We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elvan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elvan to your Saves list
Hotel Elvan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Istiklal Cad. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:11 Urgup Merkez, Urgup, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Some friends and I stayed at Hotel Elvan during Eid holidays. We booked last minute and didn't really look around; we were pleasantly surprised. The location is great, central to the sites. The rooms were very basic but also very clean. It's a totally no frills place where Turkish tourists stay. Don't expect anything fancy or modern. The bathroom was typical for southern Turkey, the wooden door a bit rotted from the shower water but it was all clean. Breakfast was also typical for Turkey (not my favourite food) and totally edible. The owners and staff were very friendly and responsive. It was cold during our stay and we did have heat. I don't think they had AC in the rooms though, so you might want to consider that if you're going in summer. They booked our balloon ride and it was cheaper than if we had booked ourselves (we looked). Parking was tight but we managed.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel is ideally located in the earth of Historical Urgup that is to say in the cave zone of the Town; at walking distance to Urgup downtown with bars and restaurants; possibility to park the car in front of the hotel; Hotel's owners are very welcoming and friendly. Hotel rooms are simple but clean, new and with all comfort (Fridge, TV). Some rooms have a very nice view on dowtown Urgup. Room tariff is very competitive with what can be found in other towns such as Goreme, Uchisar etc.. and for sure, if you have a car, Urgup is a good base to discover Cappadocia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

For this price, you can´t get much better. The staff is the nicest possible, breakfast is good, localization is excellent. The only downside are the rooms, that had no fan or air-con in summertime, what made nights really, really hot. Apart from that, they are clean and comfortable. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Härnösand, Sverige
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Elvan Hotel is a small but cozy hotel,rooms are clean and nice and so are the bathroom.
Breakfast is ok.Personnel and owners are very serviceminded and friendly.One thing on the downside is that a minaret is quite close and very loud, so the 05.00 a clock prayer proclamation can be disturbing to some people, but for me it wasnt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Elvan Hotel in Urgup, Nevsehir Province, Turkey. The hotel staff was wonderfully kind to us. The hotel was very clean, reasonably priced, very centrally located, and was just what we needed. Our only challenge was having the shower splash all over the toilet seat. However, there was plenty of hot water, and lots of pressure, so we didn't mind. We very much appreciated the kindness of the hotel staff and management!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was the third time that I stayed in Elvan Hotel.In my all moments at hotel was perfect because firstly hotel is very clean and owner&employees are very helpful,kindly.Hotel's location is perfect in centre of Ürgüp.The first time that I had been there hotel had heating problem in winter but they solved this problem last time I was.Moreover,I send an email before 5 days then they organized all my travelling in Capadocia which include shuttle transfer,three days daily tour and balloon tour(baloon tour was expensive but it was worth it was unbelievable).Thank a lot to HOTEL ELVAN:))))

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

If you like stylish, modern hotels with fast wifi then Elvan is not for you.

If you prefer to stay in hotels that may be basic, but are clean and filled with character, then this may well be the hotel for you.

I see quite a few mixed reviews over the past few months for this little family run gem, and I can understand where some guests come from as it is basic and rooms are filled with old-style mismatched furniture (and obviously not in an attempt at shabby chic), but I absolutely loved my time at the Elvan.

My friends and I stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. At the time the owners were going away and their parents and teenaged son were looking after the hotel in their absence. I was very unwell at the time with a stomach bug and I was definitely made to feel like part of the family. They would bring tea and food to my room and check up on me while my friends were out. They even sent the teenage son to the shops to pick up a few bits and pieces for me as I was too ill. It is this type of customer service that is above and beyond anything I could ever expect.

Breakfast was simple, but served with a smile. They also recommended an excellent hot air balloon company (Atmosfer) and restaurants in their area.

Urgup is a sleepy town in comparison to Goreme, but if you decide to stay there I would definitely recommend the Elvan.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elvan

Address: Istiklal Cad. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:11 Urgup Merkez, Urgup, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elvan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anadolu’nun Tarih ve doğal güzelliklerini iç içe bünyesinde barındıran ve büyüleyici görüntüsüyle “Güzel atlar ülkesi” diye adlandırılan, Kapadokya’nın önemli bir merkezi olan Ürgüp de yer almaktadır.Hotel Elvan yaklaşık 200 yıl önce Kapadokya'nın doğal taşı ile Rumlar tarafından inşa edilmiştir. Şu anda Tarihi dokusu bozulmadan restore edilerek, bugünkü modern görüntüsüyle, sevimli bir konaklama tesisidir.Hotel Elvan’da açık Terasımız, kayadan oyma şömineli şarap odamız ve misafirlerimiz için 20 odamız bulunmaktadır. Odalarımız yöresel mimarinin özelliği olan kemer tavan biçimindedir. Odalarımızda Telefon, Saç Kurutma Makinesi, Merkezi Isıtma, Uydu Tv, ve Wi-Fi sistemi bulunmaktadır. Ayrıca odalarımızda duş-Wc ve devamlı sıcak su vardır.Hotel Elvan, konum itibariyle Ürgüp şehir merkezindeki alışveriş noktalarına, müzelere, restoranlara ve cafelere yürüyüş mesafesindedir. Sakin, temiz odalarıyla, nefis kahvaltısıyla, unutulamayacak bir Kapadokya tatili için siz konuklarımızın hizmetindedir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Elvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elvan Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elvan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.