We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Memorable Lodging Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yunak Evleri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yunak Evleri to your Saves list
Yunak Evleri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yunak Mah. Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chapel Hill, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Service and Memorable Lodging Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and I had a suite accommodation for three nights, and highly recommend this hotel.

Other tourists that we met had advised us that their cave hotels were damp and dank. Yunak Evleri was not; the room was dry, spacious, and immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable, and the bath was perfect. The view from our third floor balcony was a highlight, and a wonderful and serene end to each day.

The call to prayer coming from the mosque in town echoes around the encircling cliffs, creating a magical and memorable experience.

Our point of contact at the hotel was Abdullah who provided superb service before and during our stay. He gave us spot-on advice and directions for our daily independent sightseeing.

The restaurant provides a limited nightly menu, but good food; and a satisfying breakfast buffet (they need to figure out how to get rid of the yellow jackets, though – a minor annoyance). The hotel offers an honor-system bar where you can take a bottle or glass of wine away and sign for it – it will be added to your bill. Nearby restaurants include Ziggy’s and Dimrit, both within easy walking distance, both well-regarded on Tripadvisor, and both highly recommended by us for both cuisine and ambience. Make reservations to secure the best tables.

Overall a great experience, we’d stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    81
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
136
217
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

From the moment we arrived we knew, from the warm greetings we were going to be pampered and we were. Everyone at Yunak Evleri bent over backwards to please. We had five cave rooms so at ground level and some about three flights up- there is no lift. The lower rooms were larger. All were charming, clean and well plumbed and equipped as any luxury hotel - plus the complete quietude at night was awesome! Outside autumn temperatures was pretty high in the day, but inside the rooms were more comfortable except for one of our rooms, which faced the sun. It really needed a fan at night. They eventually provided one which solved that. The breakfast buffets are served on a very sunny viewing deck, so bring a hat or try for a table with a market umbrella. The buffets were sumptuous and contained delicious Turk, Continental and American breakfast favorites. Besides the in-room mini bars there is an honor bar and courtyards for impromptu sundown drinks. Also there is a CD and book library, and small business center with free laptops with internet access. The Yunak Evleri Cave Hotel is about 500 meters uphill from the town center of Urgup. Along the way are a few restaurants and shops with lots more in the town center. Taxis are quick and inexpensive if you prefer not to up or down hill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was our first visit to Cappadocia. From the beginning when we enquired about accommodation via email and during our stay at Yunak Evleri, the hotel manager, Abdullah, had been providing a lot of helpful assistance attentively.
It was perfect from the moment we arrived, the atmosphere was relaxing, hotel amenities and service was fabulous. They upgraded us to a suite with sequestered courtyard which was amazingly beautiful. The room is tastefully decorated in a warm Ottoman style with luxurious furnishings. The bathroom is huge and gorgeous which features modern amenities that you have come to expect. Moreover, staff is extremely accommodating and always available to assist with your needs.

A stay at Yunak Evleri was an unforgettable and incomparable experience to us. With the historical cave room and the fascinating atmosphere, it is a hotel that you’ll always remember.
Definitely will go back and spend more days in there by early next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

From the minute I stepped foot into Yunak Evleri, I could sense something special about the hotel. Not just the unusual setting (rustic caves cut right out of the cliff face), but also the personalized services and attention to details. The manager, Abdullah Inal, made sure my stay at the boutique hotel was perfect, and it was indeed.

The best part about the rooms at Yunak Evleri is the view they offer. Most of the rooms overlook the adjacent cliffs. Each morning the sun rises from the cliff edges, greeting you in the warmest way possible. I particularly liked the traditional Ottoman design of the rooms - exquisite yet retaining a sense of authenticity.

I'll definitely be back with my family in future, and hope to share my experiences at Yunak Evleri with others. I'd written a piece on the hotel, read more about it here: http://www.wildjunket.com/2010/05/20/staying-in-an-unusual-boutique-cave-hotel/

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Yunak Evleri Hotel. My room although monastic was nicely appointed with comfortable beds and antique (or antique looking) furniture. They bathroom was large and with nicely appointed fixtures. No bathtub but a large all glass walk-in shower. One small detail - there was no bathrobe and when I asked reception about it I was told only guests in"suites" get bathrobes. This was really nickel and dime small thinking. Every guest should get a bathrobe at a place like this. Come on. The one drawback to the room is noise - there is no air conditioning so you need to open the window to get air. My room was one of a few in a courtyard area - everything is stone so people talking is amplified greatly and becomes intolerable. Especially with families that allow their children to run around screaming at 11PM. There is no excuse for the staff however, they should not be yelling to other staff members within earshot of the rooms. I was awakened twice by this. Breakfast is only okay - and again - charging for Cappaccino at breakfast at a luxury place is just petty and annoying. I didn't have dinner there so can't comment on food and cost. The site is fantastic and the town of Urgup is wonderful. I could walk down the hill into town for dinner by myself and the walk back wasn't that bad up a hill...worked off dinner. There is also a nice restaurant/shop in front of the hotel - Ziggy's which is great if you don't feel like walking into town. I would definitely stay here again but they need to amend their bathrobe policy and work out the sound issues.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Two years ago we stayed two nights in one of the cave rooms high up. This visit we stayed three nights in a room in the stone building in front of the main reception office. It was a spacious room with a very high vaulted ceiling, and a modern bathroom. I actually prefered this room over the cave room, as it was not so dark and did not require walking up a lot of steps, yet we still could enjoy the ambiance of this very unusual hotel. Two of our friends who were first assigned to a cave room, moved after one night to a room near us, so that they would have more light. Our other friends stayed in their cave room, but had many steps to climb, and they commented how dark it was inside -- the rooms are not very well illuminated. If the hotel is not full when you arrive, I suggest asking to see your room first to make sure that it suits you, and if not, then ask what else is available, as each room is different. We had dinner at Ziggy's Restaurant, only steps away from the hotel -- wonderful food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Yunak Evleri is a very special cave hotel and the staff was especially warm and welcoming, in particular the manager, Abdullah, who was very knowledgeable and attentive and had definitely made our trip there very enjoyable and fulfilling. He was able to answer all of our questions and he was very patient and helpful in accommodating our needs. Room was very unique, spacious and very clean. It is by far the most special rooms I have ever stayed in! We also had breakfast and dinner in the hotel rooftop restaurant - food and view were both amazing :) Staying in Yunak Evleri definitely made our trip in Cappadocia a very memorable and fun experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yunak Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunak Evleri

Address: Yunak Mah. Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
#13 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yunak Evleri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical Serenity : Yunak Evleri Cappadocia In Cappadocia's magical landscape of fairy chimneys, in the ancient village of Urgup, is a unique cave hotel carved into a mountain cliff, the Yunak Evleri. This hotel includes 7 cave houses, 40 rooms dating back to the 5th and 6th centuries and a 19th century Greek Mansion. Yunak Evleri is an inspiring hotel - an ideal base for exploring Cappadocia's elaborate underground cities, hidden cavernous churches and enchanting rock terrain. A labyrinth of narrow passageways and curved stone stairways lead to unique rooms tastefully decorated in warm traditional style. These exceptional cave houses are renovated and decorated with care and in their own distinct style with strictly respecting the local character. The decor is elegant and personalized with beautiful hand-crafted furnishings and antiques. All rooms have private patios overlooking the Turkish Mesa. With 40 rooms, Yunak Evleri is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer you privacy. Accommodations range from exotic luxury caves to multi-chamber deluxe suites, including family suites. One can find the signs of past times in each room which all have been decorated differently. The elegant decor is prominent wherever you lay your eyes on.Emperador marble floors, handcrafted lace curtains, antique chests and bedside tables, traditional bed covers, old brass bedsteads, old handcrafted writing desks , old kilim carpets and antique lighting have been chosen with care and with simplicity in mind. At the foot of the cliff stands the hotel's main lobby. Housed in a 19th century Greek mansion, the main building exudes a kind of sophisticated charm. Within the stone building, cozy meeting rooms provide a soothing atmosphere for lounging in the evening. Alongside a room with computer and wireless Internet connection, the music room has a wide variety of CDs you can borrow and the TV room is decked out in plush Turkish cushions with a view of the surrounding cliffs. There is a DVD room on the second floor decorated with local handmade pottery accessories, candles, and a lovely furnace. Evenings are characterized by sunset gatherings on soft upholstered Turkish pillows warmed by an outdoor fireplace. Candlelight dining is offered on the adjacent rooftop terrace. We serve local homemade foods for dinner and an open-buffet breakfast. Yunak Evleri opened its doors to its guests in 2000 and since then has hosted around 200,000 travellers from all regions of the world. Listed in various prominent guidebooks' top hotels lists, Yunak Evleri has created a peaceful balance between modern today and traditional past. With its convenient location in the center of Urgup, Yunak Evleri is a perfect base for daily excursions within Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Yunak Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunak Evleri Urgup
Yunak Evleri Hotel Urgup
Yunak Evleri Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yunak Evleri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.