We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful "cave" hotel with fantastic morning overview of balloons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temenni Evi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Temenni Evi Hotel to your Saves list
Temenni Evi Hotel
Temenni Mah. Temenni Sok. No 7, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Urgup
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful "cave" hotel with fantastic morning overview of balloons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a unique, beautiful hotel with helpful staff, excellent views, quiet location, and proximity to town. Each room is different, but all have big bathrooms, views overlooking the town, and getting up early to view the balloons as they rise over the formations is not to be missed.

Wifi available in the lobby only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    28
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Even l have been to Cappadocia several times. It was my first time staying at Temennievi , l just loved the location ( located on a slope part of the old town, nice view, ) rooms were formed from former houses, meals are ok, only down side is for the seniors it is hard walking up to hill side, no worries if you call them they give you a ride with their car

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ten of us from Middle Tennessee are on a two week "friendship exchange" to Turkey. We hosted 10 Turks 3 months ago and they are now returning our hospitality and on our visit to Cappadocia they put us up in the Temenni Evi Hotel. We were delighted, amazed, thrilled, fascinated and in awe. What a wonderful experience, which included a delicious sunset dinner on the roof, followed by flashlight tour of the tunnels beneath the hotel by the hotel owner, a fellow Rotarian. What a magical experience! The accommodations were excellent, the food wonderful (including a typical Turkish breakfast spread, and the staff most accommodating and gracious. Two thumbs up - Way Up.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but the showers have jacuzzis and the walk up and down the hill will keep you fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The first thing our group did after checking in was run around looking at everyone else's room. Each was unique: some tunneled deep in the hill, others featured gorgeous two-sided views of the town and landscape, and one even had museum-style shelving. All the rooms we saw were artfully decorated and had Jacuzzi tubs. Our room overlooked the courtyard and let in plenty of morning sun. Wear an eyemask if you're sensitive, and/or earplugs for the muezzin! The manager is charming, and his wife is responsible for some of the artwork. The breakfast buffet was good; they cooked us omelets in addition to the standard Turkish spread. Dinner featured regional specialties like lamb stew cooked in a sealed clay pot. Service was exceptional, with very early morning (3:00 a.m.!) breakfast offered on the day of our departure. A great hotel for our final stop in Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Here is another reviewer with the same group as RaleighMcC and Nancy F. I agree with everything they said. Just want to add that the staff was extremely helpful in all instances and the stay couldn't have been better. Staying here in a tufa cave is an experience unique to Cappadocia and one I will never forget. And I wanted to add a photo, or two.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I went online to write my review of the Temenni Evi Hotel and saw Nancy F's review. I stayed at the hotel with the same group...she said it all! Great place to stay in a special area!
Trip Advisor requires 200 characters, so let's see...did Nancy say the restaurant meals were excellent. We spent 3 nights, and had breakfast and two dinners...nice linens and good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was on an OAT trip and we stayed here. It was delightful. I have stayed in caves before, but this was the nicest! All the rooms were very interesting and we literally did a tour of each others' rooms. All were different.The owner's wife had done the decorating and everywhere you looked there was something interesting to see. I felt I was in a combination home and museum. There is a rooftop terrace with a panoramic view of the city and you MUST ask the staff to show you the tunnel under the hotel. All the staff were very nice and the food in the restaurant was excellent. On our last day we had to leave very early - 3:00 am to go to the airport. At 2:15 am they had breakfast for us - that was extraordinarily kind of them. My only caveat is there is a climb up to the hotel and stairs (no elevator) once you get there. If you have mobility issues, this is not the place for you, but if you don't mind the stairs, it is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temenni Evi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temenni Evi Hotel

Address: Temenni Mah. Temenni Sok. No 7, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Urgup
#23 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly romantic, boutique hotel in the heart of Urgup, Cappadocia. For the discerning traveler who loves the charm, warmth and ambiance of an historic building, Temenni Evi Hotel is the most perfect of Cappadocia hotels to stay in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Temenni Evi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temenni Evi Urgup
Temenni Evi Hotel Urgup
Temenni Evi Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temenni Evi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.