We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Esbelli Mah. Dolay-1 Sk. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Owner Suha designed and built this hotel starting with the cliff caves and building outward. Our room had 2 bedrooms connected by a passage with a skylight. Our windows opened to view roses, geraniums, and petunias thriving in their planters in late October. Manager Ramazan took care of our car rental and any possible need we had. They will arrange any kind of tour, rental, or hot air balloon ride. At their fantastic Turkish breakfast you have choice of 12 kinds of individually cooked omelets. Rooms are decorated with old Turkish crafts or architectural finds, and curtains are made from traditional fabrics. There are various rooms for sitting, internet, a piano, and outdoor terraces looking over the valley. Urgup and nearby towns are great for shopping and hiking. They don't have room service as such, but if you wanted a drink or a snack, I'm sure it would be provided. You will be extremely well taken care of, and all the travelers we met there were thrilled with the hotel. Absolutely worth the rate.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
107
188
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

There is not much I can add to previous reviews, except to say I agree with all the superlatives others have written about Esbelli.

We stayed two nights in this troglodyte hotel in mid-November 2008. It is hard to believe that a “cave” could be so comfortable – so light and bright and warm. Warm is the best adjective to describe the hotel’s owner, as well. Suha is a delightful host.

Urgup is a good hub for seeing the sights of Cappadocia, and Esbelli Evi is a perfect base from which to launch the day’s sightseeing (with a hearty breakfast on the terrace) and to return to in the evening (for a soak in the tub and a libation in the comfortable sitting room).

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There was nothing to not like
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stayed in 4 different hotels in Istanbul, Cappadocia and Sirince, near Ephesus and this one was hands down the best and the coolest place.

This may be difficult, but imagine lying in a cave, because you are, under a high arched ceiling, in a king size bed (not two twin beds pushed together) with clean crisp linens and comfy warm blanket over you and watching satellite tv on a flat screen, or listening to music (there's a cd player), all after, having taken a long hot shower with the most amazing water pressure pouring down on you from two rain shower heads above, in a bathroom the size of a typical hotel room. This is only the room.

The hotel is simply awesome. The breakfast with made to order eggs was my favorite in all of Turkey. The lounge area where we mingled with other travellers was warm, comfy and cozy. The staff, lead by Ramazan and Nil, are extremely helpful (especially when they download your photos to a CD or DVD for you w/o having been asked to) and knowledgeable. We booked directly with them online and they have been prompt and responsive and so easy to deal with.

Their restaurant recommendations were great, except for the Old Greek Inn in Mustafapasha. I found it to be overpriced and the food so so. Dim Rit, however, was fabulous, especially their pides and their chicken rice soup. Also, in downtown Urgup, there's a clean and great local place called Sofra Restaurant which has very tasty food (try the chicken cutlet and the chicken on some hot plate) for cheap. The owner, Volcan, speaks English well.

This is getting too long but what can I say, I love this place so much that I actually missed it even when I was on a hot air balloon ride!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!!
  • Disliked — NOTHING!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

There is a place in Urgup, Cappadocia, Turkey that reflects the best in hotels. This is a cave hotel with an unpretentious exterior, but once you enter, wow! The staff is excellent. They are helpful, speak great English, patient, & accommodating. The owner is laidback, charming, & also very helpful. He is also very visible.

This hotel is by far the best place I stayed in all of Turkey that I visited, including Istanbul, Bergama, Kusadasi, Pammukale & Bodrum. The breakfast was well presented, the room large, comfortable, & quiet & the bathroom supplied amply, which is not all that common in Turkey.

If you are going to Cappadocia, this is the place to stay. I would rate it excellent in all areas. Oh, by the way, there are 4 free computers to use

  • Liked — Great bedroom room, bathroom, & breakfasts. Quiet & close to restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavieng,PNG
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We arrived on an early flight from Izmir and were warmly welcomed by the staff and offered a complimentary breakfast on the terrace as well as our choice of room. Although this was one of the more expensive of our accommodation choices in Turkey it was by far the best value. The rooms etc were excellent but it was the exceptional service and attention to detail that most impressed us. We would not even think of staying anywhere else if we were in the area again. Brilliant!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — the long walk up the hill from Urgup town centre
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

You won't be disappointed. I can't add much to all of the previous reviews, except to say that the pictures don't do it justice.

  • Liked — customer service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

What more can we say about this cave hotel that has not already been mentioned?
Excellent location ,even the walk uphill from town is great exercise. The staff are quietly attentive, looking after your every need. Very comfortable brass beds, absolutely fresh, fluffy and clean linen every day. Dove soap and shampoo in bathroom. Wonderful views, magnificent food. Stunning breakfasts. Free Internet access from our room. Clothes washing facilities, they will do or you can do your own, we even found they had folded it when it was dry.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay-1 Sk. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine small inn of comfortable cave rooms hewn from the golden stone, with beautiful views of the Cappadocian landscape, and the warmest welcome you'll receive in Turkey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esbelli Evi Urgup
Esbelli Evi Hotel Urgup
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.