We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave experience at Hotel Cave Konak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cave Konak to your Saves list
Hotel Cave Konak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok. No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WiFi & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Urgup
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cave experience at Hotel Cave Konak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent staff. Great hospitality. They helped us with arrangements even prior to arriving at the hotel. Great value for Money. And ofcourse the hotel is beautifully designed. Its the best place for English-speaking travelers to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Yes, we can help with any aspect of planning your trip, even if it means hopping down to the bus station to buy your bus tickets in advance. Both owners of Cave Konak speak wonderful English (one is actually English) and so anyone can phone or e-mail us with questions even before booking.

As for the design of the hotel, our principle has been to leave as many parts as original as possible, and of course to add modern comforts. In addition, we would like the restored buildings to last at least another 100 years.

Many thanks for your delicious Indian pistachio sweets with silver leaf – absolutely unforgettable. Love to you and your companions from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
69
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our 3-night stay at Adnan & Colleen's hotel in Urgup was a lovely way to begin our vacation in Turkey. Urgup was within easy distance (by car) of the major sights of Cappadocia. Adnan was an incredibly helpful host, who sat down with us every night (if we wanted to -- he wasn't at all pushy or insistent) to map out suggestions for the next day, along with helpful hints like "Turn left at the XYZ cafe, and park there." None of his suggestions were guided tours, so there was no profit to him for helping us.
The room was exceptional, luxurious, pristine, very quiet. Great WiFi, great showers (we had a huge double shower in our room!). Breakfast was excellent, and the support staff were very helpful, too.
When we were there, they were in the process of expanding the hotel (I think there are only 5 rooms now?). Do not hesitate to book this place, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful “advertisement” for our hotel! Of course we can always spare the time to explain the sights of Cappadocia to all our guests – it’s something that we just love to do. Our situation right in the center of the town is also handy for all transportation links and amenities. We are so pleased you loved the room – and yes, everyone should keep an eye out as more rooms are coming soon! Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Cave Konak and had a very enjoyable experience.
Coleen and her Turkish business partner have and are creating a top quality boutique hotel just oozing with atmosphere and quality.
We stayed in the Ottoman suite and were absolutely delighted with the bed.
We had traveled by car from Side and were stiff and aching after the 7 hour journey but one night sleeping on the orthopaedic mattress and we were refreshed the next morning.
Breakfast was a delight standard Turkish fare but we really enjoyed the Turkish scrambled eggs with tomato and mild chili absolutely delicious as was the variety of home cooked breads.
The staff were superb attentive and professional and the mingling with the other guests after dinner in town was delightful overlooking the town from the balcony sipping wine .
Overall the trip to Cappadocia was made special with such a base to return to each night.
Highly recommended for the historic atmosphere, tastefully furnished quality rooms superb bathrooms.
We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. When restoring the buildings we aimed for quality; our aim is that the buildings will still be here 100 years from now. They are an important historical part of Urgup’s town center, being in the old Greek district. The Turkish Bath just over the road was built by the Greeks who collected money from both Urgup and the villages for its construction.

Of course during our renovations we were careful to put in lovely showers and very comfortable beds; tradition with modern comforts was certainly our aim, and great to know we have been successful. Hope to see you again some time in the future. Wishing you many happy travels, love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

lovely, atmospheric small hotel in centre of town , with beautifully styled rooms. Tasteful, interesting and a lovely restoration of an ancient dwelling . very clean, and a very friendly owner.
I would recommend it highly if visiting this area and it gives such a feel for all the sites to visit. the home made cakes and tea on the main veranda overlooking town centre was a real delight.
Maryan from Cardiff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your tasteful and thoughtful review. Our hotel is a traditional old house with some stone built rooms being 400-500 years old and the caves possibly thousands of years old – right in the center of Urgup, so handy for evening meals and other essential facilities. Love from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed for 1 night at Hotel Cave Konak. The hotel is just in the center of Ürgüp and has a very central location. We have faced with a very friendly welcome starting from the first minute that we have arrived. We stayed in Byzantine Room which was an excellent experience. The owner of the hotel explained all the historical details of the room by herself. The room and the bathroom was extremely clean. The concept of the room was perfect. The breakfast was very delicious. The price of the hotel is lower than it deserves. The hotel has an extremely hospitable staff. Very strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Byzantine Room has a perfect concept
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review mentioning so many points. We shall certainly pass on your remarks about cleanliness and delicious breakfast to our staff. As you mentioned, our new low price policy makes our hotel a real bargain as well as offering a really authentic Cappadocian experience, and our central location makes everything easy. We hope to see you again when you come to Cappadocia :) Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Colleen and Adnan were both very helpful from before we arrived, during our stay, and as we planned the next leg of our trip. The room was spacious, clean, well appointed, and more than a good deal for the price. The breakfast was a simple but tasty selection each morning, and we especially enjoyed eating on the terrace and seeing the village below and mountains in the distance. The location was just off the central town square, close enough for a 2-3 minute walk into town but just far enough that it was very quiet. Beyond the hotel: Our favorite place to eat within walking distance was Ziggy's, and we had an awesome experience at the Greek/Turkish bath across the street. We did two days of group tours (Blue and Green were both good, but teo was enough) then one day on our own of trekking in Rose Valley (the best experience of the trip, don't hesitate to just catch a taxi both ways, it was easy - Colleen can provide details!). Overall this hotel was a great location for our Cappadocia experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I remember how much you loved the Red and Rose Valley walk starting at the sunset viewpoint – Adnan has drawn a very useful trekking map of this route for our guests as we think this walk is the best in Cappadocia. Our central location is ideal for evenings – not taxi necessary :) Also our new low price policy means unbeatable value for money. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel with amazing staff, large cave rooms, and a great location. Colleen and Adnan (and the rest of the staff) were always ready to answer questions we had about activities or just have a chat with us over tea. They have great advice on what tours to take and recommend the cheapest and best way to do various activities. I wholeheartedly trusted them and their advice. They know English very well (Colleen is actually English).

The hotel is in a good location just a block from the Urgup city square with plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, and other shopping. We stayed in the Byzantine Cave room and loved it. Very spacious and nicely finished with a huge shower. It has a queen bed.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We love to help guests with suggestions about activities, and we have certainly worked out which are the best deals around. Whether it is group tours, private tours, quad biking, trekking in the valleys, Turkish bath and more, we can help with suggestions and route maps.

Your underground cave suite – the Byzantine Suite – is truly unique in Cappadocia and very popular with its two showers in the same unit. Guests who book through our own website at cavekonak dot com can even choose their own room (traditional stone or cave).

And yes, we are the closest historical cave hotel to the town center so there is no need for a taxi for your evening meal, everything is close by and very handy.

Thanks again and wishing you many happy future travels, love from all of us at Hotel Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok. No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#11 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests to experience the essence of this amazing and culturally rich place. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors, and the hub for local villages. Our suites are either hundreds of years old and built with stones hand-cut from the local volcanic rock, or exciting ancient underground caves with skylights so you can feel what it was like to live in an underground city. In addition to our amazing suites, we have an historical pillared balcony and roof terraces (for breakfast and 24 hour relaxation) with spectacular views. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cave Konak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.