We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cappadocia's Sleepy Hollow: A Little Piece of Sanctuary"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elkep Evi Cave Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elkep Evi Cave Houses to your Saves list
Elkep Evi Cave Houses
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Ottawa, On
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cappadocia's Sleepy Hollow: A Little Piece of Sanctuary"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The Elkep Evi Cave Hotel is truly an underrated jewel. It's likely overlooked by Cappadocia's more touristy and accessible hotels, and for this, we were thankful. When my friend and I arrived for our five-day visit, we knew instantly that we had tumbled onto something special. Our room, a simple, spacious "sleepy hollow", is just what the doctor ordered: subtle but effective decor, warm turkish patterns, plush cushions on the terrace to enjoy your locally-made wine (a stone's throw from the hotel), and an absolutely gorgeous view. The staff in their own right could make any hotel feel welcoming; their early morning smiles and top-notch professionalism and knowledge of the area make your stay effortless and worry-free.

Highlights:
The stereo and variety of pre-made CD's were a definite touch, as was the terrace's splendid couches overlooking the gorgeous view. Laptops were provided on-site to access the Internet, and staff made easy access to local transporation, tours and sites. A hearty breakfast was always a treat, replete with omelettes and a wide array of fruits and spreads served with a gorgeous view on the hotel's rooftop terrace. Breathtaking! Communal courtyards with lounging chairs and swings made for a nice touch, and if you're craving a fire to cozy up to with friends both new and old, the staff have thought of this too. If you're feeling a little bit adventurous, one can venture onto the top of the hotel itself and take in a panaromic, 360 degree look of Urgup.

Drawbacks:
If you're a pillow-topped, soft-bed lover like me, you might struggle with the mattresses here. I found them quite hard and unforgiving. Folks who aren't fond of regular hikes into the downtown will be challenged as the hotel is a hearty hike away (about 20minutes or so). However, if you're like us, you'll begin looking forward to them as the deep descent into the village really opens you up to the local village life and its rusticity. Check in at the desk about a taxi, however, and you'll get where you need to go in a zip. You can have your choice between a jacuzzi or shower, but unfortunately, the jacuzzi's

Summary:
In all, if you're going to hit the Cappadocia region in Turkey, then hands-down, this is the place to go. It's highly unlikely that this gem of a place will remain a secret for long!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
72
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

If you're going to explore the caves, fairy chimneys and all-round bizarre scenery that makes Cappadocia so amazing, this place really felt like an integral part of the experience. The room really was a cave, carved out of the cliff, but a luxury cave with all mod cons - including a mini-bar! A lovely outside garden, and a breakfast terrace overlooking the town, add to the places charms. The hotel manager was really friendly and helpful, booking us tours, airport transfers and generally giving advice on the best things to do and see. The hotel is on the outstkirts of Urgup, a sleepy little town but with enough nice places to eat and drink for a few days' stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is a picture perfect hotel..the cave rooms had the beds caved in withing the walls..and the perfect lighting made it fantastic stay...
Loved the idea of having antique raidos at the open sitting areas..which did actually play traditional music from some old radio station in Istanbul...Not to forget the parrot at the reception area who greeted you in English but even poked if someone tried to be naughty :)

Ms Ferda & Ali are really nice people..who mad eour stay even more comfortable...
The next time we travel, would ensure that its for more than a week...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This quaint cave hotel lived up to its expectations. Nice view, well located, clean and comfortable room and bathroom. No TV (hey you're in a cave), but the opportunity to sit outside your room, relax on a private patio and take in the sights was well worth it. Breakfast was quite good with excellent service, especially enjoyable when the weather was nice enough to eat outdors.
Two major recommendations: book a package through Argeus Travel; it included airfare from Istanbul to Kayceri with local transfers to the hotel, a great 2 day tour of Capadocchia with expert guide and superb driver, hotel, lunches, for not much more than you'll spend on airfare alone.
The other is do not miss the unique opportunity to go hot air ballooning early in the morning with Kappadochya Balloons. A great experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I have stayed at Elkep Evi Cave Hotel twice now. The first time was in 2007, my first time to Turkey with my boyfriend who is Turkish. We stayed at the cave hotel for a couple of days and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel is classy, authentic, interesting, and beautiful! The employees are very professional and friendly. We decided to stay at Elkep Evi again on my second trip to Turkey, this past summer of 2009. We brought one of our friends with from the states and wanted to share the hotel experience with him. Once again, our stay was delightful. We actually had found out some bad family news while we were on vacation there and the staff was so helpful and caring, letting us use their computer, telephone, etc. They were so caring and really helpful in a time of need. Elkep Evi is by far my favorite hotel in all of Turkey...and I have stayed in a lot in the time I have traveled around the country. Make sure you get up in the morning for the outdoor breakfast. ABSOLUTELY beautiful. Great food and amazing scenery! Enjoy your stay at Elkep Evi...I know I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed here for approx 4 nights and it was everything we hoped it would be. Beautiful and clean, very helpful reception and excellent Breakfast. We had one meal in the evening which was their standard meal they do not appear to have a la carte and we had to order it in the morning, it was cold and very over priced, we got them to heat it. But compared to the food we had experienced in Turkey prior to this it was below average, if they could alter this then i would not mention one fault with the hotel. Loved the bathroom and the little extras like the cds supplied in your room for some music, this was not available at any other accommodation we stayed in. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I work in hospotality in the UAE and come across very large and nearly all the very luxurious hotels. When I travel with my family we want something different, cosy, friendly, quality but not bras or over the top. We certainly found here and we all loved it! In fact there were times when the kids did not even want to leave to go on the amazing tours the hotel had arranged for us like horese riding, ballooning etc. With 21 rooms its one of the larger cave hotels but certainly did not feel crowded and the terrace for breakfast and dinner was a sheer delight with some great views. If I had to give any negative feddback it would be the portions on food were small. However, everything else just made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkep Evi Cave Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkep Evi Cave Houses

Address: Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Urgup
#20 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkep Evi Cave Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent Cave hotel in urgups Cavern hill that offers a fabulous atmosphere and a perfectly exotic setting. The bonus here is larger and airier cave rooms, each with a private terrace carved into the nooks of the cliff, and gorgeous view over the cappadocian dreamscape. The wealth of architectural detail and invention draw one in. One ends up falling quite in love with this cave suites hotel. We also have new Hamam (turkish bath) Cave suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Elkep Evi Cave Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Hotel Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Elkep Evi Cave Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkep Evi Cave Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.