co-op. The lunch was good and again already paid for, and we got to chat to Gizem as a friend and not a tour guide.

Then it was the bit we weren't looking forward to, the carpet sales pitch. Gizem had said there was no obligation to buy and we wouldn't have a hard sell and she was correct. We got shown how the carpets were made and then got shown the different qualities. After rolling out about 15 carpets then we were starting to be asked what we liked and the sell had begun. We soon narrowed it down to a carpet about 3ft by 5ft. It was a good carpet so we were given the price. 700 euros which considering the effort to make it and the life you would get out of it, it was good value. But I would rather buy a cheap carpet for 10 Euro's and spend 690 Euro's on another cruise. Without any fuss or hassle once we said we didn't want to spend that amount of money we left.

This was the end of the day and we went back to the ship.

Thanks Gizem for a great day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the best for us anyway!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was slightly concerned when booking with this company about past reviews concerning disinterested tour guides. However, my first choice could not offer a personal tour for two at short(ish) notice so I booked with Ephesus Deluxe anyway. At first I was impressed, Great communication, no request for deposit up front and a pleasant enough lady tour guide and driver waiting for us, as arranged, on 10th September. Some useful information given about Kusadasi and the surrounding area on the way to Ephesus too. But, from the moment we walked into the historic site it just felt as if we were a bit of an inconvenience. The tour guide literally rushed us along, waiting rather impatiently for us at each stop. She spent a lot of time checking her mobile phone and looking as if she'd rather be anywhere else!! It turned out to be her young Son's birthday and she wanted to get home to arrange his party. We didn't really learn a lot, we would have liked more time to stop and ask questions but it was all a bit scripted and I'm not sure that her English was good enough to cope in any case. To cap it all, she arranged to meet us outside the site entrance at the conclusion of the tour where she was enjoying a good chat and a cigarette with her mate who just happened to own a jewellery (tat) store. All this on my time! I declined the kind offer of a tour of the leather markets on the way back to our ship and the remaining journey was conducted in Turkish between her and the driver all the way back. What possessed me to give a tip on top of the requested tour fee I don't know, an attack of good old British sense of fair play I guess, but I really wish I hadn't!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ephesus Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We scheduled this tour rather than take a Princess excursion. The total cost was $60/person for a trip to The Virgin Mary House, St. John's Basillica, the ruins of Ephesus including the Terrace Houses and lunch at a rug factory. What a great value!
Our tour guide met us at the port. We took a very comfortable bus to all the sites. Our guide was extremely informative. Lunch was also delicious. The tour left us with a very positive view of Turkey. We would definitely use this tour company again. If you are on a cruise ship which is also visiting Naples, you might not need to see Pompei. The ruins at both Pompei and Ephesus will both give you a good sense of a 1st Century Roman city. We visited both sites and enjoyed our day at both sites. However, it might have been more interesting to see the Isle of Capri at our Naples stop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ephesus Deluxe Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ephesus Deluxe Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ephesus Deluxe Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.