We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mazi Underground City

Mazi Underground City
Mazi Village | Urgup Merkez, Urgup, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 attractions in Urgup
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
169 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Watch your head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was on a group tour (very large group) and we kind of played beat the clock running through this place. I have a feeling that's the only way it happens because the passageways are so tight that you can't linger and back up the continuous flow of subsequent groups. It's amazing that people were able to survive down there as long as they did.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Härnösand, Sverige
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Exciting historical place,go and visit it.The guide we had were really good and told us the history in a very interesting way.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gives very good perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Caves are a key aspect of the Cappadocia region. This underground city introduces the real challenges of living and moving underground!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damietta, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so hard for claustrophobic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Definitely I don’t recommend for claustrophobic, I am not one, but after so many meters going down inside a narrow tunnels I started asking myself why I was there, anyhow was a new experience. But I will not do it again, also is not so funny as I thought for kids.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience. A must see, as long as you are physically able. Very low tunnels in places.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazi Underground City also viewed

 
Urgup, Cappadocia
 

Been to Mazi Underground City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazi Underground City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mazi Underground City to your Saves list