We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay with cash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melrose House Hotel to your Saves list
Melrose House Hotel
Pamuk Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pamukkale
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pay with cash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Melrose House hotel is a family-owned property (a converted villa) on the ramshackle backstreets of Pamukkale.

The pros:
1. Great value. By far the least expensive hotel we used in our stay in Turkey - although I expect Pamukkale has a number of reasonable cheap options. Melrose, however, offers good quality, clean accomodations, and:
2. Beautiful shaded patio courtyard - where they serve breakfast and you can enjoy a pretty high-quality home-cooked meal after your time at the travertines.
3. Shuttle drop-off service to the gates of Hierapolis / Pamukkale site. Very helpful - although be prepared for a 10+ minute walk back from the bottom of the hill (exit site) to the hotel. The hotel is located on the back-streets - so get your bearings or take a map. Some might find the walk appears 'unsafe' - but I think the neighborhood is not ritzy but safe enough.

Cons:
1. Our bathroom had a cracked toilet lid. A small flaw - otherwise the room was reasonable for a three-star accommodation - not much counter-space.
2. The hotel only takes CASH as payment (Euros or Lira) - which we didn't realize till checkout. Fortunately we had barely enough cash left-over to pay our bill! They stated this was clear on their website, but in booking on Expedia it didn't mention this important detail anywhere. Be aware so you're not left unable to pay.

Overall I would recommend this for an affordable basic but nice place to stay while visiting Pamukkale for a night. Just be aware of the cash policy, the back-street location, and the basic but clean standard of rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    247
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
167
426
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable night at Melrose after travelling from Selcuk. Owners very hospitable and we enjoyed chatting with them. Room brightly decorated, with a roomy bathroom (compared with some other Turkish hotels). Complimentary drop off to terraces and local dolmas stop. Delicious dinner around pool followed by a yummy breakfast full of choices. Other hotel staff also very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent one night here while visiting the terraces in Pamukkale. The family were very friendly & welcoming. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony. Dinner which is served on the terrace by the swimming pool was very good. I recommend the chicken casserole -yummy!
Breakfast had a very good selection. Overall great hospitality at a great price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I arrived at breakfast time, having caught an early morning flight from Istanbul and was welcomed by the lady who runs the hotel with her husband. It was only a short stay of two days (1 night), but the kindness of both the lady and her husband is something to remember. He made a call on my behalf late in the evening, to ensure that all was well with my flight booking back to Istanbul on the following day.
I was impressed to be offered tea or coffee on my arrival whilst my room was being prepared, and then was offered also a complimentary trip to the site of Hierapolis and the travertines at 2.30pm. The lift to here is part of the service provided for hotel guests, but are within walking distance of around 15 mins or so.
Evening dinner was of a high standard, with generous portions including side mezzes, and all of this at reasonable prices. Breakfast included a wide range to choose from.
I experienced a genuine warm welcome and helpfulness here, which is sadly not always part of hotel service these days.
I have wanted to visit Pamukkale and the travertines for many years and was not disappointed with my trip. My stay at Melrose House helped make my visit to the area a trip to remember - for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Hotel location is on the edge of Pamukkale. My room had a veranda overlooking the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed with family to see the terraces and Hieropolis. The general area around Pamukkale is not very inspiring - I wouldn't say you need to plan to stay longer than half a day, to see the terraces and Hieropolis, both of which are well worth doing. We had booked for two nights and found ourselves with slightly too much time on our hands. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful about this and pointed us in the direction of several things to fill the time. In the end we went to a hot mud baths in a neighbouring village, which was actually great fun, if a little hard to find and expensive to get into. The hotel packs a lot into a small space: the little swimming pool is just inside the front gate, by the tables and chairs at which people both sit around and eat their evening meal. If you had small children it might make for a bit of a worrying meal. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was good, though not startlingly so. The hotel accommodated our needs well, managing to fit six beds into a family room, and was one of the cheapest we stayed in. Top marks and huge gratitude to the staff also for coming up to help us get the right channel on our TV at past midnight (Olympic closing ceremony). All in all, an excellent choice in a rather dull neighbourhood. But worth it for the sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived in pamukkale late lunchtime at the centre of town and no sooner had we stepped outside the coach we were ushered for a free transfer to our hotel which we didn't expect. The driver was actually the hotel owner's nephew (found this out later) who also dropped off other passengers to their accommodation too. It was a nice surprise especially as it was a very hot day and in no mood to traipse on foot. At 3pm there was a free shuttle transfer to the travertines which was perfect for us as it was a lot cooler and by the time we got back it was not long before dinner. Dinner was a feast. Not quite sure how we managed to eat the huge main meal (I had roast chicken, husband had chicken casserole) and the vegetable starter but I guess walking had given us an appetite. We also tried the local rose wine to wash down. We stayed in the room with the round bed with the bright orange blankets because my husband thought it would be fun to book it. Thankfully his 6ft body didn't fall off the edge. The shower unit frame is probably designed for a small person as I hit my head on it but it was very low for my husband (I'm 5ft 6) so he had to bend down. The view from the balcony was lovely and the decor throughout the hotel is covered with Turkish tiles. After breakfast the nephew kindly dropped us back to the centre of town to catch the dolmas back to Denizli. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Saw the earlier comment on smelling the animal farm. No such problem with the room with the round or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

When you enter the town off the main road, make sure to take the first left towards city centre as there are so many signs of hotels etc that you can easily miss Melrose like we did. Don't fall victim to the men on scooters trying to get the name of your hotel so they can take you there - then ask for money. The place isn't that big so if in a car, just keep driving around the roads and watch for signs. The family is very hospitable and works hard to attend to all your needs. English is not a problem. The site is beautiful with the pool and restaurant terrace. Excellent food both breakfast and dinner (which we recommend). Rooms are clean and bright although our room had way too many colours and designs (doesn't matter when the lights are off). The bathroom was a little dated but clean and functional. We felt very safe and secure.

Room Tip: The little balcony was facing the other hotels and music came directly in although it stopped around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House Hotel

Address: Pamuk Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Melrose House Hotel, where a homely atmosphere is offered to our guests accompanied by the traditional Turkish hospitality.Designed and furnished to create your most pleasant stay, Melrose is a small and luxury Hotel which offers nicely decorated comfortable rooms and spacious Turkish cuisine to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melrose House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Allgau Pamukkale
Hotel Melrose Allgau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.