We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sisus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sisus Hotel to your Saves list
Sisus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalyan Mah. Yat Limani Mevki, Cesme, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Cesme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hull, UK
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a holiday at this hotel booked through Saga and I must say it is the worst hotel we have had through this company as usually Saga hotels are of a very high standard. Our standard room was very small, with inadequate wardrobe space and had no room for chairs etc. Both the bathroom and the bedroom were shabby and ready for refurbishment.

All the public rooms are beautifully furnished, but not comfortable to use, appearance was obviously the effect they were looking for rather than client comfort.

On the up side most of the junior staff were lovely and the Saga rep was brilliant, but the management were never anywhere to be seen.

The food was disappointing, breakfast wasn't too bad as there was the usual selection of cereals and fruit etc, but dinner was pretty dire. The warm buffet was a worry as it sat there for several hours and no-one seemed to check whether it was at the correct temperature. At the beginning of the fortnight there was a counter with food being prepared freshly by a chef, but this disappeared half way through the holiday giving us no choice but to eat from the buffet.

The hotel was obviously trying to expand it's facilities and held two weddings and a conference whilst we were there to the detriment of the holiday guests, as rooms became unavailable, the dinner room was taken over and pool side seating was removed, pushing the holiday guests out.

The pool itself was one metre 50 deep for it's full extent meaning that anyone who was not a strong swimmer felt insecure using it. Also the loungers were totally unsuitable for our age group as they were rockers and extremely low to the ground making them difficult to get out of and uncomfortable to sit and read on.

All in all, we would never return to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    50
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
36
96
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Turkey for our 10-year anniversary and this was the last stop (please see my 5-star reviews for Witt Suites Istanbul and Sacred House in Urgup) and a huge disappointment from the time we arrived. Had we not prepaid the hotel, we would have left after the first night.

Pros:
- Property is gorgeous - lobby and interior facilities are modern and spotless (unlike the rooms). The pool is really nice as well and the hotel is situated in a quiet fishing village on a marina.

- We stayed in a king suite on the 3rd floor - the room was huge!

- They have a hourly free shuttle to the beach club.

Cons:
- Service is terrible. From the time we arrived to the time we departed, service at this hotel was poor. We had significant issues communicating with the staff. I've been to over 30 countries and have traveled extensively for work and business, including remote locations, and have never had such issues with the language barrier. The front desk personnel could barely speak English. We speak a bit of Turkish, but given most of the guests were American or British when we stayed there, perhaps this should be a consideration. We had no other language issues during our 2 week trip. There was a single person, Didum, that was of any help. Also - does it hurt to smile at your guests?

- We asked simple questions - do you recommend an organized tour to Ephesus? Shrug shoulders - person is here in 10 mins (then 2 hrs, then didn't work that day). We booked it online.
- My invoice checking out consisted of showing me a calculator with the amount. "Can I have an invoice?" Shrug shoulders - "broken"
- Can I get airport transportation? This was quite the ordeal - you would have thought I asked how to solve world hunger. Our flights changed and we had to change our pickup time. I went through 3 people to do this correctly.

- Management is nowhere to be found. Someone earlier commented that kids run the place. This is true. I did see what appeared to be a manager at breakfast every morning, but his function consisted of standing at a wall and staring at people. This goes back to my first point of poor service. Our complaints fell on deaf ears.

- The room was filthy (pictures included). We had a king suite on the top floor. The carpet was in dire need of replacement or a good cleaning. Stains everywhere and we didn't want to walk around with bare feet. Housekeeping was terrible. They left dirty cups and glasses for 3 days. We started a collection (picture attached). The toilet was cleaned only twice(we were there for 5 days) and we never received refills of soap or shampoo. The decor in the room was thrown together. We had a nice balcony, but there was 1 chair. When I requested a second, I might has well asked to calculate the value of pi.

- Breakfast and dinner is included in the room rate. Breakfast is OK, nothing special. Dinner is disgusting, unless you like frozen vegetables (some of which may still be cold) and low quality food. We ate dinner there once and dined in the village - much better. The room that breakfast and dinner is served smells like disinfectant and there are stray cats that come in. Bon appetite!

- Not the hotel's fault, but the clientele were the elderly. There were two or three couples that were under the age of 75.

All in all, this was a huge disappointment after five-star service on our two week trip to Turkey. The hotel and service is poor, although it has the potential to be great and starts with poor management. I would NOT recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EbruAkyurekli, General Manager at Sisus Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Sisus Customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment; as Sisus Hotel Management we're so sorry you had big disappointment during your stay. Wish you should complain while you're having all these difficulties 4 days long and we should follow all sadness you had.

As Sisus Hotel Management we're always at the hotel all day and all night long, our hotel is the most famous hotel of the area and Turkey with one of the best service. Our repeat customer guest percentage is over %60 and all the awards we been taken are just because of having the quality service, and friendly employees.

I've been at Texas as a Lions Club Exchange Student and had big difficulty with Texan accent, all the language barrier you had with employees I believe because our employees not able to understand your accent.

Sisus Hotel is a boutique hotel and we serve our customers daily special menus and our customers are very happy with tastes and quality of the food, but I see we couldn't reach your special taste, in this point why you never complained while having that terrible food all your stay long.

Sisus Hotel also very famous with best cleaning, as you can see from all pictures, Sisus hotel is totally white and to keep clean the white involves very detailed cleaning. Our Dining room carpet get cleaned each single day after dinner. Our room carpets wash each time after check out of the rooms. We serve daily cleaning to our customers, this is a Sisus Hotel Standard, room cleaning check done by a chef first than second by our housekeeper, it is impossible that your glass stay in the room 3 days long. Also our chefs run and control the service during meals and speak perfect English.

We are again so sorry for your bad experience but wish you should give us an opportunity to see all your difficulties during your 4 day stay, not after your stay.

Kind Regards,

Sisus Hotel

Ebru Akyurekli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had high expectations for this hotel as it had won some trip advisor awards and at first sight I thought it looked good. The exterior isn't impressive but the interior design is great. Our room was small, there was no counter space in the bathroom, just a pedestal sink and there was no full length mirror. When I asked why there was no mirror, the concierge responded, "small room means small mirror... big room and big mirror". There was also no iron in the entire hotel. I had to go into the elevator to see outfit... which was wrinkled. The air conditioning also gets turned off by the hotel intermittently throughout the day... when you want it most. I thought that was odd. The bed is also hard as a rock..

The offer 2 beach clubs with a shuttle... that was great. One is very bohemian with pillows on grass and the other is upscale with beach chairs and an older crowd.

The breakfast and dinner was included.... breakfast was traditional Turkish. They did serve pancakes but they were raw on the inside. The eggs were also raw on the inside.
The dinner is served between 7:30 and 9:30 and it was great some nights and not so great other nights... but it was free so that's always nice.

The pool is really nice and it has a great bar... no complaints.

Overall, I think they made an effort to accommodate but have some hospitality work to do still.

Room Tip: Most corner suites are very small. One corner has a dog that is chained up below and barks a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I must say when I saw this hotel at night with red lights all over I was terrified. But as we enter into the building everything changed. Yes the design of the hotel and the concourse spaces may not be your favoriye/it wasnt for me but the rooms and the balcony as well as the service was beyond expectations. Jacuzzi in the bathroom, all the toiletries and spacious room made it perfect for us. The food is not to die for but yet acceptable if you are looking for a quick bite. I was pleasantly surprised with rooms and the staff. Shuttle service and free access to the beach are among the few plus signs baring in mind all the boutique hotels in that area suffer this sea access problem. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves spacious rooms, overly polite staff and extra services they wouldnt find elsewhere. Truely enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TO_ep
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We'd like to provide a detailed crash course on both the Sisus Hotel and Dalyan village from the perspective of a 30-something couple traveling all the way from North America. One of us is somewhat fluent in Turkish, so keep that in mind if there are no native speakers in your group. We'd stayed at Sisus for several evenings this August.

The good things:
1) The hotel looks impressive outside and inside: very clean, very modern and well laid out. We found the rooms spacious. There doesn't appear to any boutique hotel in the Cesme peninsula that shares these attributes quite like Sisus. (only based on our observations)
2) Sisus hotel is not overrun with small children and foreign tourists...which worked well for us. The clientele appears to be mostly Turkish.
3) I asked for flowers and wine in the room upon our arrival as it was our first anniversary. Sisus staff did well on this request!
4) If you like fresh fish from the sea every night, Dalyan village is the place for you! About a half dozen quality (yet pricey) restaurants are only a 5-10 min walk around the harbour. Make sure you now the meal prices before ordering!
5) We're not spa experts, but we felt the 30 min Sisus massage and pedicure were well done.
6) The pool area is well staffed and very nicely laid out, we found the rocking chairs quite comfortable actually.

The not so good:
1) Sisus food quality: We were ok with the food at Sisus until ordering dinner ala carte one evening. Our pasta dishes came with a side of shaved parmesan, which had gone white and green!! We luckily noticed before eating much the rotten cheese. We mentioned this to the waiter and the cheese was replaced. This unfortunate event should raise alarm bells with management. Hello, Mr or Mrs hotel GM: the kitchen/chef/and wait staff need some adult supervision!
2) Dalyan's isolation: If you're traveling to this area and want to go on trips around the peninsula, you MUST rent a car! Dalyan village was basically just fishing boats til about 10 yrs ago: it currently has a half dozen fish restaurants, a dodgy corner store selling drinks, snacks/booze only, and some kind of variety store of no apparent use to hotel guests. There is little restaurant variety or conveniences such as car rental firms, drug stores, or grocery stores. For all this, you must drive 10-15 min to Cesme town.
3) Dalyan stray animals: There are probably more stray cats and dogs than people in this town! The stray cats at your feet whenever there's food in front on of you, even while your eating at Sisus. The stray dogs are pretty big, look very sad and lay around the streets/sidewalks..if you're scared of stray animals, beware!...if you're a serious animal lover, beware as this may be depressing. No need to say that overall cleanliness is rather lacking in public areas in this town.
4) Staffing at Sisus: There are lots of young, attentive, friendly staff at the hotel. However, as noted by another reviewer, there is an apparent lack of senior management oversight/coordination of those staff...especially at the restaurant. There is only 1 staff at the reception desk, answering all the questions and helping clients.....while there must be 6 or more staff manning the not-so-busy bars, restaurant, and pool. Doesn't make a lot of sense.

Overall, Sisus sits on an impressive, well-maintained property in a lonely village that requires some serious TLC. What needs to improve most at the hotel is management's oversight of the food service and staffing at its facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was disappointing mainly because of the poor location, which is not even in Cesme proper but in Dalyan, which feels like surburban town. There is a marina nearby that is mostly fenced in with a high gate and barbed wire. I have no idea how the Tripadvisor ratings are so high. The facilities themselves are fine - clean albeit outdated furnishings. It's as if they bought all the 'modern' furnishings off Overstock.com or something. Room is a good size with two big closets. There is a balcony overlooking the houses nearby. The rooms on one side of the hotel are overlooking construction. The hotel pool is nice and big. Food is fine. Not much variety in the buffets but sufficiently fresh.

The biggest problem is the location. There's nothing nice nearby and the beach is a bus ride away. The hotel offers shuttle service but only once an hour starting at 11am. This is a huge disappointment. Who comes to Cesme to stare at surburban-looking houses and a fenced-in marina?! I would check out but unfortunately we did some prepaid plan and can't get a refund.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the second time I stayed this hotel. Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff. The best advantage of the hotel is that it provides free entrance to the famous beached in Aya Yorgi and provides transportation to that area.We dıd not use the pool but it seems clean and nice if you prefer.Both the breakfast and dinner was good and delicious. Hotel locates near the Dalyan marine. There are a lot of fish restaurants nearby that you may prefer to have a dinner with rakı & balık in a peaceful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sisus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisus Hotel

Address: Dalyan Mah. Yat Limani Mevki, Cesme, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cesme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cesme
#6 Family Hotel in Cesme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sisus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sisus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisus Hotel Cesme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sisus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.