We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit a real gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doga Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Doga Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Doga Garden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Musalla Mah. 1005 Sok. No:17 Cesme Merkez, Cesme 35930, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 84 hotels in Cesme
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second visit a real gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Last years holiday was very good when Memhet was running the bar ( he is no longer at the Doga as he is doing his national service ) however this year was excellent - Jack who ran the bar made our holiday. He and the staff could not do enough for my husband and I while we had a superb, relaxing holiday. Jacks cocktails - even though they had no names - were to die for. The food served in the holiday was some of the best food we ate while in Cesme. Ebo was the best educated,well mannered (kind sir) of a waiter you could ever wish for. An excellent run hotel, everyone was so friendly and we were treated like one of the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned from our Holiday to Cesme and our stay at the Hotel Doga.
First the hotel .. Well what can I say it was everything we had wished for and more , from the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the staff , and the guests that were already there . Massive thanks to Simon the owner and his lovely wife who sorted out our fridge and hairdryer crisis immediately nothing was ever too much trouble ( even when i inadvertantley took a dip in the pool in my white skirt and she got it cleaned for me ) and the other staff including Ferhat (Jack) . Ibo, the lovely Brook , and the rest of the staff you were all the people that make the Hotel so special .The pool area and the bar are something else No other hotel in Cesme comes close to what this hotel provides, the sun shines all day on the pool and at 17.17 its beer o clock time at the bar :) Yes the rooms are basic so dont go expecting luxury but the setting in between lime and plum trees is beautiful and the rooms are cleaned every day with clean bedding and towells too. After a few days we started to get a bit fed up of Effes so we asked Jack if he did Cider and although he didnt within 2 days he got some in for us now that is service .The hotel is situated about 10 mins stroll from the main part of Cesme and yes there is a slight uphill walk to get back but after having a large meal in town perhaps that is just whats needed .
Restaurants ... Here are a few I would recommend
The Friendly Corner .. very good food at a very reasonable price try there Chicken curry yummy
The Star Restaurant ... Excellent for steaks as well as other food of course
Ibos ... the place the Ex pats meet up and excellent food
The Olive Tree ... the Beef Stroganoff is out of this world .
No Problem Bar ... Good food and a lift home if you are lucky
There are other restaurants that we tried but cant remember the names sorry but I must say we did not have a bad meal anywhere.
We met some lovely people on our stay including Ian who was an absolute godsend he took us under his wing and took us to Alacati , Chiftlic and Illica Beach . Steve and Annette, Pauline and Gordon , Anne and Barry , Kathy and Tommy , Nicky and Henry and everyone else we met there.
Trips.... there are a few trips I would recommend , For The boat trip there are the Bang bang boats with music all day if thats what you want but I would recommend the St Mary as its a much quieter boat which will give you a much more relaxing day and a beautiful lunch its a bit more expensive at 50 lire but well worth it.
Ephesus is about 1/2 hours away Thomas cook do a very good trip its £65 which I think was a bit steep but to be honest its worth paying a bit more to take the hassle out of trying to organise it yourself.
Altinkum Beach ( golden Beach ) my most favourite day out 3 lire on the bus and you are taken to heaven , lovely sand , clear water ( albeit a bit cool) and peace and quiet .
Cesme Castle , 3 lire to go in and the views are stunning
All in all I would recommend Cesme as a place to go in Turkey , No its not Bodrum , Marmaris or even Ichmeler , theres NO sky sports or English 99p breakfasts so if thats what you are looking you will be dissapointed . Its a lazy , chilled out , beautiful part of the world that delivered everything we wanted from our holiday this year and more. Never has 2 weeks seemed so long and relaxing and for that feeling we thank Cesme and particually the Hotel Doga from the bottom of our hearts

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful hotel with great a great pool!

The owners were out every day greeting us and making us feel more than welcome: You can really tell this is a family run business!
The bar stays open as long as there are still customers in so you are never shoo-ed away from the place (The music is turned down though for those sleeping thank goodness!)
Will be back to cesme soon and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This little hotel could be so much better if the bar and restaurant was not rmanaged by Mehmet. The bar and food prices for a 2 star hotel were ridiculous and more than three guests had to complian after their bills for food and drinks were incorrect, in one case £40 more!!!
I would urge the owner to change the bar management otherwise this nice lkittle hotel will fast gain a very bad reputation for ripping off its guests.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Our room was basic and the bed was big and comfy. Well cleaned.
The breakfast was also basic but adaquate.
The pool was quite big for a small hotel but freezing cold; the gardens were pretty.
The staff were attentive but watch your change! Us and at least 1 other couple were short changed by Mehmet. Drinks are a similar price to UK.
Cesme harbour was a 5 min walk. There are no lively bars and it's quite boring; however it did feel very safe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed at the Doga Hotel Ceseme, myself, husband, family and friends for two weeks, we had read all trip adviser reviews prior to going and went with an open mind (some reviews were not that good). So glad we didn;t listen to them. We had a fantastic two weeks and will be going back next year. All staff were great, nothing too much trouble, we met families who had been going to this hotel for the last 8 years and we had a 'ball'. BBQ night at the hotel was brilliant! The beaches of Altinkum, Illica and Dalyan were beautiful in their own ways, Altinkum white sand, the others a little shaley but sandy in the clear, clear sea. Eating in the Doga was very good, good choices and excellent quality. The 'No problem bar' in town was 5 star for everything, staff, food and ambience. The Star restaurant, Friendly Corner, the Turkish Kebab houses - all excellent value for money. Could not find fault with any meals we had including the one on the Lady Bente, we sailed to Donkey Island on her and this is a must if you are going to Ceseme, swam in turquoise sea, lots of fished to be seen, take your snorkel!
There were 10 of us on this trip and we are all going back, thanks to the Crook family from Accrington for also making our holiday really special - they were great! See you next year folks. One word of warning for any ladies wanting a turkish bath, avoid the Piril Hotel - not so relaxing!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Just returned from staying at the hotel doga pronounced dougha, after a long flight we arrived at the hotel late afternoon to be shown to room 209 very basic, bed, wardrobe shower and a big balcony,went down to the bar to get something to eat just a sandwhich or a plate of chips,we were told the chef was asleep and did not like to be woken!!! This was four in the afternoon not a very good start. The hotel is clean and comfortable very friendly staff,paid forty six pound for aircon and safe for one week bit pricey but essential as it was nearly ninety degrees every day and not much cooler through the night.As it is ramadan at about three every morning a drum is played very loudly followed at five by the mousque calling! Breakfast consists of cheese,bread,jam.cucumber,tomatoes and one day we got melon,on the last day i had cooked breakfast cost fifteen lira just o.k,only had one meal at hotel my wife had sunday roast which was very nice,I had t.bone steak supposed to be medium to well done still very pink inside a good vet could have got it back to life.Waited almost fifty minutes for meal to arrive,went to the hotel barberque sixty lira you got a bottle of wine between two, chicken, salad and meze meatballs came later as they were not ready on time bellydancer was a man!!!! Ceseme is an all turkish resort with nothing at all to do,as we are in our late fifties we did not want anything loud or racous but a little bar with music would have done.Went to illica beach wanted twenty lira for two sunbeds as it was a sunday, got him down to fifteen,rest of the week ten lira,the water was the warmest i have ever been in,the best beach was in altinkum about fifteen minutes away beautiful beach and crystal clear water.A good weeks holiday but would not go back only for the lack of anything to do on a nightime.By the way take all your own soap and shampoo as they do not provide any in the hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Doga Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doga Garden

Address: Musalla Mah. 1005 Sok. No:17 Cesme Merkez, Cesme 35930, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 hotels in Cesme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Doga Garden 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Doga Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doga Hotel Cesme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doga Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.