We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Museum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Uchisar
new zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peaceful and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

4 couples stayed in the 4 Junior Cave Suites which were well appointed. Each suite is individually furnished with Turkish antiques which provide elegance as well as comfort. The hotel facilities are superb with the most amazing terraces which take in the beautiful Cappadocia Valley views and sunset. The restaurant served traditional fare which was excellent. The breakfast range was very good - especially the made to order omelettes. The only draw back was that each of the rooms are carved out of sandstone which can leave a fine layer of dust on everything if there is a cave room located above yours which is occuppied as the vibration of their movements can cause the sand to fall. However this is only a minor drawback given the ambience of the whole hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    60
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
177
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at The Museum Hotel in June to celebrate my 50th birthday. What a magical place it is. As it was a special occasion we booked the Catalkaya Cave Suite and were not disappointed. The cave aspect and history of this hotel are what makes it so special. Our room was fantastic with the bathroom being outstanding. The Jacuzzi tub had a window that looked out over the valley and the views from the room were spectacular (take a peek out the door at 6:00am and watch the hot air balloons overhead).

Breakfast is served out on the terrace and included both cold and hot food. Not wanting to eat in the restaurant every night we walked up the hill a short way through Uchisar. We found a small and charming pension called Les Terrasse d’Uchisar that was run by a French couple. For £30 we got an excellent three course meal for two with a bottle of wine . The next evening we spent in Goreme (10 minute taxi ride from hotel) where there are plenty of restaurants and bars for a more casual evening. On our last evening we ate in the Lila Restaurant at the hotel. The restaurant is in a beautiful room and there was a large selection on the menu. Obviously the restaurant is much more expensive than the local options but it was a lovely place to celebrate my birthday. We had a lovely meal and the chef prepared a wonderful cake for my birthday.

We booked both our Cappadocia tour and the balloon ride through the hotel. I highly recommend Royal Balloons. You are picked up at 4:30am and taken to their head offices where you are served a nice breakfast in their cafe. You are then taken to the spot where the balloon is waiting to be inflated and then taken up into the sky for a ride of your life. We were in a group basket (up to 20 people) and had more than enough room as you are put into small pods of 4 or 5. The pilot was excellent and once landed we had a glass of champagne and a cake. You then are taken back to the hotel in time for another breakfast. After breakfast we embarked on a full day exploration of the area which included the underground city, Goreme Open Air Museum, Pigeon Valley, Urgroup Fairychimneys plus more. Our guide was excellent.

This hotel is wonderful and is part of one of the most spectacular places in Turkey. Most people do not even know about Cappadoccia which in my opinion is what makes it even more spectacular when you are there. You leave knowing that you have experienced something truly special.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in June 2010 with my two 8 year old children and my mother. This hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever visited. We had two of the rooms that were not in the cave part but they were still fun and I could look out the window and watch my children play with the turtles and the rabbit in the garden near the pool. I looked in a few of the cave rooms and they seemed extemely nice and looked like they would be fun to stay in. The hotel grounds are immaculate and I spent a lot of time relaxing in the loungers above the pool. The staff is attentive and super friendly. I had an amazing outdoor massage with olive oil. Food in the restaurant was wonderful. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It was such a special experience. I hope we get back to the Museum Hotel one day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Very different accomodation. Great for one time experience. Quite expensive as all the other cave hotels in cappadocia. Stay here atleast once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

As the hotel name indicates, staying at this hotel is like staying in a museum -- or at the very least an antique shop. Two of the highlights of our three-week trip to Turkey was the hotel cooking class (we were ushered into the hotel dining room and with the staff chose four menu items to cook) and an early morning walk with the owner, Omar, who is an exceptional entrepreneur and philanthropist. He supports the local culture and community, for example by bringing local delicacies into the hotel restaurant. The restaurant presents a great variety of food on the breakfast buffet including a diversity of Turkish cheeses which, in contrast to many other situations, are well labelled. Another highlight was halavah on the buffet (my wife wasn't impressed...).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, Az
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Arriving at the Museum Hotel was like arriving at a magical and spiritual place. This hotel sits on a hill so the views from this place are as far as your eye can see! The experience of living for a few days among history where every turn you take there is yet another piece of art and antiques make it almost unreal.
Our room, the Beyzade Suite was beautifully decorated and was very large with plenty of space to sit and enjoy the views out the windows. The bathroom was also large and very clean and it too had beautiful views of the valley.
The hotel staff were very helpful and you could see they took great pride in their work and making sure that all was in order for you.
Dinner at Lila's restaurant was wonderful. Both food and wine were delicious!! The setting very romantic - both during the day when you could have breakfast outside and see the balloons overhead or at night when you could sit and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
We also did the balloon excursions which we very much enjoyed. Our Pilot Nuri from Urgup Balloons was very professional and helpful in directing you every step of the way.
The days we spent here were so wonderful that I would love to come back and bring family and friends to come experience something that is so unique you leave with a feeling of was it real?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

On a recent trip to Turkey, my wife and freinds of ours had the pleasure of staying at the Museum Hotel in Cappadocia. This may be one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at - in our lives. To begin with, the location is at the top of a hill and overlooks a huge valley. The vistas continue all the way to Mount Aegis - 80 km away. As for the hotel itself, the service was impecible, the rooms were carved out of caves - and yet tehy were very luxurious. Thread counts on the beds had to be 1000 or better. The only drawback might be that it is fairly isolated from other ammenities so it would be hard to go elsewhere for meals. If that sounds like a problem, let me assure you that the food at the hotel is exquisite and, because breakfast is included in the cost of the room, there is no need to really go anywhere else. It is upscale, but worth every Turkish Lira. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It was the perfect topper for a fabulous adventure in the middle of Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Business Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.