We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, and comfortable place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilim Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kilim Pension to your Saves list
Kilim Pension
Tekelli Mah, Uchisar, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Uchisar B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, and comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The owners and staff are extremely hospitable and were very helpful with providing day trip information, including FREE guided hikes around Uchisar and into Goreme. What makes the pension quite interesting is the mix of Turkish and French flare with the food. I recommend the wine made exclusively in the area, also called Uchisar.

The views from the room are breathtaking, as they allow uninterrupted views of the landscape and other towns for miles. I highly recommend dinner at the pension, as the fare is a delicious mix of turkish and french cuisine, which was probably my favorite meal of the entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a fabulous, albeit short stay, in the wonderful Kilim Pension. Our room (#2) had a recently renovated bath room that was more boutique than bargain pension (see picture.) Lots of hot water any time of day, and a separate, roomy, glass-doored shower with stone tiles and an arched ceiling. Beds are comfy and the view over the valley is fantastic. The hotel sits very high up, right against the Uchisar castle. You can easily walk behind the hotel to the peak to watch the sunset. Sisik, the owner, is very warm, but never invasive. He leads free hikes through the valleys every morning. We went on a challenging and stunning 3 - 4 hour hike in the Green Valley. Sisik grew up in Uchisar and is very familiar with the terrain. We would not normally take a guided anything, but this one was wonderful, and we certainly could not have found our way along the tiny, branching, unmarked wilderness paths without his guidance. Sisik is the kind of guide to silently stop for a few moments to let you absorb the view, without giving a lot of commentary. While popular Capadoccia can sometimes feel over run, this walk felt very remote. The first part gave us vistas across the landscape, and the second part descended into a valley full of wild flowers and pigeon houses. Very memorable. Sisik also gave us some great advice to take advantage of our car rental and see the less-touristed underground city of Tatlarin. It wasn't in any of our guidebooks, and it was one one of the best things we did on the trip. We opted for a regular room at Kilim, preferring the light and a view to the cave experience. Saw the cave rooms and they also looked beautiful, and very large, with a sweet little table and chairs sitting area near the big arched-window entrances. Rooms one and two both seem to have more privacy than some of the other rooms because their windows face out toward the valley (instead of a shared balcony walkway.) We saw dozens of balloons from our window on the dawn of our last day. Gorgeous. While Uchisar caters primarily to French tourists, Kilim makes English-speakers very welcome, and Sisik speaks English well enough for all needs. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh, and the terrace has a stunning panorama view point. We ate our dinners in the cave-style restaurant in the Pension. The menu - soup, salad, main and dessert - seemed like a real bargain, and was delicious. Certainly one of the best rooms we have had in Turkey. Hope to one day return and stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at this little gem for 5 nights having fluked it when searching from Australia before we left.
Our host Sisik a former stone mason has carved (literally) a beautiful pension into the hill in the hostoric village of Uchisar. The views from our room and the terraces were simply stunning. Each morning we woke to watch the flotilla of ballooons rising up the valleys of Goreme below us.
Our room was furnished with very comfortable bed and old camel saddle bags as floor cushions. The bathroom was Roman inspired with mosaics and marble with a modern tuches such as heated a towel rail.
Breakfast was a feast, with a large selection of tasty morsels and the best strawberry jam we have ever tasted.
We also opted to eat in every night to a set 4 course meal (different each night), off beautiful old Turkish plates.
Sisik the owner also took us on several walks and on an expedition to Avanos to check out a local ceramic factory. His father is also involved in the business as a breakfast host and driver.
Ask Sisik where to gt spaggetti in the town square - it was the best pasta meal we have had in a long time.
Would definitely stay there again. Peaceful, quaint surrounds and with generous and knowledgable hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I booked two rooms as I was traveling with my brother and his family. My 5 year old and I was given a room downstairs but it was too dark and dingy for my liking. Sisik's older brother (I'm afraid I'd forgotten his name) who couldn't be kinder or more gracious promptly reorganized and gave me a room upstairs with an incredible view.

We stayed 3 nights. Mehmet, Sisik's brother in law is a sweetheart and gave us a lot of tips on where we can go with our little ones. They really bent over backwards to make our trip enjoyable. Their dinner which cost 16 TRY (£7) for 3-4 courses is value for money. The family are wonderful hosts and really cared that our needs are met when we stayed at the guesthouse. I must say, this was the highlight of my trip in Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We travelled to Turkey with the previous reviewer who had to have a root canal done. Vardhi went out of his way to drive our friend to Nevsehir, which is 30 minutes away, over two days to visit his family dentist. He refused to take gas money (which is quite expensive in Turkey) and insisted that he is treating us as befitting for guests at Kilim Pension. Besides Vardhi's overwhelming generosity, we really enjoyed our stay at Kilim. The pension is very charming and our stone room is spacious and comfortable. All our requests were fulfilled to our greatest satisfaction, whether it was currency exchange, airport transfers or an organized day trip. Everything was reasonably price, including the dinners. The two terraces offer amazing views and the pension staff were great. Although we never met Sisik, who runs the pension, his family took really good care of us and we couldn't ask for more. Another note for those who are debating to stay in Uchisar or Goreme, stay in Uchisar, we thought it was more charming than Goreme and the views that Uchisar offer is absolutely worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I honestly can't say enough good things about Kilim. The service started at Keysari airport, where we were picked up by shuttle at 1am, and driven 80km to the pension. Obviously not a free service, but still a very good start. I had been suffering tooth pain for a few days, but had been unable to address it until arriving in Cappadocia. The next morning I was shuttled into town by Sisik's brother-in-law, Vardhi, to see the dentist & had the first part of a root canal. I needed to repeat the trip the next day for part two. Both times Vardhi was very pleased to help me out & could not be convinced to accept any kind of compensation. Staying at Kilim feels like you have dropped in to stay with welcoming relatives, and we instantly felt at home here.
It is the only time I have stayed in a cave hotel, and was quite the enjoyable experience! The room was very clean, linen and towels were wonderful and the bed very comfortable.
Don't expect the room to be serviced everyday, this is a pension.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Kilim Pension is at the top of Uchisar, which is one of the highest cities in Cappadocia - meaning they have some of the best views EVER. Sisik, the owner, is very welcoming - he even invited us over to his own house that he is renovating to look about and hang out. The food is AMAZING, especially the soup, and all the staff (friends and extended family members) are very laid back and you leave feeling like you've made a half dozen new friends.
There's hot water, warm blankets, cozy rooms and a very cool chill area in the main building, set in traditional style with cushions on the floor that you can lean back and stretch out on while you sip tea, read or do whatever. There is a rooftop terrace that overlooks the valleys and straight to the mountain - phenmomenal. And by the way, the view out our own window is jaw dropping - what you get for the price is just great. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if friendly conversations, good food, awesome day trips (sisik's dad is the man) and a laid back experience in Cappadocia is what you're after.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilim Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilim Pension

Address: Tekelli Mah, Uchisar, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilim Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilim Pension Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilim Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.