We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Everything About It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Assiana House to your Saves list
Assiana House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved Everything About It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Absolutely the highlight of our Turkey trip. The rooms, service and staff were absolutely wonderful. We loved eating on the rooftop terrace and thought the advice of the owner was excellent. She always pointed us in the right direction based on what we were craving for dinner or what we felt like doing for the day. We look forward to our next trip to Cappadocia and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lovely place to stay with a most unique ambience and wonderful hosts. it is a a cave-like setting with a beautiful view of the remarkable mountains. It is owned and operated by a lovely family. It surely enhanced our experience and our stay. We are delighted to recommend to all those visitors to beautiful Turkey. Shoshana, Usman and Nour

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I absolutely loved my time at the Assiana. The rooms are lovely and look exactly as shown in the video and photographs. Suna was away while we were there but Mevlut couldn't have been a kinder more thoughtful host. I felt like his family. He took care of all arrangements instantly and everything he arranged was wonderful. He even drove us to Goreme the first day as we arrived in the afternoon. And he didn't just drive us - he sent us to a local restaurant for lunch (which was great) and picked us up from the restaurant and drove us. Who does that! I would come here again simply to lounge around this peaceful, wonderful hotel. Really, no need to go anywhere!

Room Tip: I loved my suite room. Just felt like such a lovely spurge for the price of a non-splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the hotel that I was whisked to after flying into Nevsehir in Cappadoccia. Upon reaching the hotel which is on the outskirts of Urgup, I entered the hotel and was greeted by pretty flowers, a little cat and the friendly owners of the hotel who took my luggage and took me to my room, (#6). I was thrilled to see that it was spacious but cozy and completely constructed of stone, with a beautiful arch along the ceiling. The bed was firm and comfortable and the bathroom had a lovely shower unit with every possible option for a relaxing shower from extra back water jets to a beautiful rain shower head. The room opened up onto a large communal balcony area with a view of the countryside where guests could sit for meals or relax and while away the evening with conversation and a glass of wine.
Breakfast was served under the shade of large white umbrellas and it was typical of my Turkish breakfast experience, slice cucumber and tomato, olives, fresh bread and jam, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and other yummy items.
I stayed here for three nights and toured the regional sights. In the evenings I was able to walk into the central area of Urgup ( a twenty minute stroll) and go out for dinner or do a little shopping.
My hosts were a lovely couple, always willing to help me out, and when I had to do a real estate transaction back home, call my bank in Canada and send a fax, they bent over backwards to assist me. This was the perfect hotel for couples and I would highly recommend it as a place to begin your visit to the intriguing region that is Cappadoccia.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the rooms are equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved our time at the Assiana House. Suna and Mevlut were welcoming and helpful and provided us with good guidance as we organized our precious days in Cappadocia. The rooms were large (which we appreciated having stayed in several very small rooms in our Turkey travels up to this point), spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfasts on the beautiful terrace were delicious and large--Suna's homemade jams topping off all kinds of other delicious treats. The location up the hill from the center of town moved us a short walk out of the main touristy area, which we appreciated. We'd love to repeat our Turkey adventure some day. If we do, we'll definitely stay at the Assiana House again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Assiana Cave House, a great selection by our travel agent. Owners Mevlut and Suna were welcoming and ever helpful, ensuring we knew exactly what time we were supposed to surface to be picked up for whichever tour we were going on that day. We were open-mouthed when first shown to room number 1 set into the rock, beautifully cool and quite spacious with a shower plus bath and a low-cushioned seating area. On two nights Suna prepared an evening meal for us, modest but delightful home cooking, loved the yoghurt soup! (On the other nights we sampled Ziggy's (on the left as you go down the hill), the Han Ciragan (on the right further down) and Somine (in Urgup centre), all of which were excellent and very reasonably priced.) As noted by other reviewers, with it being such a small hotel we got easily into conversation with our fellow guests in a way that might not have happened in a larger place. Oh, and the Turasan winery is a few minutes walk from the hotel, we dropped in out of curiosity and came away with a couple of bottles of their lovely Emir 2011.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This family-owned cave hotel was a highlight of our Turkish trip. We immediately felt like family when we arrived. The room was very well-apppointed with lots of room, and the bathroom offered all of the modern amenities. We marvelled at how staying in a cave could have such an magical and elegant feel to it. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Home-baked meat pies and sweets were an excellent complement to the fine coffee. The terrace had a nice view of the area. A relaxing and satisfying way to start the day. The family who owned the hotel were very welcoming and warm. The Dimrit restaurant which is within easy walking distance offers excellent Turkish food. A truly wonderful and unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Room #1 is a must see with a very large and comfortable bed and sitting area for 10 people. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#18 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiana House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.