We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for renovations without warning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Pamuk Mh. Hasan Tahsin Cd. No 16, Pamukkale, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 hotels in Pamukkale
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Closed for renovations without warning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Reading the countless positive reviews of Venus Hotel, I was really looking forward to staying there last night (17 Jan 2013). But when I called them the day before to confirm my booking, they rudely told me that they were closed for renovations, and then hung up on me.

Venus Hotel said that they had already closed their account temporarily on Hostelworld.com, but they neglected to do it on Hostelbooking.com. This resulted in me booking a hotel that was not open in the first place. If I had not called them beforehand, I would have had an even worse surprise when I arrived to find that I had no place to stay.

Instead, I had to hastily cobble up an alternative an hour before taking the overnight bus from Cappadocia to Pamukkale. Lousy customer service. They should have been more polite, and helped to arrange an alternative since this incident is due to their oversight.

Future travellers, please note that they are closed until March 2013 for renovations, since they have not bothered to make it known to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    155
    37
    10
    10
See reviews for
123
298
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 2 days.

it was so cold and we caught a very bad cold. even I lost my cell phone in Istanbul airport where we had been. that day was the worst day of our trip. we were so tired and exhausted. we needed some emotional help to feel better and to change all this bad situation.

when we arrived the hotel, we explained whole situation which we faced. and fortunately, venus hotel helped! they provided warm, cozy room where we could get better. moreover they called the airport to find my cell phone. the most impressive thing was they kept talking to us to feel better. for example 'everything will be fine, don't worry, etc.' it reminded me of my lovely friends and family.

I recommend the venus hotel if you want to experience the real Turkish kindness.
(And the cost is reasonable.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This family-operated hotel took very good care of me when I stayed here for two nights in late-2012. I had booked the Venus Hotel online and got a good price. Payment was made in cash, but I knew in advance that was required.

These folks are very hospitable, and you almost feel like you are part of the family while you're there. I watched TV with them both evenings I was there. The atmosphere is friendly, casual and comfortable. The street on which the Venus Hotel is situated is relatively quiet, and it is in an area that is residential but also has some other small, family-operated hotels catering to tourists. I felt completely safe in this place.

There are other small hotels in Pamukkale that are slightly closer to the Travertine Terraces and the ruins of Hieropolis, but really this hotel is also very convenient, in my opinion. It is only a half-block walk to the place where the local bus will pick you up, and that bus will take you to the north entrance of the Hieropolis complex. It is advisable to work your way from north to south in the Hieropolis ruins, and then you can more conveniently spend time at the Travertine Terraces, taking off your shoes and wading in if you wish (or not). Exiting the park area at the south entrance nearby the Terraces, I had a taxi take me down the hill and back into Pamukkale town, dropping me off at the hotel. You will also see many tour buses parked at the south entrance.

I had the hotel arrange a tour van to take me to Aphrodisias and back on my second day, after requesting the arrangement the day of my arrival. That was a very enjoyable trip; one that I highly recommend. If you go to Aphrodisias, then it makes sense to stay two nights in this region. Otherwise, if all you decide to do is to see Hieropolis and the Travertine Terraces, then one night in Pamukkale should be sufficient. The Venus Hotel is happy to make these tour reservations for you. You just have to inquire.

It is less than thirty minutes by bus from the larger city of Denizli to Pamukkale. The airport is actually over at Çardak, and the travel time from the airport to Pamukkale town is less than 45 minutes, if you pay to go directly by taxi. In my case, I went the less expensive route of taking an airport bus to Denizli, where they put me on a van for the short ride to Pamukkale.

My room at the Venus Hotel was clean and comfortable. It was a small, single room, but I had everything I needed. The bathroom was good, and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. The wi-fi worked fairly well, although not outstanding.

I used the laundry service at the hotel, and it was a good service. The quality of the food in their restaurant was good, even if the menu is somewhat limited. The breakfast is also a little limited, but I had enough to eat each morning. I enjoyed both of my evening dinners at the Venus Hotel. They take pride in their restaurant and in the hotel in general, and it shows. The Venus Hotel property is well maintained, clean and has a charming affect. It is a restful place.

The hotel owner took me in his own car after check-out on my departure day to meet the bus that took me to Denizli, where I later caught the train to Selçuk, so that I could see Ephesus.

In summary, this part of Turkey has some good things to see and do. Life moves at a slower pace, and I was glad to spend some time here. The Venus Hotel was a very good place for me to stay while I visited this part of Anatolia. I recommend you give them a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, excellent rooms and nice breakfast. We stayed for two nights, on our arrival by bus from Denlisi we were trying to walk to it from the town centre and were a little lost when it happened that the owner drove past and gave us a lift to the hotel! I doubt this is standard but he also dropped us back over to the town centre when we left.
The rooms are really nice and clean, comfy bed and nice shower. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We found nothing negative to say about this fine place. Our room was very clean, well equipped with a state of art tv, wifi internet, a good bed, heating and a good size bathroom; also we noticed the decoration effort both charming and cozy. Complimentary breakfeast was excellent. In the evening we followed the advice of the owner and had our meal on the premise, which is rare for us to do so. We had the best lamb kebab of our 3 week plus stay, up to now, in Turkey! Even the local red wine was recommandable! The lobby is very inviting with beautiful turkish lamps, lavish suspended and floor rugs and an array of beautiful cushions. The personnel was both friendly and very professional. What more can you ask from a hotel with an offseason budget price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

It is the best hotel I have ever lived in. The price is very reasonable( nay be it was in lie season). Our room is a doubled- bed room which is newly furnished at the top. All the facilities are in a very good condition. The boss is really helpful and he was willing to drive us to the bus station in the early morning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here with my partner Very good management, lovely staff and clean place has a very nice location, recommended to everyone.If we ever come to Pamukkale next time we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Address: Pamuk Mh. Hasan Tahsin Cd. No 16, Pamukkale, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venus Hotel is a charming family run hotel located in the pleasant Pamukkale villiage. Facilities include a swimming pool, tranquil garden, free internet, and a relaxing 'Ottoman' corner. You can see Pamukkale's famous travertines or enjoy mountain views from the balconies of our sunny rooms. We also serve a large variety of homecooked Turkish meals for lunch or dinner in our popular restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Pamukkale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.