We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet respite in Kapadokya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Assiana House to your Saves list
Assiana House
Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Urgup
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet respite in Kapadokya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a nice little spot on the hill in Urgup. My room was large as was my bathroom. Everything was clean and well-maintained. There were no English channels that I could find on the television. The wifi signal is strong in the communal areas, but not always in the rooms given the stone and rock. Always had hot water, which apparently not all hotels in the region do. Was also happy to have a bathtub. About a 10 minute walk from the town's centre.
The breakfast spreads are delicious and typically Turkish, and there is something a little different each morning. Having dinner at the hotel is also very affordable. It's also delicious and you feel like you are guests in someone's home rather than a hotel. Being as there are not very many rooms, you also have the opportunity to easily speak to other travellers.
The proprietors are warm and helpful. The tour companies they have connections with are good. The tours I went on arranged by them were reasonably priced, small in tourist number (~15 people) and didn't spend much time at the obligatory sales stop (carpets, pottery, etc).
Everyone who works at Assiana House is very warm and welcoming and makes you feel taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
42
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Staying in a cave hotel was truely a unique experience. Combined with the calm and beauty of the surroundings - it was just so amazing. And the people at Assiana were just as charming as the hotel. Run by a family, it has a very nice, friendly staff. I was really happy to have such a proper bathroom in a cave :)
The breakfasts at terrace gave beautiful view.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The stay we had at Assiana was great! Everybody did the best for us to feel good! The cave room was warm, confortable, beautiful... The breakfast was very tasteful. In the last day we had dinner there, and it was something! The best meal we had in Turkey! She started cooking at noon, inside the anphora into a special oven, to serve us at 6:00pm... Everything was delicious, made with lot of love... I will never forget the last scene, when we were in the van to go to the airport, and the whole family stood in front of the hotel, saying good bye to us until our van was gone... It was like going out from our own home for a trip... Hope to return!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

If you ever have the chance to visit Cappadocia, this is the hotel to stay. Melvut, his owner, is very very gentile. He picked us at the airport with a 8hr delay! It was awful, and there he was with his sincere smile at 1am waiting for us, on time and in the best mood to attend us. When we got to the hotel we were speechless, our room was a real cave, it was unbelievably cozy and interesting at the same time. Melvut even offered us a cup of local wine at 3am, he was awesome. The room was awesome, roomy, different, super clean and quite a experience. Breakfast was good and they helped us to book a very good tour with a guide named Fatih who has also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This place is a dream come true. It has everything. The hosts are diligent in pleasing the guests, serve a wonderful breakfast, and provide rides to and from the bus. The view is incredible with hot air balloons floating across the landscape. We were offered larger accommodations at the same price because they had a cancellation. Our suite was the best. I slept better there than I had in the previous two weeks. The Assiana Cave House is right out of a charming movie set. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed with my friend on Oct 14-15,2010 at Assiana Cave House. Out flight was delayed and Melvuth waited for us at 1 am to drive us to the hotel. Outstanding customer service!!
He offered us the cave suite, which I highly recommend. We even had a glass of Capadoccia wine and rested for the night. Teh room is beautiful, spacious and clean. We slept great. Breakfast is delicious and plenty. He arranged a tour with an authorized guide tour called Fatih, which helped us get to know the highlights of Urgup, Capadoccia, Kaymakli Underground City and Goreme Open Air Museum. If you are travelling to this unusual paradise, stay at Assiana Cave, and they wil take good care of you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

There are many highly rated cave hotels in Urgup. What makes Assiana House stand out is the warmth and gracious hospitality that you receive from the hosts Melvut and Suna. I travelled to Urgup with my wife and two young children (8 and 12). We stayed for two nights in Room #5 (the suite upstairs). The stay included breakfast. Everything about the hotel had class. The location is in the heart of Urgup, a few minutes walking distance, an thankfully, away from the hustle-bustle of downtown Urgup. The downstairs rooms are cave rooms and upstairs rooms are stone rooms. All are tastefully decorated and well-furnished. There is a beautiful terrace from where you get a birds-eye view of the valley. You can see the hot air balloons gently suspended in mid-air in the early mornings.

The breakfast was sumptuous and fresh (yogurt, honey, homemade jams, tomatoes and cucumber salad, two types of cheeses, freshly baked bread and Börek, tea, coffee, milk, different types of juices) and elegantly served on the terrace. We enjoyed talking to the hosts who came up to chat with us. Suna cooked a fantastic aubergine curry which our children loved. Melvut was patient in explaining all the attractions and giving sightseeing directions to us. We felt like guests in a friend's home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

There was free wifi and tea and coffee makig facility in the room.

If you are looking for a non-touristy, small cave hotel in Cappadocia, I would wholeheartedly recommend Assiana House.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#20 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiana House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.