We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kayadam Cave Hotel -- Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayadam Cave Hotel

Kayadam Cave Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urgup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kayadam Cave Hotel
Esbelli Sok. No:6 Urgup Merkez, Urgup, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 56 hotels in Urgup
san francisco, ca
1 review
“The Kayadam Cave Hotel -- Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I stayed here with a friend in a double cave room and it was awesome. The room was super clean. The friendly staff was very helpful. I forgot to bring a converter for my camera battery charger, and within seconds one materialized. (Thanks, Hussein!) The breakfast is great, complete with yogurt, granola, cereals and the usual turkish breakfast with bread, cheese, tomatoes and olives. They also make their own fruit jams -- which were all very tasty! Thanks Kayadam for your hospitality and your help in making my trip to Cappaddoccia such a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Very nice hotel, plus the excitement of living in a cave. Delightful and caring owners, pleasant staff. Best beds I have ever sampled, anywhere, at any price. Bathrooms are small but work very well, very good breakfast on a nice terrace. Have recommended the hotel to several friends.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

I'm starting to think every hotelier in Turkey is incredibly helpful and friendly and these people were no exception! All booking was completed by email and, in addition, they booked our airport shuttle from Kayseri to Urgup too. Also, when we arrived at 10pm without having organised a trip for the next day they booked a tour around the area for us - now that's what I call service!

The hotel, as you would guess from its name, is hollowed out of the rock - the rooms are therefore quite dark but loaded with character. Ours had beautiful carvings and patterns in the rock and was tastefully decorated. The shower was great too (a must when it's very hot!).

Breakfast was superb - home made jams, meat, cheese, cereal etc - and we ate it on the terrace surrounded by gorgeous rose bushes and flowers in pots. However, the view wasn't great as it looked out over a plain and a low rise hotel had been built a little distance in front giving a bit of an ugly roof view. Whenever we came back to the hotel we were greeted with tea and little biscuits.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk downhill to Urgup itself where there are restaurants, shops etc - maybe 15 minutes on the way back!

  • Liked — The friendliness (and the cute fluffy puppy!)
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We (2 adults + 2 children) stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
This cave hotel was beautifully restored. Our room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was superb as well.
The owner was very friendly and most of all the young man working there, "Sajid" was a pleasure to talk to to, his suggestions on where to go and what to see really made our trip a success.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

A small hotel in a beautifully restored old cave dwelling. Furnished with antiques and such a wonderfully cool room, clean bathroom, so comfortable. Fantastic views at breakfast on the terrace overlooking over the magnificent eroded geology of Cappadocia. Friendly owners/staff. Lovely breakfast - fresh fruit, honey, local cheeses, salads and jams. Nothing too much trouble to suit your schedule, whether arriving late, leaving early or taking the sunrise balloon trip and returning for breakfast at 10 a.m. My only wish was that the hotel was closer to the town for dinner - but if so it wouldnt have been so quiet, and we took the 6 lira ($4) taxi to the town and back, not much really!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2005

Another couple, my husband and I stayed at the small Kayadem Cave Hotel for two nights in June, 2005. Urgup is in the Cappadocia region of Turkey, an area if you are visiting Turkey is not to be missed. I rated this hotel a 4 because of the experience of staying in a hotel that is in a cave. The room was clean and simply furnished. The Kayadem is situated above the small town of Urgup and within walking distamce of the town center. It is, however, uphill all the way back to the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived after a ten hour drive from Antalya, they gave us our keys, told us to relax and not worry about checking in until later in the evening which we really appreciated. While we were in Urgup we took a sunrise hot air balloon ride over the region (expensive, but not to be missed), a private tour of the underground cities of Cappadocia, and a tour of some of the other sites in the area. We booked our tour and the Kayadem Hotel through Rock Valley Tourism and Travel Agency. Atacan, the owner of the travel agency was extremely helpful prior to leaving on our trip and after our arrival. His tours were excellent and the tour guides were knowledgeable and personable. We would stay at this hotel again and use this agency again if we returned to Cappadocia.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kayadam Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayadam Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Sok. No:6 Urgup Merkez, Urgup, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 hotels in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the cliff, Kayadam Cave Hotel overlooks an enchanting landscape famous for its “fairy chimneys.” These surprising rock piles with a hat-like rock on the top of each one make you think that you are looking at a lunar landscape. All six rooms are carved into the rock and date back to 7th Century AD. We recently restored to make it a hotel, but early populations used the place as a house and as a chapel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kayadam Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayadam Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kayadam Cave Hotel to your Saves list