We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one not to miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aravan Evi Restaurant

Aravan Evi Restaurant
Ayvali Koyu, Urgup 50400, Turkey
03843545838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Urgup
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We offer two diffirent menus for our guests in our restaurant. These include the famous Turkish village cuisine like, casserole which is cooked in our tandir (oven on th ground), local round Turkish bread, soup cooked in tandir with bulgur(boiled and pounded wheat), Stuffed vine in olive oil, haricot beans cooked in tandir inside a traditional clay pot.You can find below our two diffirent menus below.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“one not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just come back from an amazing walking holiday on Cappadocia in central Turkey. This wonderful restaurant is in the village of Ayvali near Urgup. This section of our walk started at Kavak and ended up in Mustafapasa. The route took us through fantastic orchards and vineyards and then to this lovely restaurant serving the most delicious Turkish food. Mum did the cooking, the son, very expertly waited at table and dad - well he sat eating grapes! - as men do. Lunch was certainly an experience not to miss and did not break the bank. A welcome stop on a very hot day. Best to book ahead to let them know you are coming.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A well-kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are no signs indicating the restaurant (which is also a B&B, by the way), but do not get discouraged: you will find an excellent restaurant, with excellent service, the best Anatolian hospitality. Ask your hotel concierge to make a reservation for you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

In the village of the incomparable Gamirasu Hotel, this home prepares excellent regional Turkish cuisine. The son is educated in hotel service business. His service is perfect, the food was among the best of all our dining in Turkey. And it was just our party of eight. PERFECT

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss if you're in Ayvali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We read about this restaurant online and made a reservation by email before leaving for Turkey. It was one of our loveliest dining experiences of the trip, and the delicious, prix fixe, family style dinner included so many dishes I lost track. Everything was traditional, carefully prepared of fresh ingredients, and the outdoor covered balcony/courtyard was charming. Don't get hung up on the lack of a wine list (the options are "red or white", as in many less-urban locations in Turkey). If you're staying at the Gamirasu Cave Hotel, it's a nice stroll away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a pre-booked lunch here as part of a trekking holiday. It was quite a warm day so it was wonderful to arrive for a relaxing meal in the lovely courtyard overlooking the village. All the courses were delicious traditionally cooked dishes; a delightful experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aravan Evi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aravan Evi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aravan Evi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.