We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Incredible - the Experience of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Assiana House to your Saves list
Assiana House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely Incredible - the Experience of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

In 45 years of traveling around the globe, from the Far East to Europe, there have been three memorable hotels/inns we have stayed in that stand above all others by a huge margin -- one in Germany, one in Japan, and now this one in Cappadocia. As an aside, Cappadocia is absolutely a "must see" destination -- and Assiana House is the "must stay" inn when you are there.

Assiana House is located on the edge of Urgup -- a perfect place away from the masses of tourists (who frequently go to Goerme), and only short walk into town. The Inn has five wonderful "cave rooms," beautifully furnished, with modern bathrooms, fireplaces in some of the rooms, crisp linens and towels, TV, wireless, and sitting places just outside the doors. But what sets Assiana House apart is the friendly owner/operator, Melvut, and his wife. Arriving late in the evening he took us in his car to a restaurant (Somine) in the center of town where we had an absolutely amazing meal in a 5-star atmosphere at a budget price -- and then he picked us up again. The breakfasts at Assiana House were best of anyplace we stayed in Turkey -- with great variety and home-cooked breads and egg dishes (we even coaxed the recipes from them). And when we left Melvut took us to the bus station, made sure they knew where we were going. He was the perfect host in every regard.

The Assiana House website is totally accurate -- the descriptions and pictures reflected exactly what we found. There are many places to stay in Goerme and Urgup to be sure, and I am sure many are nice. But we prefer the smaller inns where we can get to know the owners and learn more about the culture through them. The Assiana House was the perfect setting. But Melvut, his wife, and the Assiana House get our highest recommendations -- you will NOT be disappointed I assure you. Staying in a cave inn was an amazing experience, one that a famous magazine once said was one of 100 things you should do before you die.

If you have questions feel free to contact me.

  • Liked — Immaculate cave room with unbelievably accommodating hosts
  • Disliked — Can't think of any.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lavenham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

This small family run bed and breakfast is one of the friendliest places we have stayed in. Within an easy walk of Urgup town what it lacks in 5 star frills it makes up in character.
The rooms are in a renovated cave with decent en suite showers and the views from the terrace impressive. The breakfast is buffet style on the terrace.
What stood out here was the friendly and helpful service.
The owner booked us a balloon trip with Urgup balloons which was well worth the £120 each, suggested excellent places to eat, and took us on a friendly tour of the locality.
If you fancy a Hamman the one in Urgup is clean and well run and about a quarter of the price of the Istanbul equivalent.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The coffee
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

everything excellent. very natural but confort. thanks MR MEVLUT.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Date: 28 September 2008
Reviewer: Dr Jerzy Z. Przybojewski, Cardiologist, Cape Town, Republic of South Africa.
A trip to Turkey, a mystical tapestry of great bygone civilizations and fascinating culture, is deeply enriched by a visit to the incredible region of Cappadocia. The Assiana Cave Hotel, nestled on a hill overlooking the ancient town of Urgup, was my wife's and my haven for three days recently. Mevlut Bilgic, the unobtrusive and soft-spoken owner of this small family-owned abode, is charming, proficient in English, visionary, and deeply human and was always obliging.

Our suite was part of a cave which was naturally and pleasantly cool in contrast to the hot weather outside. The incredible peace and beauty of the natural surroundings, viewed from two elevated terraces which realized the viewing of sunrise, sunset and moon-rise , was food for the soul! A substantial self-service breakfast was enjoyed on the terrace. No other meals were available, allowing for other culinary experiences in the town, reached by a most fascinating ten-minute walk. Blazing colors of various potted flowers graced the patios and terraces, which also included old farm implements as appropriate decor.

Mevlut plans to open an underground wine cellar, as well as a small restaurant on the premises, and wishes to maintain a "family atmosphere" by adding only a few further bedrooms. The hotel is staffed by Emine and Ayla, two most charming young Turkish women. The accent is on personal attention, a welcome change from the large impersonal international chain-hotels.

We had the good fortune to experience several awe-inspiring organized tours, including a must-do and magical hot-air balloon flight. I was truly in "paradise" since I am an avid amateur photographer (took some 9,000 photographs during the two-week holiday in Turkey!). Safe and reliable transport to and from the hotel was organized.

Perchance, a Cornell University professor and his wife (both medical doctors) were our neighbors at the Assiana Cave Hotel and truly raved about it and vowed to return!

This accommodation was indeed the highlight of our two-week "Turkish Delight" experience. It is impossible to imagine any other traveller not having the same sentiments after savoring the Assiana Cave Hotel. My wife and I sincerely look forward to a further visit to this establishment and will certainly encourage our family, friends and other travellers to do likewise.

The few photographs appended will underline these sentiments. Enjoy the rich fruits of Turkey!

  • Liked — Authentic Turkish atmosphere in a unique cave setting
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

My sister and I traveled to Cappadoccia for 2.5 days after having spent 2 days in Istanbul.
Assiana House was an ideal family-run accommodation that had the right mix of factors that made it perfect for our stay: a host with an eye for details who keeps close attention to the guests’ needs, small and intimate atmosphere, nice view, and clean rooms. Our host gave us suggestions and advises about the local tours which were just right for the length of stay we had, and as result, my sister and I had a very memorable trip. If you get fed up with Istanbul’s pushy Turkish ‘hospitality,’ you should consider traveling out to Cappadoccia and staying at this accommodation. You are welcomed by a family who really knows how to make their guests feel at home and enjoy their stay in Cappadoccia.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

The owner was very hospitable, the rooms were charming and the views from the terrace were magnificent! Vısıted Turkey for the first time with my sister and after having faced many pushy sales people in Istanbul, the stay at this hotel in Cappadocia totally changed our impression of this country. The owner picked us up from Neveshir and took us to some towns en route to the hotel. Also recommended us various tours to see the area and we thoroughly enjoyed them all!

  • Liked — The owner and the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I stayed with my wife in this small but lovely hotel. It is just like home with a great management and personnel. They were very kind. The hotel is located in a very rural region of Turkey with a great scenary and nice weather. There is a very high class resturant in about five minutes away from the hotel. Rooms were very clean and the hotel is brand new.

  • Liked — Very good management - clean and new rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#18 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiana House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.