We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation for the second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cave Konak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok. No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Airport Transfer
Ranked #7 of 56 hotels in Urgup
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“Accommodation for the second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excitement of last year can not be forgotten, in the sense of nostalgia, I visited by making full use of the schedule. It is of course the splendor of the facility has been oozing warmth in rustic, it will heal from the core to the kindness of the staff(Ms.Collen and Mr.Adan). Feel relieved this time, breakfast on the terrace was scolded. It is a hotel that every time you visit a deeper attachment.
Is satisfied in a large number of hotels, as well as the top of TripAdvisor ranking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind and beautiful words. We hope you will be able to come to our hotel again some time, maybe one day you can come with your family. Kindest regards from Adnan and Colleen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
50
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed just for one night in Urgup. Welcomed by Pauline, one of the owners, british lady very friendly. Arched room, beatifully decorated, it was more a Junior suite than an standard room. Two levels, bedroom on the courtyard floor, tv room and huge bathroom below level.
British touch as they brought us tea and coffee facilities. Towels wrapped in a beautiful turkish cloth. The best, and most comfortable bed during my whole trip to Turkey.
She explained us that she and her partner are planning to expand the property to become a bigger boutique hotel.
Night staff speaks german very well but his english was limited. We managed to understand each other anyway.
Delicious breakfast, it was a pity that we were in a hurry, otherwise we'll stayed there enjoying breakfast for hours, turkish bread, spectacular marmalades.

Rates a bit expensive compare to other hotels in Goreme, but Urgup is known by the nicest boutique hotels so I guess it was average price.

Overall, beautiful small boutique hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff.
Only one thing, when the lights are on in the room, you can see everything from outside, I will put some blinds

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, and what a shame you could not spend more time at breakfast – it’s a lovely time to enjoy the balcony and terraces. Also, many guests have commented on our comfortable beds – I think their anti-static properties really contribute to a good night’s sleep. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very nice staff and wonderful breakfast. We've bene there three days and all was good. Our room had a lovely private terrace that we enjoyed during the night. The last night we've been invited to' play OK with the owner and his family. I recommend this hotel especially because is extremely clean.

Room Tip: Suite with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind review. You stayed in the Seljuk Suite with its private roof terrace and hammock; great fun for a group of friends. Thanks also for noting the cleanliness of the room. We hope you had a great time the rest of your stay in Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, and very much enjoyed our stay. It was easy enough to find and easy enough to park the car. The hotel has 5 rooms with wonderful expansion plans in the future. The first night we stayed in the 'Hittite Suite'. It was completely underground with two air vents. It was huge and have three large separate areas, bedroom, lounge and bathroom. The stone work was amazing. I loved it, but Unfortunately my wife developed claustrophobia and so we needed to move. The owners could not have been more helpful and we were moved to the 'Ottoman Suite' which was both above and below ground. It was also extremely spacious, with a separate lounge area (both with windows). It was exceptionally well appointed and the bathroom was just fabulous (and huge).

Adnan and Colleen, the owners, could not have been more helpful or knowledgeable in terms of advice as to what to see or just being highly agreeable ( and interresting ) people with whom to speak. Adnan is Turkish, and Colleen is English. Other staff were also exceptionally helpful, particularly Ishmail.

The hotel has a lovely terrace overlooking parts of Urgup and was a pleasant place to sit, enjoy the breeze and relax.

The breakfast was ok, with tables on three different levels, and so it required a bit too much getting up and down stairs. It is only for this reason, i havent finished this with an excellent rating i think breakfast could be rethought eg by bringing all items in true Turkish style to each table rather than having some as a buffet.

That aside, we had a very happy stay and would gladly return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful review. We have two underground cave suites – like staying in an underground city but with skylights – a special unique experience in Cappadocia, but not for the claustrophobic. To book a particular room, guests can do so from our own website at cavekonak dot com.

Our breakfast is buffet style because guests come from a variety of different countries and choose different foods from the table; Ismail helps by filling cups of tea and coffee. Our building is historical, and the steps came included.

We enjoyed your company and hope you will be able to visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice and wonderful experience i stay in Cave Konak Hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of Urgup, convenient to get restaurants and souvenir. Room is clean and tidy. Staff are freindly and willing to help. A simply but delicious breakfast they provided. Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: To provide fan in room during summer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
And thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your time in Cappadocia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice staff, always willing to help. Internet worked upstairs, but not in the cave. Breakfast was also very enjoyable. The hotel is very close to the mosque, so expect to be woken up by the call to prayer. Also, the room had no Aircon so while the cave was cool/damp, upstairs stayed pretty hot. Reasonable price, including b'fast. Overall good, but would have been better with A/C, more Internet routers and a TV.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your breakfast. You stayed in the Roman Suite – a duplex suite – wireless Internet is available in the sitting room and some guests can get it in the cave (just to be clear, other cave rooms do have wireless internet).

The upper floor is a bit warmer because it is stone not cave – in Cappadocia nights are cooler so it’s traditional to open the windows in the evening to cool down the room before bed time – for this reason old houses in Cappadocia do not use aircon. – they have thick stone walls to keep out the direct heat of the sun and keep the heat in during the winter.

While we do not advertize that we have TV, we do have one room – the Ottoman Suite – with a TV - to choose the room you stay in book through cavekonak dot com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a way overdued review, after staying in the hotel back in December, we promised that we will share our wonderful experience with everyone but we didn't until now.

We knew nothing about Cappadocia and hardly did much of a research before we arrive and thankfully, we did however make the best decision possible by staying in Hotel Cave Konak.

This hotel is really really special, we stayed in one of the cave rooms, and it was spectacular. We were originally worried about the condition of a cave hotel, but our fears were unfounded, it came fully equipped with all the modern amenities that you would need and it was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. If you are planning on visiting Cappadocia, you definitely should experience it for yourself.

Furthermore, Colleen and Adnan (the ownders) are probably the best hosts you can find in Cappadocia. Extremely friendly, warm and personable. Made us feel ever welcome. Also, we had Adnan to bring us around, he is definitely one of the most knowledgeble professional guides (if not the most) in Cappadocia, if you want to really experience and see Cappadocia, Adnan is definitely the person who can show it to you.

Location wise, the hotel is situated right in the city center, hence extremely convenient for you to get around Urgup.

Overall, this was the best part of our 10 days trip in Turkey and staying with Hotel Cave Konak was probably the key to that.

Highly recommended, great value, great service. Must be the best place to stay in Cappadocia, will definitely return to stay when we revisit.

Room Tip: The underground cave rooms are simply wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your review. We thought you had forgotten about us! It’s great to know that you enjoyed your underground cave room and tours. We definitely work with the best guides. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok. No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Urgup
#10 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests to experience the essence of this amazing and culturally rich place. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors, and the hub for local villages. Our suites are either hundreds of years old and built with stones hand-cut from the local volcanic rock, or exciting ancient underground caves with skylights so you can feel what it was like to live in an underground city. In addition to our amazing suites, we have an historical pillared balcony and roof terraces (for breakfast and 24 hour relaxation) with spectacular views. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cave Konak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.