We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urgup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Save
You added Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Urgup
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Labyrinth Suite at Esbelli Evi during a 2 week vacation in Greece and Turkey that featured many great hotels. Although it was not the fanciest or the most expensive (by a long shot), Esbelli Evi stood out for its comfort, character, and service. The staff made the sitting room into an extra bedroom for one of my daughters by setting up not just a cot, but a full bed. The suite was very spacious and beautifully appointed with comfortable beds, refreshments, satellite TV, wireless internet, and a loverly terrace with a view. We only had one breakfast there, but it was superb with delicious fresh juice and a large variety of eggs to order. Suha and the other staff were extremely accommodating and arranged interesting tours for us. Unfortunately our balloon flight was cancelled due to rare weather issues, but going back to sleep for a few hours was almost as entertaining and a lot cheaper. Ziggy's restaurant down the road was excellent for dinner too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
183
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yamba, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Staying at Esbelli Evi was a dream come true. The hotel is impeccably and tastefully put together by owner Suha Ersoz who was the first to purchase and lovingly restore cave ruins and turn them into a boutique hotel for us all to enjoy the experience of staying in the incredible caves of Urgup, Cappadocia.

The hotel is set in a ridge overlooking the town and has magnificent views from the terrace overlooking the town and valley below. It's an oasis of peace and tranquility after a long day of sightseeing. We were warmly welcomed after ringing the front door bell and shown around the hotel.

There was the beautiful guest lounge/library with internet and Turkish-style lounges around the walls, a piano and dark polished wood floors, carpets and creamy Turkish lace curtains. The carved stone barrel ceilings were impressive and there were desks and coffee tables and books to enjoy. Soft classical or jazz music played around the public areas adding to the restful ambiance.

There is a free drinks room with fridges stocked with cans and bottles of water and soft drinks and beers, free tea and coffee and fruit all beautifully laid out to help yourself to. We were shown the breakfast room and terrace where our breakfast would be served the next day. It was one of the best breakfasts we'd had in Europe: fresh fruit, cereals, Turkish offerings, pastries, the best coffee I've had since Italy and a menu of eggs dishes to order. Delicious!

We were taken down to our cave room via stone steps with iron railings. There was a shared stone terrace outside with terracotta pots and plants and
inside a big cast iron bed and lamps, white crisp luxury linens, and a beautiful bathroom with marble and wood vanity and a sparkling hot clean shower!
Wooden carved trunks, desk and window were covered in simple Turkish linens woven with small beads and white terry toweling slippers embroidered with "Esbelli Evi" and above us beautiful creamy stone with caramel streaks running through it. With the
lamps on, it glowed warmly. Heaven!

Suha has extensive knowledge of the area and other areas of Turkey and personally sits down with guests at breakfast to help with recommendations and map out itineraries for those who would like some recommendations. He also recommends the best restaurants and our dinner at Ziggy's was fabulous in a stunning building.

Esbelli Evi was a magical experience in an amazing place thanks to Suha and his staff. I couldn't recommend it more highly and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I miss this place. Esbelli Evi is an extraordinary hotel in an extraordinary place.

If there's any hotel in the world that epitomizes the place where it is situated, it has to be Esbelli Evi, with its cavernous rooms. Little compromise was made to the original architecture and structure of the area, not visually anyway. This made the entire complex a wondrous maze to explore- or in our case, get lost in. One might think that bunking in a cave hotel would spell no-frills accommodation and basic amenities but the Esbelli Evi amazes and defies by marrying primitive construction with modern sensibilities. Rocks and stones have never looked this good. With its stylish decor, gourmet breakfast, design books tucked away in hidden corners and cool music in the background, the Esbelli Evi is both old and new, and romantic simply by blending into the enchanting landscape that is Cappadocia and by providing modern day luxuries and comfort all in the same space.

I wish I could fly back for a night! Some tips: While I was there slightly over 2 years ago, if most things have remained the same, I would suggest renting a car to get around. The map which you will be provided with will look extremely primitive and alarmingly simple. But really, a few main roads and highways are all you need to know to get around. And that we did, pretty far too, without a driver or a guide. It's easy! We rented from a shop in Urgurp, the town which Esbelli Evi is at. We also tried local wine, from a winery just down the road from Esbelli. We enjoyed our "fancy" dinner at Urgurp's fanciest restaurant - can't remember the name now, as well as a nice hot "soup" in a stone bowl at another restaurant. Gosh, my memory fails me but a quick search will get you the names, I'm sure.

I suppose the fact that I remember my stay at the Esbelli fondly should speak volumes. It's both the Esbelli and the fascinating destination that truly made my entire experience in Cappadocia memorable.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We took an overnight trip from Istanbul ariving in the early morning (arrival 8:55 A.M) and left the next morning at 9:40 A.M. for the return to Istanbul. During that 24 hour period we experienced the wonderful and unique landscape that you should certainly see (we felt that the allocation of time was perfect). Our guide and airport transfers were handled by Argeus Tourism (www.argeus.com.tr). Cost $330.00 including driver and guide They handled all of our arrangements in a very professional manner and the guide and driver were excellent......,

Our accommodation at the hotel (Room 212) included a huge bathroom with 2 shower heads.....excellent counter space. Lighting was adequate. In addition we had a dinette/kitchette. The bedroom was 18 x 18 with a king sized bed and two night stands....an armoire and closet plus a small dressing table.

In addition we had a den/living room that was about 15x12 with a t.v., couch, book shelves, table, free laptop and in room safe

The public area of the hotel had soft drinks and water etc. (no charge).

The staff were most gracious and the owner went out of his way to assure our comfort.

This is a cave hotel so don't expect a Four Season.....be prepared for a unique experience in a beautiful setting with a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My friend and I opted for a two-bedroom suite with living room and kitchen and our own terrace overlooking the town. It was one of the best places I've stayed in a lifetime of traveling. Breakfast on the upper terrace was great. A couple of excellent restaurants nearby and walking into town for an evening meal was no problem even for this 80-year-old. Suha is a first-class, hands-on manager who makes sure that everything runs smoothly. He is excellent on advise for places to visit and any other issues.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Esbelli Evi certainly does not need another excellent review. So, I will be brief. The excellent reviews are true. Read them. Great hotel, beautiful, wonderful staff, and Suha Ersoz will help make your stay in Cappadocia special.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We chose Esbelli Evi as our cave hotel when we were in Cappadocia. We got upgraded to a suite. This hotel was just amazing. The suite includes a beautifully appointed room, a small kitchen, a gorgeous bathroom and a huge toilet. Not to mentioned a private courtyard. The cave detailing was very impressive. The personal service by everyone who work there including the owner Suha was just so personal. We even got the car hire done by them. I would go there again. For dinner, just walk down to Ziggy's, one of the best meal we had in Turkey.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urgup
#4 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine small inn of comfortable cave rooms hewn from the golden stone, with beautiful views of the Cappadocian landscape, and the warmest welcome you'll receive in Turkey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Esbelli Evi Urgup
Esbelli Evi Hotel Urgup
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.