We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose House Hotel to your Saves list
Melrose House Hotel
Pamuk Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pamukkale
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only spent one night here, but it was a very nice one. We entered the room to find a round bed, which was startling, but, as it turns out, very comfortable! Our hosts were incredibly friendly and we were absolutely astonished by the food. Trout at dinner was excellent and breakfast hearty and tasty. The bathroom was just fine, although the shower leaked a bit, but it was chilly out and the water was nice and hot. Location was terrific, walkable to the base of the park. The things that will stay with me though, are the lovely staff and great food. I note that the pool was being fixed up nicely, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    247
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
167
426
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is place has warm and welcoming owners who are all too happy to help with local info and directions. It is walking distance to the travertines, about 15 min. The room was a good size, and the bathroom was spacious and clean. Their restaurant has good food too. The dinner meal options are simple but very tastey. They make their own olive oil, which has a delicious rich flavour. Breakfast (included in the room price) is a good spread as well. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent a night here after visiting Pamukkale and Hierapolis. We were very impressed with the quality of our room for the price. We stayed in the Stone Suite, which had an unusual large round bed, satellite tv, tea & coffee facilities, balcony, and a nice powerful hot shower.

The welcome on arrival was very friendly, and this continued throughout our stay without ever being intrusive. We arrived feeling quite hungy after a long drive from the coast, and lunch was rustled up for us quickly even thought there was no power in the town. We also ate dinner here, which was excellent, although portions were very large!

The location is also great, just on the edge of town which ensured a quiet night's sleep (not always possible in Turkey!), but close enough to the travertines to be able to walk there. There is also lots of information in the room about visiting Pamukkale - opening hours, prices, and information about the different entrances - which was very useful.

Highly recommended, would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Here are the facts. Arrived at the hotel a bit early and the owners were super helpful and got us started on our day trip. Arrived back, room was ready, well decorated with and very clean. Room overlooked a churned up yard area. Bathroom small and toilet seat was broken. Dinner was only ok, bed was very hard, slept terribly but all the beds are hard in Turkey. Woken early by a screaming kid, a relative of one of the owners. Breakfast nice. Got dropped off at the bus station by super helpful owners once more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We only spent one night in Pamukkale, but we were glad we stayed at the Melrose House.

It is owned by a couple who made the stay so much better.

We dined at the hotel - the meals were delicious and true Turkish food. I had the chicken casserole and local wine.

My husband arrived very late, around 1 am, and they were still there waiting for him, helped him find the room, even at the late hour.

Breakfast was good, again traditional Turkish fare.

They gave us directions to get to the hierpolis and travertines.

We flew back that night, but they held our bags for us at the front desk and made space available to us to change back into our travelling clothes before heading to the airport.

Great hotel, great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Pamukkale in early March this year and stayed 1 night at Melrose House Hotel.
Pamukkale is truly unique and the sunset from the top of the travertines, at Hierapolis, is breathtaking.
Melrose is a family-run business and, as such, has a personal touch. The owners are very friendly – as almost every Turkish we had the chance to interact with – and are eager to make their guests have a great stay.
Finding the hotel was fairly easy as all we had to do was to follow the signs. The hotel is a short 15 minute walk to the lower entrance gate. The owners will provide you with maps and give you advice on which entrance to use and how to get there.
We visited in the low season so the hotel was quite empty (I think only 3 or 4 rooms were occupied the night we stayed). We arrived very early in morning and exhausted after the long 10 hour bus journey from Istanbul. The owners kindly let us take our room, which was very convenient as we could have a quick rest before heading to the travertines.
The room, although standard, was clean, well lit and very finely decorated, which made for a cozy ambiance. The bathroom, though, yet clean, was a bit cold to use in the early morning as an air-conditioning in the room was used for heating (which means you must leave the bathroom door open if you want it to be mildly warm).
The décor was really quite nice, with some lovely Kutahya ceramics on the walls of common areas.
Breakfast was hearty and delicious, specially the homemade jams – this is a favorite of mine in a lot of small B&Bs I stayed in Turkey!
We had read reviews on Trip Advisor about how good a cook the owners are so, after a long day exploring the travertines and then relaxing in Cleopatra’s pool, we decided to have dinner at the hotel. Although the options on the menu were not so varied (which is sensible because, as explained, it was the low season) the food was superb, so I strongly recommend you try a local dish at the hotel.
The place was undergoing some expansion work during our stay – they were building an outdoor mezzanine for guests to enjoy the view in the summer time. Workers started early in the morning but as we like to get up early this was no hassle, but you might want to inquire when you book if this may be a nuisance for you. I think the work should be completed soon.
If you are flying from Denizli airport (which is actually located in Çardak, much farther than Denizli), do not waste your time with the tour agencies in downtown Pamukkale (there was a rather annoying lad insistently and even rudely trying to sell us tours and transfers the minute we got out of the minibus) -- simply ask at the hotel and they will book it for you at much better rates.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies so you might want to inquire about those when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our one night stay at Melrose House was our first stop outside Istanbul. It definitely set the bar high for our future stays in small hotels in small towns as we drove through the country. The owners are a wonderful couple who would do anything for you. The meals are all cooked in the home kitchen and are excellent. We definitely recommend having a dinner here. The rooms are typical smallish rooms but are comfortable and clean. Our group had three rooms and none had complaints (although we were eyeing the room upstairs with the heart shaped bed).

This would probably be a wonderful place in the summer - there are lots of outdoor tables and the pool is currently being expanded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House Hotel

Address: Pamuk Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
#3 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Melrose House Hotel, where a homely atmosphere is offered to our guests accompanied by the traditional Turkish hospitality.Designed and furnished to create your most pleasant stay, Melrose is a small and luxury Hotel which offers nicely decorated comfortable rooms and spacious Turkish cuisine to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melrose House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Allgau Pamukkale
Hotel Melrose Allgau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.