We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, incredibly noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uchisar Kaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Uchisar Kaya Hotel to your Saves list
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yukari Mah Mevkii Adnan Menderes Street. No 15 | Nevsehir, Uchisar, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Uchisar
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great views, incredibly noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean, Comfortable rooms with spacious bathrooms and incredible views. A great variety of food for dinner but most were only average-tasting. Although the walls appear thick, we actually could hear our neighbor's TV and all sounds coming from the hallway outside. Since we were across rhe hall from the indoor pool and Turkish bath, this could get quite noisy as the attendants described their services to guests. Air conditioner kicked on and off ALL night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y52y50, Front Office Manager at Uchisar Kaya Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at Uçhisar Kaya Hotel.
We are sorry to hear of the problems you had during your stay at our hotel. If you had informed us, we would have change your room with pleasure.
We hope to see you again at Uçhisar Kaya Hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
46
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If I begin by saying that we have returned to this hotel, every year, for the past two decades, there isn't much more I can add. We used to stay when this hotel, with its unique panoramic view, belonged to the Club Med. Since, the Turkish owners have upgraded to four stars and have never swerved from all the service, amenities, professionalism you can expect at such a level. As another reviewer wrote, the hotel has something of the grand hotel ook, while remaining absolutely charming. There is something reminiscent of the Italian palazzo about this place, though for a large part it is carved into the cliff. The buffet breakfast and dinner are very good - this year the selection for dinner was even better than usual, with variety. The swimming pool, beautiful in its own way, espousing a dolphin like shape, is long enough for serious swimming (unlike most hotels in the area, some only fit for romping kids). Personally I enjoy cold water - of course this means that I am often the only one who stays in! But for readers who value a healthy cool swim, this is definitely the place. The rooms, albeit small, have lofty vaulted ceilings, comfortable bedding and al the normal furnishings of a hotel room of this class. I'll reserve my final congratulatons for the staff - from the General Manager, who is often around and about, the young Front Desk Manager who can be sollicited for any need or request, and speaks excellent English, to the staff, notably the charming young lady who runs the dinner service, everybody is charming and helpful. My special thanks to the agile cleaning ladies and sturdy baggage attendants who must cater to vast groups that descend upon the place and leave the following morning.
A word about that too - the Kaya is part of the same group as the Dorak travel agency. Some travelers may dislike in principle large hotels that do most of their business with groups. With the Kaya, I can assure you that this is a blessing. Not only do individual parties have the place to themselves most of the day, but the Japanese groups that pass through are understandingly most demanding, so you can be sure that everything is to their standards.
Lastly, to show how competent the staff is, I can cite an incident of three years ago. My wife was stung by a hornet and developed an allergy late at night, at around two in the morning. When I went to the reception they immediately furnished us with an automobile and chauffeur to take us to the Nevsehir Versa Hospital, all in a matter of a few minutes. Within an hour we were back at the hotel, everything under control. And this service was absolutely free. I know of no better example of courtesy and professionalism.

Room Tip: Depends on taste and time of year - some may prefer the poolside, others the panoramic view.. Apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y52y50, Front Office Manager at Uchisar Kaya Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Rolland,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to read your comments. Thank you again for your stay at Uçhisar Kaya Hotel, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Cappadocia.. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It may seem contradictory, but the Uchisar Kaya IS a very charming big hotel. Two of its floors are really caves dug in the side of the hill; the third, though not itself dug out, was built with the material (sandstone, I believe) extracted from the hillside to make way for the first two levels. Formerly the Uchisar Club Med, the Kaya is extremely comfortable, with ample and well decorated rooms. The staff is very courteous and always helpful, beginning with the manager, Mr Çinkil. The only letdown is the buffet-only restaurant, with a beautiful view but a mediocre cuisine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Ok, we were part of one of those tour groups - mea culpa. I can't comment on the room price as we paid for everything as part of a tour package but I would imagine it is high. First, the facility was lovely. Upon entering there is a business center to your left with free wifi. There is a very expensive jewelry boutique on the right. I expect that in a hotel. It is not for bargain hunters. The front desk staff was very helpful, though at various times the level of English was limited. I don't care. I am enjoying the culture. I absolutely can't complain about the food. It was very good. The choices were amazing. Every morning - eggs, some kind of meat, fries (I think), tons of fruit and vegetables, juices, breads, cereals. Evening was even better. The dessert area was outstanding. I will post some pictures. I found the staff fine. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and valley. We had a nice size bed, a desk, a sofa with small table, armoire built into the wall, flat screen tv, free wifi and nice bathroom. While were were at a distance, you could see the balloons fire up early in the morning in the valley. Later as they floated, some got closer to the hotel so you could see better. There is a Cave Bar in the lower level that we sat in one night with others. Prices for drinks were not cheap. The pool area was gorgeous. We were there in November so swimming was not on the table but it looked good. I did think the spa services were expensive too. Five of the women went elsewhere where I think it cost about $35 for the entire deal. This is definitely not a place for people looking for a less expensive stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed 3 nights with small tour group. Had looked forward to relaxing in pool & sauna only to find reservation was need in health club. Cost was outlandish--sauna, pool, and turkish bath is $43 USD for 60 minutes total! We had turkish bath in Istanbul at authentic old bathhouse costing $40 USD for 90 minute duration. Buffet meals presented nicely but forget hot food. Lucky to find warm food unless you happened to be standing there when a new pan was put out. Room was nice with good view was our only plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is a nice hotel in a fabulous location with great views down the valley. However, even in winter the hotel is geared to the many tour groups; all meals are buffet style (with the consequence that the food is often not hot unless you can get to the table as soon as it has been delivered). The room and bathroom was fine, a great outlook over the garden to the caves opposite but the lighting was awful - had to ask for an extra lamp. Its far from the airport but reception was helpful in arranging a seat on the shuttle bus. The village has little to offer so you need a car to get to see the local sights - which are well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

The elegantly lit rocks at night and the colorful balloons arising at dawn from your private balcony make this a perfect place to tour one of Turkey's most stunning areas. The rooms are beautiful and modern. Go armed with your own wine as prices are high, high and take advantage of Turkish baths elsewhere in the country -- also overpriced here.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uchisar Kaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uchisar Kaya Hotel

Address: Yukari Mah Mevkii Adnan Menderes Street. No 15 | Nevsehir, Uchisar, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#9 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uchisar Kaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Uchisar Kaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uchisar Kaya Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchisar Kaya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.