We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in a quiet and peaceful village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   munar mah no: 145 | Ibrahimpasa / Urgup / Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Urgup B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in a quiet and peaceful village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wow Babayan Evi is a FIND! Most popular hotels in the Cappadocia region are situated around Goreme, Uchisar, and Ugrup which are bustling with tourists and the resultant tourism infrastructure, but Babayan Evi is located in the quiet village of Ibrahimpasa overlooking a small river, cave houses, ruins, and a beautiful valley. It's really wonderful to spend a day touring the popular sites in Cappadocia but then return to the peace and quiet at the hotel. Mehmet, the owner/operator, is an amazingly hospitable man and he goes out of his way to make your stay memorable (he even picked us up in his own car from Goreme).

And of course, the rooms are awesome! Very charming hotel, occupying many levels including some stone rooms and some rooms in caves, with lots of stairwells and nooks and crannies in between. The shower was hot with good water pressure, though the bottom had a small leak. The roof has a few viewing decks which are relaxing. Breakfast is standard but good, and some nights dinner is served as well, all in the small, very nice dining quarter (dinner is not included but breakfast is).

I would say it is not a 5-star hotel in terms of an objective comparisons with other 5 star hotels by amenities (where you expect to have everything on hand, blazing internet, every luxury imaginable) but for what it costs and what it's meant for it is a 5-star experience. Mehmet is amazing. The hotel is relatively new and is off the beaten track from a lot of other ones. The only thing people may have problems with is the fact that Ibrahimpasa is more isolated than some other very popular tourist spots, so it can be more difficult to get to the cool places if you want to. This is not to say it's impossible at all, almost all tours will pick you up from Ibrahimpasa town center (they can't drive up to the hotel because the streets are too narrow and windy - it makes for a REALLY charming place!!) and there is shuttle service as well. Restaurants and tourist shops in Imbrahimpasa are relatively sparse, which makes the area more quiet and relaxing, and there are lots of old abandoned caves/structures still around the main river valley. It's a much slower pace then the popular centers of Cappadocia and like other reviewers said it has its own rural flair. People still live here, and its main purpose is NOT tourism still.

So all in all, surprisingly affordable for such a great experience. Would highly recommend, keeping in mind the only potential drawback which is the increased difficulty in transportation due to Ibrahimpasa's isolation (which could be a real draw for some people).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is definitely one of the best hotels in Cappadocia, very cute place and quiet in the old part of Ibrahimpasa situated, with a great view over the ruins and valleys around. In the old Greek town of Imbrahimpasa most houses are of course abandoned but that created a special flair I really loved. It is a very romantic place. The hotel has got nice rooms too. A few are really caves in the rocks. A few got a great Greek ceiling. Breakfast is fine and much. All the vegetable and fruits are from the farmers in the valley nearby and it really tastes good! Mehmet , the owner of the hotel is a very friendly man. He will help you with everything, showing you a parking place, carrying your luggage and so on. If you want a magic place to stay without noise and tourists, but never the less only 15 minutes by car to Göreme, book a room here. Prices are very reasonable too!

Room Tip: All rooms were nice... if you are lucky you can choose one! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in October 2012 and enjoyed the hotel. Having a car helped, I should say. It is very near to almost all attractions and it is in a very quiet village. The owner Mr Mehmet and his brother Fazli are very professional and helpful.
Our room (Inci) was very spacious and has also a balcony which is great when you come back from the sighseeing adn would like to have a glass of wine and chill out... The rates were also very good. Especially when you are going to be out and about and spend the day outside, you require a reasonable rate for your stay. Having said that the service, the rooms, the breakfast is very good. We would go back when we have a chance to visit Cappadocia. People in the village are very friendly. Make sure you go to Bakkal Mehmet (Kus Mehmet) and try the sucuklu tost. very happy stay and definetly recommend it

Room Tip: Inci room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you are looking for perfect and relaxing gateway to Kapadokya this is the place to book. It was located in small friendly village about 10 km from Goreme. Best to have own transportation to get there, but we rented a scooter and traveled around. It was fun.
Hotel is quite luxury. We had beautiful and authentic cave room with comfy beds and Jacuzzi bath. Water , tea facilities were replenished every day, room was extremely clean. Great cave experience indeed, very romantic. Hotel was small, but has extensive terrace with wonderful view for surroundings. There was another hill with caves opposite the hotel and you could notice ancient early Christians drawings on them. What an unique and authentic place! My husband says-hidden gem!It was indeed.
Owner of the place was really polite, professional, local gentleman. He would do anything to make you enjoy your stay. He served really delicious Turkish style breakfast with very fresh ingredients, Turkish coffee and tea. He also offered us to eat traditional Turkish dinner which was delicious.
When we gave back our scooted in Goreme he kindly offered to come and pick us up at night even though he was so busy with check-ins. Truly wonderful and talented man. Very informative and willing to help with anything.
There were two lovely ladies from village helping him with housekeeping, they were polite and smiley, even though we could not communicate due to language barrier. They all made us feel at home.
I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for hidden gems and wants to be further from crowds. Experience true hospitality not spoiled by materialism and western civilization. Real Anatolian hospitality with smile.
Perfect!

Room Tip: we has turquoise room which i loved but we saw pearl room and that would be my next room of my choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you are looking somewhere quite, definitely go to Babayan Evi.

We have stayed here four nights and enjoyed it very much. The owners made their best to make us feel at home.

The location of the hotel is further away from the crowds and make it perfect place to rest complemented with a nice view down to the valley.

The rooms are decorated with a nice taste and creates a very cosy atmosphere.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We are just returned to Italy and this merveillous boutique hotel is one of the 3 places I miss more of our journey of 10 days in Turkey (perhaps equal to Fatih quartier inIIstanbul and to the fairy chimneys in Goreme...).
It is one of the best solutions I can suggest to all visitors who rent a car (1/2 hour from Nevsehir airport - where we landed - or even from Kayseri airport) being located in Ibrahimpasa at 8 km from Goreme and closed to Uçhisar, Mustafapasa and on the road even for Soganli, the underground cities, Ilhara Valley...
This boutique hotel is managed by two brothers who are really the kindest persons we have known in Turkey, they really have been helpful and super efficient in every service. The rooms are located in original and restaured caves, they are clean and preciously furnished; there are two terrace levels with a wonderful view on the chimeney of the little village of Ibrahimpasa...and it is the unique hotel of the village (just opened for the season after long and hard renovation works), so people of this little village are very kind...They will even sincerely help you in parking on the "main" square where by night all men of the village go taking their hot çai (tea) !
Wireless Internet in free and included; you will enjoy an abundant ad delicious breakfast prepared at the moment by Mehmet (thanks again Mehmet!) and you even could ask for dinner on the terrace, because he is a fantastic Turkish cooker too. We had Ramazan dinner with them and you can trust me that it has been the best "restaurant" we had been in Cappadocia (much better than top resaturants signed on the Lonely...).
Lastly, it has been also an economic solution, so perfect for every kind of holiday or journey.
I definitely and heartily recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

On the peak of the small village Ibrahimpasa, out of the crowded main turistic destinations (definitely!!) there is this brand new cave boutique hotel
We arrived a three hours before check in time but Mr. Mehmet one of the two owner welcome us offering cai and let us choosing the room , hard to do it!! All the room have different style, very comfortable bed, jacuzzi in all bathroom,
Breakfast are served sometime in the amazing terrace and it's really like a complite meal
... and the price ? (I don t know if it is couse the opened just 4 month ago ) It s one of the lower in this area

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel

Address: munar mah no: 145 | Ibrahimpasa / Urgup / Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a rustic stone house in Ibrahimpasa, this hotel offers individually decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi. Some have a spa bath and fireplace. It has an a la carte restaurant and a garden with a terrace.Heating, a seating area, and electric kettle are in at Babayan Evi's traditionally decorated rooms. A furnished balcony overlooking Ibrahimpasa is in some. Slippers and a hairdryer are in the en suite bathrooms.Room service, including breakfast, is provided by Babayan Evi Cave Hotel's 24-hour staff. Packed lunches are available on request.Babayan has a tour desk, car and bike rentals and trekking tours can be provided. Goreme Tarihi Mili Park is about 8 km from the hotel and the night life of Urgup is 9 km away.Free private parking is available at Babayan Evi Cave Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babayan Evi Cave Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.