We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kemerhan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kemerhan Cave Suites to your Saves list
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Karagandere Mahallesi | Istiklal Caddesi No:73, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a lovely place - amidst the geological wonders of Cappadocia that of course brings plenty of tourists as well, we found that marvel of a cave hotel - set on a quiet street but within minutes to walk to the center. A beautiful spacious cave hotel, with (only) six exquisitely decorated rooms, impeccably clean and wonderful ambiance, Gorgeous terraces to enjoy a glass of wine while gazing at cave hills in the distance, good softly playing jazz music drifting through the air, or spiritually longing minaret singers from a small mosque behind the house. All could not have been better and it was truly a wonderful stay! The breakfast was so plentiful and various that I had to request to bring less :-) Mehmet is a host that watches out for his guests beyond comparison! (He arranged an airport shuttle pick up and return, a great tour (small group, intelligent guide, interesting itinerary), a private car with driver for another day, and was lovely to talk to about all kind of things (in English and German). I wish I could go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: The suites were taken, we took a standard room that was still gorgeous! It was on the middle floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Having travelled to many different regions in Turkey over the years and stayed in lots of different types of accommodation, I can quite honestly say the Kemerhan is by far my favourite hotel in Turkey. An old cave settlement it has been beautifully restored into a stunning cave hotel, it has 8 suites so it is quiet and intimate but the location is great just a few minutes walk into the centre of Urgup. The pride that has gone into the restoration is evident as the hotel is immaculate. The housekeeping is of the highest standard I have seen. Our room was stunning at the top of the hotel it had great views and overlooked the main courtyard. It has complementary water and 24hr tea/coffee,soft drinks room service which is very nice. The breakfast is freshly prepared when you want it no set times like in most hotels, you just let them know 15 minutes in advance and where you would like to eat on the terrace,in your room etc and they bring it to you, I thought this was great. The best thing about the hotel though is the staff and the hospitality. Mehmet Akuzan the owner wants you to have the best experience while you are there and genuinely cares about the guests. All the staff are so friendly and were always checking if everything is ok and if you needed anything. Very helpful in providing any assistance you required. This hotel really exceeded expectations and personified true Turkish hospitality. A unique hotel and a special experience I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Our journey with my wife was wonderful thanks to Kemerhan Cave Suites. Cappadocia is a very beautiful region that every people must see. The hotelkeeper directly takes care of guests and is very hospitable. If you prefer to stay in cave suites, Kemerhan is definitely the best!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is a special place. It has only 8 rooms, each quiet and aesthetically excellent, with great care to detail. The location is great, just a few minutes walk to the local Turkish bath and city center.

The owner and manager, Mahmet Akuzun, embodies Turkish hospitality. He personally drove my wife and me a few miles out of town to the trailhead of a stunning hike. When he found out I was interested in carpets, he drove me to a neighboring town and introduced me to a friend who is a carpet historian, where I was able to watch several people actually weaving carpets.

In summary, this hotel is physically beautiful and the staff seems dedicated to creating a good experience for you in Urgup. It's the only hotel we found in Turkey that provided 24 hour room service.

My wife and I are going back.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

As long time contributors as well as readers of Trip Advisor, we studied the reviews of the many Cave Suite Hotels in the Cappadocia area and selected Kemerhan Cave Suites. We are sure glad we did. Owner Mehmet arranged everything based on our interests, including transportation to and from the airport, a very experienced English speaking guide to see major highlights, and rides to other places we particularly wanted to see. He also set up an early morning balloon ride with a top rated (safety and quality of experience) balloon company. Our cave suite would have made your average sultan happy. Additionally he helped us find outstanding food at terrific restaurants and provided many surprisingly thoughtful services, including wine and glasses to toast our experience at Sunset Point. There are literally hundreds of boutique cave hotels in the Cappadocia area—the big difference is the quality of service. We found a real winner.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Yes, I loved my stay at Kemerhan with our group of 8 friends. The staff smile warmly, friendly and always ready to serve. No matter when and what we ask a drink or something, they are sure to deliver them. The owner is always around to make sure that we are well looked after and catered for. Do I get this sort of service in big city hotels, not likely but here the strong human touch is all that makes it so different from others and all the more worth while to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

In our group of 8 friends staying at Kemerhan for about a week, we have total consensus that the people at Kemerhan were great and welcoming. Once we discovered melemen, the Turkish omelette, it was a daily feature on our breakfast table. And then we found out about the 24hr free flow of turkish coffee, apple tea and other drinks... as if we weren't spoilt enough! I had the smallest room yet the biggest terrace which opened to a dramatic landscape typical of this area. Each room in the hotel has its own joys and quirks. Kemerhan's a winning choice all the way!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kemerhan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemerhan Cave Suites

Address: Karagandere Mahallesi | Istiklal Caddesi No:73, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#2 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kemerhan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemerhan Cave Suites Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kemerhan Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.