We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cave Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfina Hotel Cappadocia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alfina Hotel Cappadocia to your Saves list
Alfina Hotel Cappadocia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Karahandere Mah. Istiklal Cad. No:89 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Urgup
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Cave Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night with our tour group. The hotel was lovely with a great restaurant. Our room was spacious with a nice sized bathroom and was built right into the stone walls. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
43
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We had a 10 day trip in Turkey and 3 nights were in Cappadocia.
This hotel and the location was great value for the money. The staff were just admirable.
The panorama from the hotel's many is breathtaking.
The hotel was very very clean with jacuzzies in the bathrooms.
We will be back to this piece of wonder.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

We travelled to Cappadocia knowing that we would be staying in the Alfina Cave Hotel as suggested by a friend of ours that had stayed the year before. I was very surprised that a cave hotel could be so upscale, especially the jacuzzi after having trekked around all day. The service in every part of the hotel was above our exspectations. We ate in the hotel the first night and it was great. I would definately go back again and will suggest it to all family and friends

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

I stayed at Alfina Hotel in early June 09 for a night, a charming hotel with friendly service. They don't have a business centre but when I enquired about internet access, the ever helpful reception offered me the use of their only computer at the reception counter. The hotel is just a few minutes away from town but unfortunately we did not have time to explore as we had 2 full-day tours in Cappadocia. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel's restaurant, and although not the best, they were both very adequate. Alfina is not a luxurious 5-star accomodation but a very charming tourist class hotel with good service, it serves as a great base to explore the amazing Cappadocia.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Hotel Alfina is a lovely hotel on the outskirts of Urgup. I would recommned that if you are older or handicapped in any way to request a room on the lower floors as there is no lift and the stairs are a challenge to the fifth floor. However do not let that put you off as the hotel is carved directly from the earth and is quite charming and the room I had had an Eastern ambience at not too expensive a price tag.Staff willing, laid back but helpfuland charming; and beds comfortable. I'd rate 3.5 - 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Stayed here as part of a small group tour. The hotel is clean and modern and the rooms are quite nice. All rooms require climbing stairs as there are no elevators. Billed as a cave hotel, but in fact the hotel appears to be built on the side of a cliff and in our room only half of the bathroom was really a "cave". There is no pool, which some may feel is unfortunate in this standard of hotel. Breakfast is adequate but only starts at 7.30am which means if you have an early trip or are leaving for the airport (an hour away) you may miss it. Didn't try the dinner - always best to go into town (a 5 minute walk) to get a real Turkish food.

If you like your Turkey sanitized this may be a good option, but for a more authentic experience we would have liked to try one of the cave hotels in Goreme.

  • Liked — Clean Comfortable Rooms
  • Disliked — Little Character
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfinaCappadocia, manager at Alfina Hotel Cappadocia, responded to this review, October 7, 2008
Thank you for your critics. It will help us alot.
As for the "cave" hotel criticism, the hotel is carved into the hillside as and all in the rock. Some rooms reach to 20 meters depth in to the hill (65 feet) and the hotel is considered the biggest cave hotel of the region that everypart of it is dwelled in the volcanic tuffa. Most of the rooms are dwelled more than 300 years ago as old settlement and converted into the hotel in late 80's. The renovation is finished in 2006.
Again we thank you for your critics and we will do our best to serve better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Alfina Cave Hotel was a luxurious cave experience without equal. We arrived very late but the hotel staff was expecting us and the checking in and assisting to our rooms was efficient. As Dec is not tourist season we were a bit apprehensive about the level of service, but it was excellent. The breakfast was full Turkish and they catered for extras, such as our request for omelette and wholewheat bread. A truly enjoyable experience and worth visiting again.
www.hotelalfina.com

  • Liked — Uniqueness combined with luxury
  • Disliked — Service at dinner could have been better
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfina Hotel Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfina Hotel Cappadocia

Address: Karahandere Mah. Istiklal Cad. No:89 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#18 Family Hotel in Urgup
#22 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alfina Hotel Cappadocia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely restored cave hotel in Cappadocia, Urgup. Some rooms dating back 300 years, cozy bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alfina Hotel Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfina Hotel Urgup
Alfina Hotel Cappadocia Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfina Hotel Cappadocia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.