We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meleklerevi Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meleklerevi Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dereler street No 59, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Urgup B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Meleklerevi for two nights and had an excellent time. As other reviewers have mentioned it is breathtaking to stay in a cave hotel room that is both charmingly quaint as well as surprisingly modern. The owners were friendly and helpful and breakfast was outstanding. The only minor issues were the following:

1. We stayed in the Hayat room and it felt constantly damp. The heaters weren't working so the room was a bit cold and uncomfortable in the evenings.

2. The room we were in was on the ground level with its only window facing the courtyard area. It wasn't possible to keep with window open while keeping the curtains drawn so it was annoying to constantly make sure that we had privacy when changing or going to sleep while also trying to get some fresh air to remove the dampness that permeated the room (especially after showers).

3. We were given a key to the room but were asked to leave the key with the management before leaving for the day. In addition we were not given a key to the main entrance. So if we were late coming back to the hotel we had to wake up someone in management to come open the door for us.

Despite these minor grievances, we had a good time in this hotel and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    10
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
85
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arzu and Muammer gave us a wonderful weekend at the Melekler Evi in Ergup. This was the perfect base for our exploration of Cappadocia. The rooms were well furnished and comfortable, the food was excellent. Other trip advisors have mentioned the breakfasts and they were really delightful - traditionally Turkish, various cheeses, salad, fruit conserves, kaymak (a kind of clotted cream), honey and various pastries, mmmmmm! We also had dinner in the hotel and Arzu and her staff worked wonders in the small kitchen they work in. Every night there was a variety of music chosen from Muammers incredibly large and eclective collection and the evenings usually ended with traditional Turkish music and lots of dancing and whooping. I have to say, if you plan on getting up at 4 am the next morning to go ballooning the end of the evening revelry can be a little hard to take, but it never went on too late. I wasn't overly impressed with the airport transfer on arrival at Kayseri, but that can hardly be the fault of the hotel and I quickly got over being disgruntled when I got there. The staff are very friendly and all do a great job.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in this little hotel - the two I saw were wonderful!
See more room tips
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Inn was such an unexpected delight. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor, but this little gem far exceeded our expectations. It is a quaint and beautifully restored property that has all the amenities of a first rate hotel. The owners saw to our every need. The breakfasts were no less than outstanding. Coffee and and tea were available in the beautiful community living room 24 hours a day. They even prepared a wonderful dinner for us complete with music, wine and home made brandy.
The hosts were knowledgeable about the area and provided us with maps and instructions for what to see and where to eat.
I can't say enough good things about this rare find. If you are looking for a place to stay in Urgurp, don't miss The Meleklerevi Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were so happy that we had booked four nights at this magnificent restored boutique hotel. Each stone was lovingly restored and supervised by a husband and wife architect team...and their attention to detail shows. There were so many lovely terraces that I could sit on a different one and not cover them all. The cave accommodations were dramatic, spotless and very romantic.
The owners Muammer and Arzu were charming and did everything they could to make our stay special. Their breakfasts were delicious and one night we decided to eat at the inn. Arzu cooked a delicious meal which we had by firelight in the restored stable that is now a charming room. Muammer was a splendid guide that showed us a fabulous hike where we walked un disturbed for four hours. The inn is quite convenient yet not in the middle of the tourist hub bub. I wish I could have rated this ten stars and plan to come back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I cannot recommend this highly enough. Impeccably designed boutique hotel/B&B with wonderfully comfortable, luxurious rooms. We stayed in the Umut suite, with an open fire, indulgent sitting area, modern, elegant bathroom, cozy bedroom. The owners are welcoming and helpful - Muammer took the pains to show us where we could go each day on his hand-drawn map of Cappadocia and his recommendations were perfect. Tempting spread of breakfast each day, with a range of cheeses, meats, fruits, preserves, yogurt and fresh eggs, tea and coffee. Well-situated in Urgup, a short walk from all the best restaurants in town and from the hamam, and ample parking if you drive. And great value compared to some other cave hotels where we also stayed on this trip. We were there at the beginning of spring so did not experience the rooftop bar but it looked a great place to come back to at the end of each day.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is unique - check with the owners for the experience you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived late into Kayseri and rented a car for the trip to Ürgüp. Google maps took us right to the hotel and the owners were thankfully awake after midnight to let us in. Our room was, in fact, a cave - at least partially. And it was great. The owners helped us with our sight-seeing itinerary both days, which was really helpful. And if you're lucky enough to get good weather, the breakfast on the patio was a perfect way to start each day. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As it is very hard to tell in words how wonderful the hotel, on the other hand it is very simple to describe how amazing the owners of the hotel... From the very first moment we have met them, they made us feel that we have known each other for a very long time.. From the very deep of my heart, i am extremely happy to know these wonderful people but also to have a very nice holiday in such a great hotel.. If you are planning to go Cappadocia, Urgup, anytime in your life, do not even waste your time for accommodation since Meleklerevi Cave Hotel is the only address for you.. Then, you will have the chance to stay in a great hotel and meet a wonderful couple named Muammer and Arzu...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meleklerevi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meleklerevi Cave Hotel

Address: Dereler street No 59, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meleklerevi Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first beating of Angel Wings...The first time we saw this land of beautiful horses, Cappadocia, and its magical fairy chimneys, we knew we had to leave our own mark on this land that has been home to different civilizations for centuries. In Cappadocia nothing is as it seems. We lived this with each throw of the axe and with each stone that we lifted from the soil. As we removed hundreds of cubic meters of dirt from the garden and from the top of the main building, we discovered the remainders of centuries past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Meleklerevi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meleklerevi Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.