We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Esbelli Mah. Dolay-1 Sk. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
rick956
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding Property -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I would highly recommend this property if you are going to the Cappadocia area. Outstanding service, excellant property everything about it was lovely. Great recommendations for dinner... nothing negative about it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
188
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, N.Y.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at Esbelli Evi for three nights in August 2010 — the first two nights in the Hillside Suite, and the last in a standard room. My husband and I agreed that it was one of the most enjoyable hotel stays we've had anywhere in the world.

The rooms: The Hillside Suite was sprawling yet cozy, with three rooms (bedroom, kitchen/sitting room, bathroom) spread over three floors, each separated by a short flight of stairs. The suite came equipped with a laptop (with free, reliable Wi-Fi), slippers, A/C, TV and a fridge stocked with bottled water (free), a variety of beer and soft drinks (paid on the honor system), and chilled beer mugs in the freezer. The bathroom was modern, spacious and sparkling clean.

The suite also had a private outdoor patio with table and chairs, as well as two separate entrances — one from the street and one inside the resort — which we found really convenient (we used the street-level entrance most often).

If we had any criticism at all of the room, it would be the firmness of the mattress, but this appears to be pretty standard for Turkish hotels. In any case, the bed is piled with a cushy duvet and an extra blanket, so you can just sleep on the duvet.

The standard room we had for the third night (we had originally planned to stay only two nights, but extended our stay) was also spacious and clean, with a king-size bed and an additional twin bed in a separate area of the room. Overall, however, it couldn't really compare with the suite. And it was also a bit noisy, since it was located in a corridor of the resort, next to utility rooms that were accessed often by hotel staff. Still, for the price of the accommodations here, the value is incredible.

The hotel: Excellent all-around. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, and the ambience of the resort was peaceful, with delicate piano music often tinkling throughout. An extensive breakfast buffet is served every morning; the spread includes fresh fruits, juice (the juice is DELICIOUS!), jams, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, olives, pastries, eggs-to-order, coffee and tea — in short, everything. In the pantry, there's an abundant supply of bottled water, fruit and snacks free of charge, plus beer, soft drinks, liquor and wine, to which you can help yourself on the honor system. And, finally, another boon: washing machines available for guests (US$5 per load).

The staff: Extraordinary. Suha, the owner of Esbelli Evi, should give a course on hospitality. He gave us excellent advice about what to do and see in Cappadocia (and the rest of Turkey), and arranged our activities and transport for us. (If you do a hot-air balloon tour — and you should! — go with Butterfly Balloons.) When my husband came down with an upset stomach, Suha immediately dispatched one of his staff members to the pharmacy in town for medication, and had another staff member cook a stomach-calming meal. But aside from all that, Suha was also just a really cool and mellow guy, an ever-interesting person to sit and chat with. All the staff members here are friendly and kind, and make you feel at home. There's a real family-like vibe among them.

The neighborhood: The hotel is a 10-minute walk from the center of Urgup, and less than 5 minutes from Ziggy Cafe, which you should try for dinner. For getting around in the area, you could join tours, hire a car and driver, or just rent your own car or moped. When we went to the Goreme Open-Air Museum, Suha kindly had one of his staff members drop us off. (From Goreme, you can walk to the museum.) There's also a supercheap bus between Goreme and Urgup; the last one leaves Goreme at 7p, so after that you have to take a cab, which is a lot more expensive.

Overall, we loved Esbelli Evi and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Esbelli Evi is such a special and relaxing place it feels hard to describe it. We spent just 3 nights and we regretted not having booked longer. Suha, the Owner, is an incredibly generous, discreet, supportive and sensitive host, who does his utmost to pamper his guests and to make their stay a memorable one. The rooms are all well-equipped, spacious and beautiful, confy and clean. The property itself is amazing!! The view from the terrace is awesome and the service... well, the service is perfect! If you like classical or jazz music you'll love this place.
The only problem was that we spent time at Esbelli Evi at the very beginning of our trip in Turkey and Esbelli Evi became our benchmark. So, any other hotel/ resort/inn coming after it was obviously never good enough!
Wonderful Esbelli Evi, unbeatable and unique...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Esbelli for four nights while taking day trips through Cappadocia.The hotel is amazing. A compound of interconnected buildings, terraces and courtyards. One of the best "hotels" I have ever been in during my life of world travels. It feels more like your own home - very intimate. You will not find better service, food, accommodations, friendly staff, etc., etc., etc. anywhere on this planet. The property is so tranquil you may not want to leave.

C & A from Florida

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

early morning balooning, trekking tours and exquisite culinary experiences. Esbelli House with its spacious cave rooms, all individually decorated with antiques hand picked by the gracious owner, Suha over the years feels more like an old mansion than a hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We arrived at the hotel from Istanbul. The tranquility of the area was such a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of Istanbul. From the minute we were greeted at the door, we knew this was a special place. Suha, the owner, met us and personally showed us around the grounds. He showed us 2 rooms in the category we reserved and gave us a choice as to which one we wanted. The room had all of the amenities we needed. Everything was well thought out, right down to the powerbar that could be used for recharging North American electronics. Breakfast, including fresh orange juice and a variety of freshly made egg dishes was a great way to begin our full days of activities. Suha's recommendations for hot air balloon rides and guided tours were fantastic. There were excellent restaurants within a short walk (Ziggy's Cafe and Dimrit). We never felt nervous about walking back to the hotel late at night. The hotel was magical for our 3 night stay. On the morning of our departure, Suha was at the main door to say goodbye....very classy! We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Suha is an incredible host who cares deeply about his hotel and his environs. He has filled Esbelli Evi with beautiful artwork and landscaping, homey Turkish furnishing and true serenity. My husband, two teenaged children and I just stayed in the fantasy cave for three nights and were sad to leave. It's the only hotel I've stayed at where I can honestly say the hotel is even nicer than the pictures. (Some hotels barely look like the pictures on their website.) I can't think of one weak point of Esbelli Evi. Thank you Suha for your generous hospitality. Two different groups of friends recommended your hotel to us and we will enthusiastically recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay-1 Sk. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine small inn of comfortable cave rooms hewn from the golden stone, with beautiful views of the Cappadocian landscape, and the warmest welcome you'll receive in Turkey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esbelli Evi Urgup
Esbelli Evi Hotel Urgup
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.