We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Cappa Cave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monte Cappa Cave House to your Saves list
Monte Cappa Cave House
Karlik Koyu, No:174, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Urgup B&B and Inns
phuket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This Hotel is the most charming hotel I have ever experienced ! The room are big, well decorated, it smell nice, it's clean, It's in the cave and it is TOO comfortable which made me wake up always late for my excursion in the morning. The breakfast is turkish style and serve with NUTELLAAAAAA everything was homemade and sooooo yummy. The location is a little bit off town but it is so local and nice. The hotel made me feel very welcome and made me feel like I was at home. The owner and the staff of the hotel offer us a nice drink and they sat with us to get to know each other as he was trying to figure out how to help us and he really help us so much. He is also very funny. He booked me the hot air balloon and I enjoy so much the compagny he has choose for us. He also advice us a lot of what to visit and see. One night we didn't know what to do and he asked us if we wanted to see a turkish night show and he took his car and bring us there kindly. At the end of our stay we become friend and we kept in touch. I will definitely come back to this lovely place and hotel. Have a look on the picture I posted. We have slept in 2 different room as we wanted to discover all the cave room :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Candiac
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I definitely recommend this location if you are looking for a typical authentic experience. Located in a lovely little village, it permits you to get a feel for the Capadocia life. Away from the crowds, you can experience the relaxing, peaceful typical village life. The rooms are beautiful and all newly renovated. You can experience caves with a high level of comfort and at a really good price. A real good value! The hospitality of the owner is really good and he is helpful in organizing activities. Again I strongly recommend even if you need to travel into the country side to get to this remote location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our room was beautiful—a 17th-century cave fermentation room—with the best shower ever. What could beat a huge cave shower, really? Tarkan, the owner, is incredibly hospitable; he came and fetched us from the otogar in Urgup and took us back, as we didn't have our own car and didn't realize the that property is in a lovely little village 12k out of Urgup. (This is clear from the map, but we forget to check these things sometimes.) It's very peaceful, the terrace has a nice view, and the food is yummy (try the homemade manti!).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at Monte Cappa Cave House in September 2012 and it is definitely a place to stay when you are in Cappadocia. The Hotel is located in a quiet village and it was very peaceful sitting on the house terrace which has a nice panaromic view of the mountains. The room was clean and comfortable and the service was outstanding. The owner Mr. Tarkan was very friendly and arranged everything we wanted to do. The food was home-made and it was fantastic. The Hotel is 14 km from Urgup but still it is easy to enjoy all the activities of the area since every balloon or daily tour company ( even horse-back riding companies ) provide free transfer to/from Hotel. So, if you don’t like driving very much like me, you don’t need to rent a car. Walking around the village and interacting with the local people was a great experience. The hotel also provides mountain bikes free of charge.
I recommend this boutique hotel to anyone who is looking for an authentic and friendly stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The biggest issue with this cave-house was the location. Its about 20 mins away (by car) from Urgup and 30-40 mins from Gerome. so unless you are driving, you can get stuck in the hotel. Even if you are driving, the location constricts your movements - you can't really hang out in town eating and drinking till late. The hotel is located in a real village - giving you a true village expereince - really nothing around and you can hear (and smell) the cows nearby!

The rooms were decent sized, neat and clean and did provide a 'cave' expereince. The food was average, home cooked by the staff here. The menu is limited - so if you end up eating multiple times here, it gets a bit repititive. The owner was helpful to plan the day - but does not really go out of the way to accomodate esp when our trip plans changed and we had to leave early.

So net - if you want to get away from it all, you can choose this hotel. Otherwise I'd recommend stay at the hotel in one of the cities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarkan384, Owner at Monte Cappa Cave House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We appreciate your review on our hotel.
Thank you for noticing that our property is ‘’more a home-stay than a hotel’’. Yes, this is definetely true. This is why we named our property as a ‘Cave House’ rather than a ‘Hotel’ or a ‘Resort’. We offer to our travellers more than an ordinary hotel experience and make them feel at home. This is the reason why, one cannot find common places (lounge, bar, spa) within such a typical and authentic structure when compared to normal and common hotel buildings made of brick fason in large cities.
We would like to point out that our customers choose to accomodate at our property only because it is located in a relaxed environment away from the crowd and trafic of the town. The short yet comfortable ride from Ürgüp town to our premises offers a pleasant view of the natural landscape of Cappadocia.
You have self consciously chosen a non-refundable room with a remarquably advantageous price. All around the world, it is a generally accepted principle that a non-refundable room rate is not refunded due to a change of travel plans. Moreover, the minute you reserve the room, we close the room for sale during your reservation period. Thus, we are not able to sell the room for a long time even after you make a decision to change your travel plans. Due to which, the earning value of the room decreases.
Thank you so much for your constructive remarks. Your feedbacks are always important to us on maintaining the high standard of service.
Best wishes,
Tarkan Tosun
Monte Cappa Cave House, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I found our stay at this very different guesthouse a wonderful experience. The owner Tarkan was so helpful and friendly. The place was clean and so presentable. The food was very good and the hospitality was excellent. It is nestled away at the foot of the hills surrounding Cappadocia, the views are so interesting with contrasting sites of the caves and hills and local village life. I would definitely recommend staying here, although a bit out into the country side, it is worth the drive,

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness center but plenty of space to take long walks. All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Tarkan (the owner) speaks fantastic English & took great care of us, helping us plan our day trips, hot air balloon ride, and even booking a hotel in the very busy Edirne! He has bicycles that you can ride around the area or into town (the major town is 15km away, by the way, so be sure you're aware of that), and the rooms are amazing- they're renovated caves with good beds, tvs, wireless, and GIANT showers. Large and delicious breakfasts are provided every day on the rooftop terrace overlooking mountainous terrain, and food is available all day long. This is the ultimate get-away location in the mountains and highly recommended to anyone who wants a relaxed visit to Capadocia. Its rustic and personalized nature reminds me of a bygone era & is a welcome change from the city.

You need to take a shuttle to get to the hotel from the airport- it's a long ride through tiny, twisting roads, so don't panic if it takes a while; the hotel and new friend you'll make in Tarkan are well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Cappa Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cappa Cave House

Address: Karlik Koyu, No:174, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Urgup
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Cappa Cave House is situated in a beautifully restored historical building made of stone masonry. It offers a terrace with valley and mountain views, courtyard, and authentic stone arch and cave carved rooms. These rooms are decorated giving absolute priority to comfort, history and aesthetics. The stone house is fastidiously renovated staying loyal to the initial state of the structure and they all feature a unique design and different colour schemes.At Monte Cappa you can spend hours listening to the chirping birds and savor Cappadocia beyond comparison from the terrace overlooking Dereköyler Valley and surrounding mountains.Monte Cappa Cave House serves a rich breakfast with delicious fruit jams and fresh eggs in the morning. For dinner, it offers special menus with local tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Monte Cappa Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Cappa Cave House Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Cappa Cave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.