We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic in urgup cappaddocia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Surban

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Surban to your Saves list
Hotel Surban
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yunak Mah. No. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Hampton, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magic in urgup cappaddocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife Suna and I have enjoyed cappadocia for years. We always stay at the Surban. The owner has been kind to us for these many years and we have always enjoyed our stay. All rooms are built from Native tufa stone a volcanic ash stone quarried locally. Gives the look and feel of a cave but with modern conviences, tv nice shower,marble sinks. Docorated in older turkish style. Breakfast and dinner always warm,delious and filling. Staff alway a delight (only 1 minor exception about 5 years ago as that person is now gone). Most important even tho we were visitors from another city my wife is turkish and im from US. We have always been treated like we were part of an extended family. If you would like to hike in this area or just sight see The Surban is the place to base your adventure. In the winter shop for local wine next door and enjoy a romantic fire in the communal lounge.
If you have a large group 8-25 this is an excellent place to bond for a family reunion or just to do something special for your firm. want to do a seminar/ training session for your company speak to the owner I am sure you won't be disappointed. Good place to leave the world behind for a few days and don't we all need that in our hectic busy lives ENJOY this place we have and will continue to in the future. We are planning a family vacation for our turkish family as well as our American family and friends.
eric usaf retired

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are slightly larger, Selcuk evi hotel next door is owned by the same owners and is mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We spent three nights at Surban.
Very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Free parking right in front of the hotel and excellent breakfast included. They arranged for out hot air balloon ride which turned to be excellent.
Rooms are modern and good size by European standards.
Good location for touring Cappadocia, especially if you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We arrived at this hotel early morning after a 12 hour bus ride from Istanbul, the staff were very friendly and got our room ready for us before the check in time. the room was small but clean and nicely decorated with an arched roof in the 'cave style'. There was a large communal lounge with sofas, books and a small courtyard. Guests at Surban also have access to the lovely garden (with tortoises) at the next door sister hotel Selcuklu Evi as well as the restaurant there.

The breakfast buffet was average, a bit more choice would have been nice, cereal and yoghurt got a bit boring after four days. The roof terrace was good to sit out on in the evenings, and when we were there it seemed no other guests used it so it was virtually a private terrace for us. The staff were very friendly, and while they gently tried to sell their tours, they were by no means pushy, and were very happy to help us when we explained we'd like to explore the area ourselves by public transport.

Surban is located up quite a steep hill from the centre of town, easy to walk down but tiring to walk back in the evening. The Dolmus to Nevşehir can be stopped right outside the hotel. There are also a couple of good restaurants very close by (including Ziggy's Cafe).

Overall very good value for the 50 euros/night we paid.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I agree with the reviews that say this is a good hotel. After the very drab and downbeat experience of Konya, staying here was a delight.

Best experience was starting to doze off one evening - about 10.30 - and slowly becoming conscious someone was playing music. First reaction was "bloody neighbours" but then realisiing that actually it was quite good music; and then (I was half asleep!) that it was live music. I got out of bed and followed to where they were playing, and had a really good evening. So if you're in Urgup, check out the Kedi Bar (just behind the Surban hotel) as these guys play there regularly (say Hi to Can and Ulas for me) and are good. Nothing online so far but hopefully they will get their act together and post something we can all enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

This Hotel is centrally situated close to a really cute little village with good shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is designed to appear like each room is a cave, it's been done really nicely. Rooms are small but very comfortable and the bathroom is good - although the shower leaks badly and the doorway to the bathroom is so low that I cracked my head twice!
Breakfast is a buffet and is reasonably good.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and there was a bit of noise from the carpark, but other guests staying at the back of the hotel complained of a lot of noise coming from a bar which backs onto the hotel and stays open late each night.

  • Liked — Great style of rooms
  • Disliked — Low doorway to bathroom!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the Surban hotel and it definitely did not feel like a cheap hotel. We arrived early in the morning after a gruelling overnight bus ride from Istanbul and although we were not paying to be there until that night the management welcomed us in, showed us to our room (where we had the most revitalizing showers and a quick snooze) and then gave us breakfast before we headed off to do a tour for the day. The restaurant served delicious food, the staff were all very friendly and our room was clean and tastefully decorated. Other hotels in the area may be more extravagant, however the Surban is a very good cheap option with tonnes of atmosphere and character.

  • Liked — The roof top bar where you can enjoy a drink at sunset while listening to the call for prayer echo through the valleys
  • Disliked — My husband is quite tall and hit his head hard (twice) on the way into the bathroom which has a very low (for him) door frame. He learnt to duck after the second time.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Surban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surban

Address: Yunak Mah. No. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#23 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surban 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Surban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surban Hotel Urgup
Hotel Surban Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Surban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.