We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in the center of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Han Ciragan Restaurant

Han Ciragan Restaurant
Cumhuriyet Meydani, Urgup 50400, Turkey
+90 384 341 2566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 60 Restaurants in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, International, Turkish, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Han Ciragan Restaurant and Cafe in Urgup, Cappadocia, is set in a caravansery built around 250 years ago making it the oldest restaurant in Urgup. The shady terrace is an ideal setting for a romantic meal. Only the freshest ingredients are used in our traditional Turkish dishes. Tourists and locals alike favour this spot where you can come and visit the kitchen at any time.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in the center of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel, and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived! Nice outside seating area, and we sat inside alongside the window looking out over the town. Had a few apps for a light lunch. The warm hummus is amazing!! Plenty of fresh bread as well. Would definitely return here for lunch or dinner.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A restaurant that brings you unforgettable dining experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I were brought to Han Ciragan when we asked our hotel shuttle driver to recommend a good local restaurant. We went with open minds and were blown away by the exceptionally high quality of food, service and ambiance. Olcay, one of the main waiters, was particularly good in his service. He was attentive, without being intrusive and all his food recommendations were spot on! If you only have one meal to spare at Han Ciragan, you have to try the testi kebabi - a claypot oven-cooked cuisine of beef, onions and peppers for over 2 hours. Olcay tells us the restaurant prepares about 20 a day. We were so glad we got one of the 20 that night! The meat was juicy and soft and the onions literally melted in our mouths. Another must try is the stuffed figs as dessert. We returned to Han Ciragan for the following two nights, each time trying new dishes and never once did we have a bad experience. If you like to watch sports while dining or having a drink, the first level has an outdoor section with a bar. If you like it quiet and private, the sections upstairs offer plenty of options.
All in all, I would say I am so glad we discovered Han Ciragan and would definitely return one day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“All in one: unforgettable gourmet experience in authentic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

In Han Cirahan we faced with unexpected range of dishes and combination of testes. Excellent turkish food and hospitality combined with european service. Cosy atmosphere and live jazz music.
That was one of the best moments we have spent in amazing Cappadocia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good central restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great setting in an old cave house. Friendly service with space heaters on the terrace. Good food at a fair price in the centre of Urgup.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Attractive restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great service, good food, not great for the money. Very attractive restaurant, right in the middle of Urgup. A few steps, both down and up.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Han Ciragan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Han Ciragan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Han Ciragan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.