We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-proclaimed 5 stars hotel that serve like 3 stars” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Perissia Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Perissia Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Perissia Hotel & Convention Center
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mehmet Dinler Bulvari, 25 | Urgup, Nevsehir, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Urgup
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Self-proclaimed 5 stars hotel that serve like 3 stars”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel do not have 5 stars service. For example:
1. There isn't a kettle for you to boil water for your coffee or make extra hot water.
2. If you need hot water, you have to walk from your own room, take the lift to the bar counter, look for the bar attendant and politely request for a miserable small pot of hot water.
3. The daily dinner is the same.
4. The breakfast soup and some dishes served are what is left from the dinner the previous evening.
5. The restaurant staff is unhappy and not polite.
6. If you have to pay for plain water during dinner which is unbelievable in a so called 5 stars hotel restaurant.

If you can, don't stay here as it is also quite far from Urgup Centre, although you can do a 25 minutes walk. There are a number of hotels nearer to the centre.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    107
    66
    24
    9
See reviews for
44
102
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel its just normal, it should be cheaper for what they offer: you have to pay for sauna, or bath(we are use to travell a lot and sauna, gym, pool are always free)
The rooms were quite cold, for summer time I guess they are fine, not for us in November.
The reception was not very helpful when we were looking for a balloon trip, we thought they have already an agreement with one specific company and thats what the tell you. (Look on internet before you get there, cause in Capadocia there are lots of ballons business)
The wifi signal was very poor.
Breakfast and dinner were nice

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerissiaManager, Yönetici at Perissia Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Our hotel prices are not high and actually much lower than big city hotels.
Our Swimming Pools and Gym are FREE of charge, and our SPA prices are also not expensive .
We do not offer Balloon Rides, so it has nothing to do with us.
Our WiFi system is just Fine, usually some of our customers are not able to connect to wifi beause of their own fault and blame the Hotel. You could've just asked for help from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This was the 6th hotel we stayed in on our tour of turkey,with by far the best rooms, we stayed 2 nights. Our room 681 was spacious, very clean & had amazing views of the morning ballooning a real bonus. The bathroom was small but adequate for our needs, clean & tidy. Breakfast & dinner were served in the restaurant, breakfast could have had more selection, but had the usual meat, cheese, eggs, coffee, juice& bread. Dinner was a very good selection of foods suitable for all tastes, the restaurant staff were very efficient clearing away plates after each course. The hotel is located alittle bit out of the way but if your feeling energetic the town of urgup is about 20mins walk away but it is up & downhill to get there, but worth the effort. All in all a good hotel, i would recommend staying there, a good swimming pool but avoid the pool table in the bar, its in urgent need of a spirit level.

Room Tip: Ask for a room so you can see the balloons in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

The grounds may have 5 star amenities and the all inclusive breakfast and dinners are very good but the rooms where between 3 to 5 star quality. Note to the owners or the staff - the slippers that were provided needed instructions to put together - kind of funny - toke a pair home to show my friends how stupid a slipper can be, especially in turkey - Hotel staff change this!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you dont like the room ask to change it, they will put you up in a less quality room - not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a large convention in September. Our accommodation was supposed to be five star hotels, as was promoted for over a year to all members. Arriving at this hotel looked impressive, however upon entering, and then entering our room, we were quickly disappointed.
It is definitely not a five star hotel.

We were supposed to be in a double room, however the basic room had two small beds pushed together. The beds were as hard as concrete, and only had a slim duvet over each bed.
The bathroom was basic and there were poor quality toiletries supplied - none of which I would use personally.

The buffets served for breakfast and evening meals left something to be desired and the food was bland and pretty tasteless.

The dining room did not have air conditioning turned on so was always very hot and stuffy.

Room Tip: Sorry, I don't have any tips as from discussions with fellow travellers, no one was happy with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerissiaManager, Yönetici at Perissia Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Guest, Your views are important to us.

However I must clarify some points. We never had complaints about our beds being uncomfortable, on the contrary, if readers can go through past reviews and even pointwise , our BEDSand SLEEP QUALITY have the highest ratings. We specifically designed them to be not too soft and not too hard and have a unique structure. We also have extra blankets in closets for more warmth.

Our TOILETIERS may not be many in numbers but they are high quality. We never had complaints about their quality before. As a matter of fact, our hotel is regularly checked by an independent agency for food quality and hygiene. We are keen at using only the best materials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Supposedly a 5 star hotel, the first problem was that they refused us a second key to out room. The room was not cleaned properly, dust and dirt in the crevices. The duvet on the bed was smaller that the bed - we complained, but nothing was done about it.

When we boked in there were a substantial number of us, we had to leave our passports to be photo copied. When I went to collect ours in the morning the simply dumped the whole lot in piles on the counter and told us to find our own. The inevitable happened and one of our party never saw his passport again, they wouldn't accept responsibility for it saying he hadn't booked in - he'd been there for a week for heaven's sake.

There was little or no security, anyone could wander in, up the corridors to rooms and into the restaurant, where there were again no checks ever made on who was in there. The food was certainly not 5 star, just a basic buffet that was not very inviting to say the least. The staff were no helpful and often wandered off forgetting or ignoring to do what they had been asked. On the other hand you couldn't leave your table to get something else to eat or drink, unless you left someone behind to guard any plates of food you were still eating, because regardless of whether there was any food on them they would have been removed by the time you got back.

One evening we arrived to find the water glasses already filled; one of our members tried a sip; it was obviously tap water. Not a problem you say, well a large proportion of our group had stomach problems by the end of the week. Can't be sure it was the hotel of course but - tap water in a 5 star hotel?

The only place we could get the wifi to work was in the hotel lobby, despite assurances to the contrary.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerissiaManager, Yönetici at Perissia Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Dave,

I'm afraid your views are biased except for the wifi part. The period which was a month ago, you were at the hotel we did have some wifi problems due to the lines but it's all fixed now, readers can verify this by checking the last couple of reviews.

I think the rest of your complaints are exagerated and stem mainly from this problem which was not entirely our fault. We have 2 security personnel at all times and the cause of the missing passport was because it was never given to us. We later proved this to the your friend showing him the security camera recordings. Readers can go back to previous reviews where guests thank us for finding and returning their wallets or other valuable personal belongings.

We never had any security or cleanlines problems readers can again verify that with previous reviews.

I'm really frustrated and getting tired of fending off totally unfounded critisicim made mainly by some of our italian and anglosaxon guests (and just the opposite by other nationalities). I'm guessing it has to do with culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

If you are wanting to stay at a cosy local down town boutique or cave type hotel this is not for you but if you are part of a large coach tour then this is probably what you will get.

We were transferred to this hotel by our tour operator from a boutique style cave hotel on the grounds that it would be an upgrade (5*) and would be better for us as it had air conditioning. We had come from a 3* boutique style hotel in Sultanahmet (Istanbul) where the staff and food were excellent. Although not what we had booked we reluctantly agreed because were not given any choice. We were taken to the hotel by our tour operator and on first sight it did seem very grand, the forecourt is large and has a coloured fountain and the entrance foyer is vast with a grand staircase.

We were booked in for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast as the accommodation part of our pre-paid tour of Cappadocia. We were given room 655 (the hotel has over 1000 rooms most of which were empty during our stay). The room was large and had an en-suite with bathtub and shower over. The overall condition of the room was poor, it had not been upgraded since it was built. There were cigarette burns on the desk, scratches and chips to the bath tub and broken tiles at the side of the bath. There was a small fridge which was hardly cooling the water that we had brought (none was provided) and there were no complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room. This was a poor standard room compared to many of the Premier Inn and Travelodge hotels that we have stayed in the UK. As with such hotels it was card key operated so when we left the room the electricity went off so the air conditioning was not cooling our room whilst we were out.

After a 30 minute walk along a busy 4 lane dual carriageway into town we went to the dining room to find that it was a buffet meal. This is clearly designed to cater for coach parties who can turn up at any time of day. We were shown to a table by a surly young waitress who asked what we would like to drink. I asked for a beer and my wife asked for a glass of wine and we asked for a small bottle of water. A waiter then appeared with 2 glasses of wine. I had to call the waitress over who snarled at taking away one glass of wine but never returned with the beer. I then had to ask the waiter again for my beer which then followed with 2 small bottles of water. The waitress was either trying it on or simply ignorant as she clearly understood and spoke perfect English. We then went to the buffet and it was disgusting. One table had soup and bread, another had a variety of salads (many looked as if they had come from cans), another table had sweets and another table had roll top containers of hot food which included watery mashed potato, dried pieces of fish and slices of turkey in gravy. It was reminiscent of the cheap “all you can eat” pub buffets found in places such as Blackpool. We struggled to find and eat some food and then asked for the bill for our drinks. When the bill came it included the price of the buffet (20 euros each and 2 bottles of water as well as the beer and wine). I refused to pay for the food and one bottle of water resulting in an argument with reception about the arrangement with our tour operator.

Afterwards (about 10pm) we went back to our room and having inserted our card into the slot we switched on the air conditioning. After about 30mins the room started to cool down but water began to drip from the air conditioning unit. We reported this to reception who sent a technician. The technician came and went saying it was fixed but 30mins later the problem started again so we reported it to reception, who was very aggressive over the phone to the technician. Eventually a different technician came and began to dismantle the air conditioning unit. By midnight it was obvious that it was not going to be fixed and so we then had to contact reception to ask for a room change. Given that the hotel was almost empty then this should have been the first option by reception.

Overall this is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. To say it is 5* is a joke. We did complain to our tour operator and were transferred to an unclassified boutique cave hotel which had the most wonderful staff and cooked food to order for our remaining 2 days. If you are thinking of staying in this hotel or find it in a coach tour then be warned.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerissiaManager, Yönetici at Perissia Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Mull-Tripper,
We are very saddened by your accusations.
We confirmed with your agency from Scottland that your booking was Bed&Breakfast , which means 'no dinner'. Even though you knew this, you tried to get away without paying.
This is the actual reason why you took the trouble to write a novel about us.
Also there was nothing wrong with our airconditioner, actually we found out that you created problems at the next hotel you went again with similar issiues. The local agency had to trasnfer you to yet another hotel .
There should be site to expose trouble makers like you to warn the other hotels in the industry.
By the way you still owe us € 40 for the dinner you and your wife ate and didn't pay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perissia Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perissia Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Mehmet Dinler Bulvari, 25 | Urgup, Nevsehir, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#11 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Perissia Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Perissia Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perissia Hotel And Convention Center
Perissia Hotel Urgup
Perissia Hotel & Convention Center Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perissia Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.