We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for exploring Cappadocia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MDC Hotel to your Saves list
MDC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karagandere Mahallesi 2. Sokak No:37, Urgup 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Urgup
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for exploring Cappadocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We are at this moment staying with our family for five nights at the MDC hotel in Ürgüp and appreciate the very big room in this brand new hotel, it has opened only in March 2011. The Turkish owner is full of enthousiasm after having build this unique hotel using former greek cave rooms, enlarging and completing them with modern facilities. The hotel is a cooperation of Canadians and local owners and offers a number of really great things, such as the about 90 m2 King suites, which make holidays with kids very easy, nice private terrasses for every room, a very nice lobby...
One if the things we most appreciate is the great cuisine by the hotel chef, his cuisine is on top level and the prices for the high level quality are very reasonable. The official manue has all trasitionnal Turkish dishesm but, also a number of dishes of the more elaborated Turkish cuisine. But, the chef's offer is going well beyond the official menu. BraOvo!
As this a brand new hotel there are still little things which will improve with the time and experience, but, none of them really influenced the success of our holidays here in Cappadocia. Training for the staff ( other than the chef) will have to be provided to live up to the promiss of a luxury hotel, the "hard ware" is well in place.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious, if you are as lucky as we were, you can choose the room upon your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you appreciated your stay with us and that you enjoyed your culinary experience in our hotel restaurant. Turkish cuisine is considered one of the best and our gourmet chef enjoys elaborating and adapting traditional Turkish dishes to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Our staff have high expectations to live up to and we place great importance on their training to make sure that all our guests have a perfect stay in MDC Hotel.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to your next visit.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    64
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
150
263
31
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

While honeymooning in Turkey, we booked at the last minute a sight-seeing tour to the Cappadocia region, and the good folks of True Blue Travel Agency in Istanbul had managed to get us an overnight stay at the MDC hotel in Urgup. What a huge treat it turned out to be! This luxurious hotel is brand new and is still working on a further expansion. It is located on the outskirts of the village and offers attractive views on the surrounding countryside. If you want the hustle and bustle of a big city, this will not be for you – we very much enjoyed the tranquility, waking up to the sound of birds and cows…

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the hotel manager, who welcomed us with refreshing cold drinks before showing us to our spectacular King Suite. All rooms are built into existing caves; each room is different, but all are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The restaurant is excellent too – don’t miss out on their lamb in yoghurt sauce! The wonderful staff was professional yet personal and actually managed to make our stay one of the absolute highlights of our trip - no small praise considering the magical environment of Cappadocia! Our only gripe about the MDC would be that it is located too far from Calgary, or we would be back tomorrow!

Do yourself a big favor and book a few days at this incredible hotel. It may well become one of the worst-kept secrets of the region very soon - try to get in now while they are not fully booked for months in advance yet…

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at MDC Hotel. We are very happy to have participated in making your honeymoon a memorable experience. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you in our hotel very soon.
Best wishes to you both from all of us at MDC Hotel.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The 5 days we stayed here at MDC Hotel was a delight! The service, hospitality and surroundings was absolutely 5 star!

I love that you can sit outside your room like an open terrace to enjoy a glass of wine (on the house), enjoy the valley view and chat to the friendly staff. The other manager (Murat?) was very accommodating and attentive as well as constantly offered us refreshments.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Ahmet, who served us drinks and just talked to us as if we were his friends. The hospitality was really refreshing compared to the other hotel we stayed in Europe. With his great connections with tour groups it was very easy to arrange. At first we freaked out as it seemed like it was in the middle of no where but in fact it is just a little outside the Urgup city centre but still a nice 15min walk and the staff always offered to drive us. You actually feel more relaxed staying outside the city and going for that stroll.

Our balloon ride was at 4.30am and there was attentive staff ready in reception to look after us. I do believe they go the extra mile with all their guests.

We really appreciated the size our rooms and loved the jacuzzi in the bathroom. A nice way to unwind after a hectic tour day. I do wish they had a pool outside as there is not much else to do after the tour is finished. The rooms aren't as well lit, but you are after all staying at a modern cave hotel! Great amenities in the room and free wifi was extremely convenient for us.

Thanks to all the wonderful recommendations from previous stayers as that was the reason we chose to book with this hotel.

MDC completely understand the needs of their customers and definitely go the extra mile to make sure everyone is satisfied!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your review and for the photos of our hotel. We pay great attention to our guest reviews which help us attain the high standards which we set for MDC Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed our stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you to stay. Your feedback will be passed on to all the team here; I am sure they will appreciate your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

What could be better than the uniqueness of a cave with the modern amenities to enjoy.
The hotel is lovely built on a a gently sloping hill . The rooms are large and immaculately clean. Many have levels within the room and a few stairs between levels, so older folks may want to articulate their needs when making a reservation. Some of the mattresses sit on a unique platform of stone, so if you like harder beds, you will enjoy these. Otherwise ask for a room with a box spring The rooms also have windows which can be opened a potential real plus as soon as the intended screens are installed.. We understand that there are also plans to build a pool and spa.

The manager understands the hotel has a reputation to build and devotes himself to customer satisfaction. Each guest's needs are individualized and each is made to feel special. Because of wobbly knees, I was escorted to my room on the arm of an employee whenever they spotted me, although there are ramps next to the gently slope in the front of the hotel. The attentive staff was available early and at 4:30 AM
we were handed juice and coffee prior to our balloon ride pick up.
Although we were offered a ride to town for local restaurants, after our first night at the hotel's restaurant we were happy to have the opportunity to enjoy dinner there again. They even packaged a bottle of their pomegranate salad dressing for my sister.
In short this is a modern facility in "cave country" with a management determined to win and re-win your business. They succeed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do our best to make our guests feel at home and looked after, and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we certainly enjoyed having you to stay. Please give our best wishes to your sister; we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you once more at MDC Hotel.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farallon, Panama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Although we enjoyed Istanbul very much ( Kusadasi to a much lesser extent the hotel reviewed separately was the biggest hinderance!) Cappadocia and the accommodation there was everything I dreamt of and could not even have imagined!! MDC Hotel, a Boutique hotel is set right inside the caves, using the natural formation of the rocks and include even a very old almost Bysantine chapel! No expenses have been spared to make this hotel as interesting, comfortable and luxurious as you wish. The staff, including the owners were all the time at hand to help you, make sure you were happy and comfortable. Breakfasts are sumptuous and they are so willing to get up any time to prepare it for you should you have to leave the hotel at an uncivilised time! We had all our dinners there, as the food was reasonably priced and very nice, and the local wines very acceptable. We could have gone for dinner to the main village Urgup ( even I think with free transport, I think,) but we opted to stay in as the evenings were wonderful and the food good and after a whole day trekking, it was wonderful to have a jacuzz, relax and go for dinner next door. A to Cappadocia, itself if you have not visited the area, and do not intend to, you will have missed one of the most eerie, and mystical places in the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. We are very pleased that our hotel lived up to your dreams and expectations. We are glad that you appreciated your visit to Cappadocia, we feel very privileged to live in this magical region full of natural wonders and centuries of history. The staff at MDC Hotel join me in wishing you all the best; we look forward to your next visit.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

First time i spent MDC Hotel with my mother. This hotel's all sence is wonderful,rooms,reastrants, funitures...everything. We want to visit again!
And especially Mr.Murat(Hotel Maneger)is very kind and take care of us,his hospitality is No.1! I already visited many countries, but i have ever seen such a good hospitality.
We want to tell Mr.Murat "Thank you for everything"

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Everything was perfectly executed and the rooms are beautiful.The hotel is very elegant with a nice renovation respecting original Cappadocia architectural style.
We used wi-fi ,in the real cave ıt was amazing...
Peaceful valley views. All staff attempt to or did speak english very very friendly. We highly recommend.
I would like to thank Mr. Murat ,He is very funny and friendly
Peaceful valley views. All staff attempt to or did speak english very very friendly. We highly recommend. Thank MDC HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Address: Karagandere Mahallesi 2. Sokak No:37, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Urgup
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Cappadocia/Urgup, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MDC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.