We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look and You Shall Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose House Hotel to your Saves list
Melrose House Hotel
Pamuk Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pamukkale
Victoria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Look and You Shall Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose our hotels for our 19 day tour of Turkey. Trip Advisor comments helped us choose the Melrose, where we stayed after our tour of the "Cotton Castle". Mehmet and Unnu were both wonderful as host and hostess! The outdoor dining area and pool were most appreciated.
Loved the spicy meat ball stew made by Unnu! Our rooms were small but attractive. From our little balcony we looked down into the "backyard" and saw the ladies making pita bread and gozleme. Both so fresh and delicious! The property was bordered with pomegranate trees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    247
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
167
426
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Hotel picked us up at bus stop. Check-in was fast. Our room was on the third floor, staff kindly helped us with our luggage after check-in. The room is decent size with a heart-shaped bed. It has a small balcony looking down to a courtyard/restaurant and a small swimming pool. There is a small step between bedroom and bathroom. Be careful during night if you use bathroom. Shower is good and hot. It is a little far from town center(e.g. travertines and hot spring), it is still manageable. we walked there in about 10 minutes. Someone stayed there told us that hotel gave them a lift. I guess they offer shuttle if you request it. They also dropped us off at bus stop when we checked out. We ate there for one night. The food was surprisingly good, and in American size, we could not finish what we ordered. Overall, it is a very nice small, quaint hotel, we would not hesitate to stay there again if we visit Pamukkale in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A lovely hotel and great value for the price. The family who run this hotel are very warm and friendly and this is reflected throughout the hotel in the atmosphere and decor.
A good breakfast with not to miss home preserved fruits which were delicious (on offer at the time were quince, apricots and cherries. At dinner all the mains automatically came with a meze plate all of which were well prepared.
We stayed here for four nights and with our visit to the travertines, a day out to Aphrodisias and just generally chilling out at this lovely hotel, we found the length of stay here fully justified. After dinner we enjoyed walking (10 minutes) to the outdoor cafe at the base of the travertines. Sipping a coffee whilst gazing at the moon/floodlit "snowscape" was a wonderful finish to the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful courtyard restaurant overlooking pool with a lovely atmosphere and even better food. I think we had the same room as Cecio, as our shower also leaked onto the floor and our glass shelf above the sink looked like it was about to fall off the wall. Also the bathroom door was almost impossible to shut (but maybe I'm just daft). I felt these things were easy to overlook, however, as everything else was so nice. Especially the owners who were very friendly. One slightly odd thing, though not necessarily bad, was that our entire bed was replaced halfway through our stay. We came back in the evening on our second day and found that our standard double had been replaced by a large circular bed that didn't really fit the room (and was a little hard for our tastes). Not sure why they did this? or why they didn't just wait until after we checked out the next morning? But it didn't ruin our stay, by any means, and we would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Apart from the great interior design, good restaurant and cosy swimming pool this hotel has something very unique - the most friendly and helpful hotel owners I have ever met. Thanks to them my stay was smooth and relaxing (they recommended an amazing spa).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our experience here was quite good overall, but there were just too many little annoyances to warrant a better rating.

The hotel was easy to find (good signage on the streets) and the manager, Umi, is extremely competent and knowledgeable. Also the pamphlet available in every room with details about Pamukkale and Aphrodisias is very useful. Rooms were clean and mostly functional. And dinner here at the hotel was excellent, much better than anything else we had in Pamukkale, so I recommend it unreservedly.

Now for the not-so-good bits. The hotel made an odd impression upon arrival, with little staff to attend to us and piles of used linens lying in the corridors. The bathroom could use some work, as the shower leaked onto the floor and the glass shelf above the sink was at such an angle that my toothpaste kept sliding off. And it was noisy at night (at least on the first floor)--we could hear plenty of noise from other rooms and from the hallway. Maybe the walls are a bit thin. Breakfast was mildly disappointing, considering how good dinner was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a great stay here. Great service, pleasant people, good food, a clean room with private balcony by olive trees. Only downside is that the bathroom had leaky toilet tank and sink. Located in a quieter part of the town and easy 10min walking distance to hierapolis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House Hotel

Address: Pamuk Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Melrose House Hotel, where a homely atmosphere is offered to our guests accompanied by the traditional Turkish hospitality.Designed and furnished to create your most pleasant stay, Melrose is a small and luxury Hotel which offers nicely decorated comfortable rooms and spacious Turkish cuisine to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melrose House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Allgau Pamukkale
Hotel Melrose Allgau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.