We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden, birds and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Recepusta

Recepusta
Ataturk Caddesi 364 | Izmir Kordon, Izmir, Turkey
0232 444 1978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,193 Restaurants in Izmir
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Garden, birds and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I picked this restaurant because of how charming it looked from the sidewalk....lots of palm trees, flowers and very shady (it was very hot). We had one of the best meals we have ever had!!!!! Lots of food, beautifully displayed, and included dessert too. The manager came over and talked with us for 10 minutes. He told us that many, many dignitaries from Turkey and the world have eaten there and it was rated the best restaurant in Izmir. We ate outside under the shade of palm trees and I heard lots of birds singing. I got up and walked around and found 2 enclosures filled with birdhouses and beautiful, colored birds. Great atmosphere. The service was good but they did not speak English and the manager had to come over to assist us in ordering.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Izmir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stopped in here after our cruise ship pulled into this port. We decided not to take any more excursions and just explore Izmir on our own. We loved the experience this restaurant provided and the atmosphere was so unique. The food was delicious and to our surprise they bring you a big delicious salad and other appetizers without you placing your first order. We loved that! They also let us taste test cardimon coffee later in our meal. The back of the restaurant has two giant atriums filled with beautiful canaries. Such a fun place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“A bad night for all involved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I ate here as part of a group of fourteen for which a set menu had been arranged. The mezes were no better than average and in rather small portions, offset by generous helpings of bread. Loading up diners on bread is, of course, a classic tactic of restaurants looking to cut down on their portion sizes. The entrees--two different stews, one of lamb with eggplant and one with chicken--were delicious, but we were given one small helping of each and that was it.

Then the section where we were sitting lost power. The lights and heaters went out. We sat there for about thirty minutes, waiting for it to come back on. Despite the fact that we had several Turks in our group, none of the waiters offered to move us to another table in a lit area or explained what was going on. Finally, waiters came, took away all the table settings, and then plopped down four sampler plates of dessert. We asked for individual plates, but they said that the dishwasher wasn't working and they were out of clean ones. We had to assume that they were out of any further entrees as well, as there was a least one additional course that somehow vanished from the menu.

None of this would have been that bothersome were it not for how they then handled settling the bill. We had been told that the set menu was 60 TL. When the waiter finally came with the bill, it worked out to 90 TL per person. When we protested, he tried to say that it was due to the water we drank. At that price, we would have to have drunk about five gallons a piece. After some further arguing, they cut it down to 70 TL per person. All this going on, mind you, as we are sitting in a cold and dark section of the restaurant.

I don't care how fabulous the food might be on a good night: the way we were treated was utterly ungracious, and no first-class restaurant would gouge its customers when they've had to put up with a power outage and getting short-changed on their meal. We were invited there as the guests of a major organisation based in Izmir. I suspect we will be the last group they will take to Recep Usta. Lesson to the management: in the age of the Internet, think twice before you screw a group of international businessmen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Settled in an old mansion. Although the place is very attractive, the mainly food is meat grilled in Anatolian style but they don't serve alcholic drinks except wine. Bu t the cuisine is not compatible with wine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assiut,egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“simply the best turkish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

it was my first few days in turkey and Turkish friends invite me to recepusta , it was on april , weather in Izmir is rapidly changeable but the place was really nice , service in excellent , especially ayran which was served in an old fashion dish , meat and salad are really so nice

I was invited so I did not know about the bill , that's way iam giving 5 stars with warm feelings :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Recepusta also viewed

Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 
Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Recepusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Recepusta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.